We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Hilton's go I was disappointed with this one” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel to your Saves list
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #68 of 136 Hotels in Birmingham
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“As Hilton's go I was disappointed with this one”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

For the price I don't rate this as good value. The parking is a nightmare the rooms though decent size were not well maintained servicvre varied between different parts of hotel. Great location for NEC but then there's a premier inn and crown plaza to choose from not sure this would be my first choice when staying here again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear BMW Roadster

Thanks you for your review.

I am sorry you experienced difficulty parking your vehicle. As I'm sure you will appreciate when the hotel is busy the car park does fill rather quickly, despite us having 700+ spaces.

I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Drector of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    779
    886
    681
    373
    297
See reviews for
275
640
219
1,395
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

A queen suite was booked and on arrival I was allocated a single room, when enquiring about the queen suite, I was told that the hotel was full however no refund was made. The room was very cramped with a standard single bed in it. There was a unit outside the back feeding the air conditioning which made noise all night long. The room I was in did not have any airconditioning and it was very muggy however my collegue's room did have airconditioning. The next morning on going to breakfast, there was a queue with about a 10 minute wait to be seated.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thanks for your review, following your recent visit.

I was surprised to learn that you received no refund had been offered as your preferred room type was not available. If you contact me personally on 0121 780 6300, i will investigate this matter and arrange for a refund to be made to you.

I do hope that despite any disappointment experienced on this occasion, we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

very friendly and polite staff.The beds were very comfortable.the meal and drink prices are quite high but nothing more than you would expect from a 4 star hotel.the parking over night is actually lower than the Travelodge near by at the airport.would definately stay here again if I got a good rate ,try lastminute or laterooms for the best rates.!!!

Room Tip: try to get a room facing the front of the hotel .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Olly

I am delighted that you found your visit to the hotel a great value for money deal and i am sure we will be seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Hilton HHonors Diamond given a single room off lobby B. Tiny with very minimal appointments in the room.

Great function centric hotel with friendly staff, but I really didn't appreciate the shoebox single.

Room Tip: If you are directed to Lobby B, ask for another room, or cancel your reservation and go and stay at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for posting your comments.

I am very sorry we were unable to offer you our complimentary upgrade on this occasion due to high occupancy levels. As a Diamond HHonors member you will be aware, that we will always endeavour to upgrade whenever possible and i regret we were unable to do so on this occasion.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I stopped off here while driving up to see some family. The reception staff were really helpful when I checked in as I have mobility problems, so they changed my room so that it was closer to the lifts etc. It was a very convention-y hotel with a lot of groups of people around, but there were equal amounts of staff to cater for the groups. Breakfast was lovely, and the staff there also sat me as close to the buffet as possible so I didn't have to struggle with my walking stick. The only difficulty I had was with the disabled parking which was behind a barrier and hidden behind some bushes with all the valet parking. It also wasn't signposted, so I ended up parking miles away and then having to ask the concierge about it, if they could just signpost it it would save people a lot of fuss/pain! My room was also over the bar area so I had a bit of noise from that and a person yelling on the phone for an hour in the room next to me! On the last day there was terrible amounts of rain and reception seemed to flood, but overall it was another great hilton stay!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better balconies I think, mine was on floor 1 and opened onto a mossy roof!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Elle

Thank you so much for your positive review.

We always endeavour to ensure every guest is made to feel welcome and every effort is made to ensure assistance is given where required.

Your comments regarding the disabled parking facility have been noted and we will ensure that the signposting is made clearer.

I'm very pleased you had a great stay and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Headcorn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed here a few times now over the all with work and the all looks OK as you arrive but i find the rooms not very quiet (lots of background noise and noise from the corridors)The bar is quite expensive but a nice choice of beers.Bar snacks are OK but is a bit fast food.The staff are allways polite and friendly. Would i stay with the wife fora weekend break? No if was my money i think you can get better value elsewhere

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Kentishman

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I was sorry to learn that you had experienced noise disturbance and would add that our Security team would always respond to any report of noise disturbance but regret any disappointment caused.

I do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I have used this hotel as a weekend getaway for 4 years and can never fault them in comfort and welcome. I always end up in an executive twin room to share with my friends and they are spotless. Housekeeping and very keen to get in to do their job as well!
If however you are going in the standard rooms, they can sometimes feel a little dated compared to the other, more expensive rooms, but the quality of sleep and cleanliness makes up for a little patterned wallpaper!
Breakfast is heaven. Anything you can ever ask for - however if you are with a convention group they tend to like to separate you from the other hotel guests due to numbers, but do not always offer the same quality of breakfast.
I have become a Hilton Honors because of their welcoming check in and the amount of times I stayed here and will always look forward to staying here. I even treated myself to a massage this time around and it was worth every single penny!
All in all - if visiting the LG arena, or waiting for an airplane I recommend staying here time and time again =)

Room Tip: If you can afford it - go executive =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Josie

Thank you for your review and your recommendation.

I am delighted that you enjoy your visits to the hotel so much, it's always pleasing to welcome back regular guests.

We do indeed use other breakfast rooms when the hotel is particulary busy and a full breakfast offering can be obtained from these rooms as well as the restaurant.

Glad to see you enjoyed your visit to our Leisure Club.

We look forwward to welcoming you back for your next visit very soon.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#21 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.