We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city centre stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bloc Hotel Birmingham to your Saves list
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Caroline Street, Birmingham B3 1UG, England (Ladywood)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great city centre stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a great city centre location and is perfect for a one or two night stay. The concept of the hotel is great! It's ideal for a short city centre break, it's modern and spotlessly clean and only a short walk to the centre and the station! Would definitely recommend a luxury room with a window as it could become a little claustrophobic. We thoroughly enjoyed the massive shower and the comfy bed! Would definitely recommend and stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    162
    45
    17
    13
See reviews for
10
196
53
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Bloc hotel located about 20 min walk from city centre... Parking nearby at reduced cost was good. Room was clean and of a good standard... Room didn't really feel small and the bed was comfy. Flat screen tv was nice also. Lighting in the room could be improved and no tea/coffee making in the room. Drinks are available but costs £1.50 a cup! The small wet room was a bit strange and glass design doesn't leave much for privacy :-)

Can't say we found the staff particularly friendly.

Overall clean, comfortable hotel good for a one night stay in Birmingham, :-) not like a normal hotel but still a good value place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. Your comments regarding the tea and coffee making facilities have been taken onboard. In previous reviews the employees have been praised for their friendliness and customer service. I'm sorry to hear that you did not find the staff particularly friendly during your stay, however should you like to let us know when you stayed I can find out who was working and apply some extra training to the team. Once again, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here for one night on business mid week, hotel was quiet, although could here the person next to me flushing toilet and plugging stuff in etc.. Only slightly more than a normal hotel. Was disappointed there was no tea or coffee facilities in the room but only downside really! Bed was massive and comfy and the linen and towels were all of a high standard. Would go back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thanks for your review and comments. Your comments have been taken onboard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Booked a one night stay at the bloc hotel to visit friends. I had read previous reviews and was unsure what I would find when I got there. To my delight I found a comfortable, clean, well run, good value hotel with a quality feel. The rooms are small but perfectly formed with a clever use of space. It had all the space me and my girlfriend needed. The shower was a delight, and probably the best hotel shower I have experienced in a long time. The bed was more comfortable than the one in my own house. I had an excellent nights sleep. I had read some reviews complaining about the size of the rooms. This surprised me because the hotel website clearly explains that the rooms are small. Also there were complaints about the lack of parking this is also not a problem at the hotel has a tie in with the local NCP multi story carpark with a bargain price of £3.50 for 24 hours. That is very cheap compaired to other hotels in the city. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting Birmingham, and I am looking forward to my next visit. I only wish there was more bloc hotels around the country.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
What a fantastic review, thank you! You can be sure to start seeing other bloc hotels opening up shortly with the second hotel, bloc Gatwick opening in Summer 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was an absolute steal. Great location, very small but very comfortable rooms with a real luxury feel. The very quiet air con make for a fantastic sleep in the huge bed. The location made for an easy stroll back from the bars around St. Paul's. I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your review. By the sounds of it you'll be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed for a week on business and found it perfect. Room is very comfortable, clean and stylish. Really nice bed with built in widescreen sky tv at the end was great. Wifi was quick and reliable. Shower had very good pressure and temperature.
Rooms are compact as advertised, but this is not a bad thing as the space is used very well.
Staff were really helpful and had special maps for everyone going to the conference we were attending. Also never waited for more than 2 minutes for a taxi - just asked the receptionist and they got one straight away.
Location was decent for the ICC and station.
Price was good.
Only tip I would say is bring a few hangers as there is only one in then room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Great review, thank you! When we know we are expecting a lot of guests due to a conference being held in the City we try our hardest to plan ahead and hopefully foresee what people will need to help make sure their stay is as pleasant as possible, hence the maps with walking directions to the ICC. You mentioned you needed more hangers in the room. We put one in the room as standard however reception will be only too happy to provide more should they be requested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed here for one night on business attending BPM at the NEC. Smooth check in and found the room easy enough.

If you haven't read up on the hotel before you go you will be in for a shock but in all the websites etc they make no bones about it being a concept hotel with bed & shower in a funky cruise ship styley . I went for a room with a window which I got but I couldn't work out if people could see in or not!

The room was big enough to get in do what you need and go out again.

Great nights sleep on a really comfy bed with proper sheets and super soft towels that actually did their job unlike some hotels where they barely go around you.

Wet room is spot on if a little compact but the shower was a top way to wake up in the morning.

The only slight criticism is the vending machine. If you like Crisps & Chocolate you're onto a winner. Whilst I understand the restrictions of "use by" dates etc but possibly some sandwiches or similar could be put in there aswell?

As I do like to get breakfast in the morning I knew I wouldn't get one here so maybe there's room for improvement with perhaps "Breakfast in a bag" or similar?

All in all though a good stay in a quirky hotel.

Would I stay again? Probably not but only due to there being no bar or restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Glad to hear the hotel does what it says on the tin! I'm sorry you didn't get to hear about our breakfast offering during your stay. We do however offer a 'Breakfast To Go'. This consists of an orange juice, croissant with jam and butter and a fresh fruit salad and costs £5.50 per person. This is available to prebook at the time of booking on the Bloc Hotels website or ordering with reception on check-in before 9pm. Available weekdays only.
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bloc Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Address: Caroline Street, Birmingham B3 1UG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bloc Hotel Birmingham 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloc hotel is located in Birminghams Jewellery Quarter. The village atmosphere created by its cafes-bars and restaurants is complemented by the business-shopping-arts and sports facilities that are also on its doorstep. We have taken loose inspiration from Japanese pod style hotels which means much larger rooms more akin to a cabin on a luxury yacht with finishes and fittings to match. The rooms are equipped with a King Size Double Bed-luxurious linen-climate control-wet room with monsoon drench shower-Samsung 32inch led flat screen TV and high speed WIFI. Birmingham is of course a centrally located travel hub and for many of our visitors that will be the most important factor in just how quickly and conveniently they can access the motorway network-national rail and international flights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bloc Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bloc Hotel Birmingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.