We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45 to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1270 Coventry Road, Birmingham B25 8BS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #17 of 136 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were situated on the 4th floor on the side of a very busy road But I would have to be honest and admit that we never noticed the traffic at all! The staff were very helpful and friendly. Rooms clean and tidy, no less than I would expect. The car parking was only £3 for the visit.
The compimentary breakfast was enjoyable, basic but enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Y, Reception Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're glad to hear that the busy A45 wasn't a disturbance to you during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    113
    28
    6
    3
See reviews for
61
65
10
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

upon arrival staff very friendly, and the hotel very clean which was great as we took our two children. one down side was three rooms booked we ended up on three seperate floors floor 2,4 and 7. Breakfast was lovely on both mornings we stayed and found plenty of choice. The staff never stopped filling up the breakfast area and all of them were for very helpful. We would stay again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Y, Reception Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear that the staff at breakfast were able to keep everything topped up duringg what can sometimes be a very busy breakfast service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

The winning attributes for this hotel are the staff who all have customer service as their number one priority. They were thoughtful and showed respect. The hotel is also very clean with gleaming showers and bathrooms. There is a decent size flat screen tv in every room.
For us the location was great but not somewhere you could take a casual walk in the evening. There is the constant noise noise of the A45 but the windows keep most back. The road does provide great access to the hospital and NEC. The buses are also frequent.
Parking is secure and plentiful. Neither the upper or lower car park are any great walk.
The food in the hotel s a little mixed. We found breakfast to be excellent and plentiful. Fruit, cereals, toast, cheese and a hot selection provide a good start to the day. The evening meals are limited and okay.
The rooms are not huge but adequate. The beds are just double size and not king size. They are also not that comfortable, the mattresses being a little thin. This really is my only other complaint about this hotel except that the room doors bang very loudly, making the whole hotel shake!
Some regular residents, who do not have disabled passes, do park in the disabled bays. If you are disabled the hotel reception will ensure that they are moved.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Y, Reception Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us such a positive and informative review. This helps other potential guests make their decisions on where to stay, so it's nice to see positive things being said about us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here to avoid the traffic problems in central Birmingham. Easy to find and much closer to the centre than expected. Bedroom was very clean and light with plenty of space. Double bed was rather uncomfortable more like a sofa bed with a thin mattress.Some initial confusion over our booking but it was soon sorted by the staff on duty.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear LiniLondon,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay! Please accept our apologies if the comfort of your stay was interrupted due to an uncomfortable bed. We will follow up with the executive housekeeper to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to serve you in the future.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad, Pakistan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Holiday Inn Express is perfect place to stay at Birmingham. Nice small hotel with all facilities. Breakfast quality is good. Easy to access from motorway. Rooms are clean. Fast internet. Secure Car Park

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Y, Reception Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for leaving such a positive review of your stay. It's always nice when a Senior Reviewer take the time to do this. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We've used this hotel regularly for business, for both the meeting room and overnight stays. The hotel is easily accessible on a main road, with plenty of parking. It's clean, modern and great value. Staff are lovely. Meeting room is a good size and well equipped. Rooms are clean and well maintained. Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Y, Reception Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for your review and we're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. This is the first time our meeting room has been mentioned in a review and I will pass your positive comments onto the team. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45

Address: 1270 Coventry Road, Birmingham B25 8BS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#11 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham-South a45 Hotel Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.