We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious Cabin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bloc Hotel Birmingham to your Saves list
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Caroline Street, Birmingham B3 1UG, England (Ladywood)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 136 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Luxurious Cabin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The second time we've stayed in recent months. Location is great, nice and quiet in the Jewellery Quarter but there are still restaurants and bars nearby. Park at the nearby NCP carpark and you get a discount from the hotel.
Rooms are more like a cabin in a yacht and fairly small but the layout is well thoughout. Plump for a room with a window for a few quid more.
Finish of the rooms is very nice ultra modern with a tv imbedded in the foot end of the bed/wall, aircon is handy as the windows don't open but keeps things nice and cool. The bathroom is a wet room all in one type of affair with rain shower head and standard removable shower head. the bed is comfortable and large and overall it's a great hotel for a couple of nights.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Brilliant review, thank you. Hopefully you will be back to visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    194
    61
    21
    14
See reviews for
11
234
61
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Although the room is clean and has everything you need except for the fact that it has no window, no kettle, no desk, I will not recommend anyone to go considering the price, 60 pounds per night. By the way, location is not great either. You need to walk pass a footbridge to cross the motor way, and then a garden to get there. Definitely don't feel safe at night for girls.

Room Tip: Pay more and you can probably get better facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you would not be returning back to the hotel mainly basing your decision on price and location. The room you chose when staying at BLOC was a room without a window. We also have rooms with windows. You are correct in saying there is no kettle in the room however tea and coffee can be bought from reception if needed. No desk? All of our rooms have a small work desk located at the side of the bed with a BLOC seat that can be used to sit on. It was mentioned that you didn't feel safe at night being a single female traveller. I can honestly say with myself being from Birmingham there are times that I would walk to and from destinations and other times mainly being at night i would choose to take a taxi. If I stayed in unfamiliar surroundings I would chose to travel by taxi at night especially travelling on my own.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

There is no doubt that the Bloc Hotel is good value. It is clean and the bed comfy. The room is small but we knew that - as is the bathroom. The location is great - we ate at a good local Chinese and an Indian and had one evening at the fun Jam House. It is close enough to the centre to walk. The receptionist was welcoming and helpful.
A couple of slight moans - toilet paper is cheap, there was only one shower gel for 2 people and a puddle persisted in the bathroom over night.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Glad you liked the hotel overall and enjoyed your stay. Apologies for there not being enough shower gel in the room. Reception would have kindly given some more on request. If you had a puddle appear in the bathroom overnight this may have been from the monsoon rain shower after it had been used. Water may have collected in the rubber water outlets thus resulting in it dripping onto the floor creating a puddle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The room is compact and comfortable, bed is comfy and the tv is really cool. The whole place is exceptionally clean!

The shower is really nice, but it does make the whole shower room toilet combo very wet, the walls of the bathroom are entirely see through so you don't get much privacy when going to the toilet etc.

The downside of this hotel is the rooms are so noisy, you can hear everyone around you! Doors banging, people up and down the corridors, and even the people above you and to the side of you... I'm a very light sleeper and after being woken up several times I am unable to get back to sleep, hence writing this review at 3.45 in the morning!

The only other negative is that the vending machines are rather overpriced... Everything in there is £1, and the tea tastes awful, the machine only gave half a cup instead of a whole one, after reporting to staff no refund was offered just said they would look into it!

All in all I would only stay here is your a very heavy sleeper, which is a real shame because the rooms are quite nice!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. I take observations good or bad, seriously relating to BLOC Hotel and wish to thank you for your comments and taking the time to write your review. I would like to know which room you stayed in as all of the wet rooms have etched glass so if you were to look, you can only see either the head or the feet of the person using the wet room.
During the evening the night team carry out walk rounds of the hotel and monitor the CCTV to try and eliminate any guests who may create any noise whilst walking to their rooms. I apologise for the disturbance you encountered during your stay. You mention that you are a light sleeper, if we were aware we could have allocated you a room at the end of the corridor.
I would also like to know the date of your stay so we can identify the member of staff you spoke to as normally we receive quite good comments about our employees. There are two reasons you may have received half a cup of tea. The first is the water button may have needed to be pressed twice and the second is the machine may have needed to be refilled. Once again, I would like to thank you for your review and constructive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Friends of many years, we met as a group for a couple of nights in Birmingham. The Bloc provided us with comfortable beds and everything needed for a stop over, other than breakfast in the hotel Not a problem as there was a convenient cafe serving a range of breakfast menus just round the corner. The hotel features the latest in design and the wet room proved an interesting experience. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and luxurious towels gave a suitably 'pampered' feeling. Very good value. Thanks to helpful staff who even took a group photo for us before we left.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We hope you had an enjoyable time catching up with your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed at Bloc for one night when I was doing the Birmingham half marathon and it was exactly what I wanted. Comfortable bed, clean tidy room, plenty of towels, a tv, free wifi and and a nice powerful shower. The room is small but the space is used very well. As long as you don't have much luggage, space isn't and issue. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone staying alone in Birmingham for one or two nights.

Room Tip: Check if your room has a window when booking - some don't. Mine didn't and I thought it woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. That's what we are here for to provide a comfy nights sleep, great sleep and a good strong coffee in the morning. We had quite a few people stay with us the night before the Half Marathon. Well Done for taking part, it's such a fantastic event!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purley
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here for one night (Sunday) as it was such good value and was really surprised at the quality for the price. Really modern inside from the reception area to the halls and the rooms. Tiny rooms compared to travel lodge etc etc but has all u need ie a bed and bathroom, nothing else though and i mean nothing ... no wardrobe or space to put suitcases, so ok for one or two nights but you would not want to stay here for much more than that. It was all very clean and everything worked. Bathroom is a wet room and due to the size i mean a wet room as everything gets wet ... toilet, basin etc etc and obviously the floor, so when your partner walks in to have a wash the whole bathroom is very wet, making using the loo after a shower a careful operation !! Location is excellent as a walk into town is 10 mins or a cab to town/mailbox area is £5.00. Would def stay again. They also have a deal with the ncp carpark around the corner so for the stay it cost £5.50 as apposed to £22.50 so well worth leaving your car in here for the stay, it 2 minute walk to the hotel from the car park.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Hopefully you'll be back to stay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bloc Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Address: Caroline Street, Birmingham B3 1UG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 136 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bloc Hotel Birmingham 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloc hotel is located in Birminghams Jewellery Quarter. The village atmosphere created by its cafes-bars and restaurants is complemented by the business-shopping-arts and sports facilities that are also on its doorstep. We have taken loose inspiration from Japanese pod style hotels which means much larger rooms more akin to a cabin on a luxury yacht with finishes and fittings to match. The rooms are equipped with a King Size Double Bed-luxurious linen-climate control-wet room with monsoon drench shower-Samsung 32inch led flat screen TV and high speed WIFI. Birmingham is of course a centrally located travel hub and for many of our visitors that will be the most important factor in just how quickly and conveniently they can access the motorway network-national rail and international flights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bloc Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bloc Hotel Birmingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.