We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hassle free booking and good room service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Gables Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Birmingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gables Hotel
Save
You added The Gables Hotel to your Saves list
43 Oxford Road, Moseley, Birmingham B13 9ER, England (Moseley and Kings Heath)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 136 Hotels in Birmingham
Chennai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hassle free booking and good room service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

We satayed at nandhini just for a night, I felt like they(hotel mgmt) have seperate rooms for those who book online through some agency. Room was clean and well maintained, for the amount I paid it was a good deal. Attached restuarant provides good food.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    3
    6
    13
See reviews for
2
9
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Mids
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights during Moseley Folk Festival and the location was excellent. The hotel itself though is very tired and shabby. I cannot fault the staff or service, everyone was very pleasant and the full English breakfasts were cooked to order. The bedroom was small amd the decor very dated, but the bedding was clean and fresh as were the towels, although the ensuite shower room was very small and needed more than a bit of TLC

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

I stayed on 30th July for one night. Dinghy, small room, poorly furnished, cost £44. Staff O K, breakfast good, got home to Cardiff to discover I had 21 bed bug bites on my back. No response from the manager regarding my letter of complaint.
Would not recommend under any circumstances, EVER.

Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

This has got to be the GROTTIEST, DOWNMARKET DUMP I have ever entered in my life!!! The rooms are dingy, smelly, old & the bedding had holes in!! We showed "The Manager", who did give us one room free out of the three, mainly because we told him we wouldnt be having breakfast, because we just couldnt bring ourselves to eat there. Its a Horrible place that should be £5.00 per night, rather than the extortionate £58 they have the cheeck to ask for before you have even got up the stairs to see the disgusting bedrooms.
MY ADVICE IS STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOVEL

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

When you first walk in you do notice the smell of stale fags (like one of the reviews has stated) and the old brown carpets.

The manager was a grumpy bugger! Never smiled or greated us, just grunted.

The other staff we talked to were very helpful and friendly though, very nice people other than the manager!

Our room was horribly stuffy and constantly warm despite opening the windows and having no heating on! The shower was weak and tiny in a ugly greenish colour. We spent as little time as we could in the room because of the heat. Breakfast was free but cheap and the milk was off, the decorations in the dining room consisted of skulls and horror models.

Moseley is such a lovely little place with such friendly people and good resteraunts, its just a shame there isnt a decent hotel or bnb within a walk!

The Gables definately needs a good re decoration! And a new manager!

I wouldnt recommend unless you really really really need to stay in Moseley!

  • Liked — Nothing, just the location not the hotel
  • Disliked — The constant heat of the room and the discuting decoration
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

A group of us spent one night at the Gables and I can safely say that none of us will be returning. One couple had to have their room changed because it had not been cleaned and was disgustingly dirty. The rest of the hotel smells of stale cigarette smoke. Nice. One member of our party has even returned with bed bug bites all over his body.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

We spent one night at the Gables. The room was very tatty and not particularly clean - this hotel definitely needs a makeover! However, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfast was reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gables Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Hotel

Address: 43 Oxford Road, Moseley, Birmingham B13 9ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Moseley and Kings Heath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 136 Hotels in Birmingham
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Gables Hotel Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gables Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.