We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great will visit again soon!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cucina Rustica

Cucina Rustica
24 Ludgate Hill, Birmingham B3 3DX, England
0121 233 2277
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 1,443 restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $41 - $57
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great will visit again soon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Visited this restaurant by chance in October. We did not know the area and came upon this restaurant by accident! My partner is not that keen on Italian as where I really love this type of food. Ambience was lovely. Food was delicious. Service was attentive but not overbearing. We will be coming back. Thankyou for a lovely evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    233
    111
    37
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Went to this restaurant with my partner during a weekend away in birmingham. Can comfirm it lives up to trip advisor reviews. The restaurant itself is beautifully decorated, and extremely clean. The staff were all very welcoming.

The food tasted amazing and was very well presented. I recommend the calamari to start and the lamb shank for main! Unfortunately we were both too full for desert, however we will definitely be returning on our next visit to birmingham and will make sure we have room then!

I highly recommend a visit if you get the chance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This was our third visit to Cucina. We have always enjoyed our visits here and this was no exception. Great service, excellent food and great value for money.

My Wife had the beef carpaccio special to start which was very nice and well presented, I had the chicken livers with pancetta in red wine jus. The livers were rich and delicious and the pancetta crisp, the sauce was a great accompaniment.

For our mains, my Wife opted for the Chestnut Tagliatelle with Duck, sun-blushed tomatoes mushroom and truffle oil. This was a lovely dish and very well made. I went with the lamb neck fillet with herb crust special (cooked pink) which was wonderfully moist and melted in the mouth the vegetables that accompanied the dish were excellent.

There was just room for the one dessert and we opted for the Cheesecake with forest fruit compote. The cheesecake was light and very refreshing and the compote was fruity and the dish was an excellent finish to our dinner.

The waiting staff were attentive, friendly and unobtrusive and the bill came to £75 (including a £23 bottle of Valpolicella which was lovely) which I think represents very good value for money for food of this quality.

Can't wait for our next visit!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Anniversary treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Had an excellent meal with 2 of our friends to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. Brilliant service from our Russian born waitress.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Italian perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Having used this restaurant on several occasions it was an easy decision to hook for my partners birthday in November. The food is exquisitely prepared by chefs who know how to cook, there is a wide variety of dishes but many have similarities in ingredient list (making it uncomplicated to deliver, contrary to the above comments) the atmosphere is warm and friendly and the service is always fantastic. As a professional in the premium dining sector I have high expectations that are rarely met, this place exceeds every time. Great work, we will be back time and time and time again! Look forward to seeing you before Christmas. Mr. D. Barker-Rogers, Birmingham

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cucina Rustica also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Cucina Rustica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cucina Rustica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.