We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carters of Moseley

Carters of Moseley
2C St Mary's Row, Wake Green Road, Moseley, Birmingham B13 9EZ, England
0121 449 8885
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 1,595 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $29 - $131
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Independently owned and managed, Carters of Moseley in Birmingham, is the epitome of a modern British restaurant and a celebration of the amazing produce that’s available from around our country.Our focus is on classic creations with a modern twist. Great Britain offers some of finest ingredients to be found anywhere – from Scottish beef to Cornish fish. We source all our vegetables as locally as possible and our fruit from the counties around us.As soon as you walk through the door and see our wall of fine wines and our kitchen open to view, you will feel the ambiance.We have created visual theatre throughout the restaurant which combined with our modern, British, seasonal and local menus offers something to please even the most jaded of palates.At Carters we’re proud to be British. We’re also passionate about food, and with every service proprietor managed, our aim is to please you – and then welcome you back time and time again.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

First visit to Carters but many friends had previously enjoyed visiting so we had pretty high expectations and we weren't disappointed.

We visited on Sunday evening and so had their Sunday tasting menu - five courses for £30 plus £18 for the flight of wines. Fantastic value.

Relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff led by Holly - very helpful but not pretentious or in your way.

With a tasting menu I think you always end up trying things that you wouldnt normally go for and that was the case here but we loved every course.

We are already thinking of when to visit again.

Thank you

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    53
    18
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
WINDSOR,UK
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“SUPERB DINNER AND EXCEPTIONAL SERVICE !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My partner and I had the pleasure of discovering this gem of a restaurant last night on our visit to Birmingham.

We called for a table at 21.00 on a very business Saturday evening, and although they were full ,the manageress Holly, ensured that she made arrangements to accommodate us and to personally provide us with exceptional service from the moment we arrived.

The restaurant has been tastefully decorated and offers comfortable seating and very good and personalised and friendly service from every single member of the team. No issue accommodating off the menu items for a vegetarian and absolutely exceptional food worthy of at least 3 rosettes when the AA finally inspect them.

We will definitely be back and our thanks to the lovely Holly for taking such good care of us, We wish this team all the best in their new venture and thoroughly recommend Carters of Moseley to all looking for a fabulous meal and excellent friendly service

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A really lovely lunchtime treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

1st review on here from me but this was my 3rd trip to this restaurant and thought I should share my consistently good experience of it. Went at short notice yesterday for lunch with a girl friend, both needing a bit of a 'lift', and it was perfect. Had to twist their arm to fit us in as had forgotten it was Valentine's Day and they were v busy, and could only do it if we went early. So we did and this worked in our favour as we had longer to enjoy the ambiance and the delicious lunchtime food. We chose 3 courses from the set menu, it was priced at £20 for 3 courses and afterwards we both agreed that for food and service of such high quality that was a great price. All our choices were delicious but special mention goes to the goat's milk rice pudding plus accompaniments - it was the ultimate comfort food dessert and we both sat there grinning! Will be back soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“This one is right up there with the best in Brum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Our first time at Carters was an extremely pleasant experience. Greeted by friendly staff in a very non pretentious atmosphere we were made to feel very welcome from the outset. Interestingly two of the 'pre' options were better than the course that followed, the home made quale scotch eggs were very nice indeed for example. We had the Venison and Sirloin main courses and although they probably could have done with a small amount of extra vegatables, if only to add some extra colour, both were cooked to perfection.

All the plates were beautifully presented and the cheese board was the best I have ever encountered with the waiting staff offering a full description of each of the cheeses.

Its not quite a Purnells yet but given time this has every chance of being up there with them. Under a £100 for two including drinks. If you like food as it should be then it is well worth a visit. Worth booking in advance as they were fully booked on a Wednesday evening!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent night out fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had a fabulous night at Carters when on a visit to Birmingham. We went on a Sunday evening and had their taster menu. On arrival we were greeted by very friendly staff, who took our coats and got us drinks in a very relaxed and efficient manner. Likewise our meal was served without any fuss and presented in a wonderful way and the waiter informing us on all our meal entailed and it was delicious. We enjoyed a flight of wines and again were delighted with the choice and information provided on each glass.We will definitely return when next in Birmingham. You gave us a wonderful food experience and the surroundings and lighting are perfect, I loved it. Thanks

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carters of Moseley also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Carters of Moseley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carters of Moseley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.