We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food & service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chilli and Spice

Chilli and Spice
1214 Stratford Road, Birmingham B28 9BH, England
0121 777 2340
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #443 of 1,688 Restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Hall Green���s unusual Chilli and Spice brings together two very diverse worlds ��� the Indian restaurant and the British public house. The combination, of course, works well with the large Horseshoe pub giving over a section of its rather glamorously modern interior to the flavours of Asia. Stunningly appointed, Chilli and Spice feels like an elegant, sophisticated restaurant and appropriate for romantic dining as much as for a quick curry with friends. With a pedigree straight from five star hotels of India and Dubai, the Chilli and Spice kitchen knows its way around a spice rack, offering a wide selection of excellent Indian dishes freshly prepared using extremely good ingredients.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We visited this restaurant using a Groupon voucher. The food was excellent quality and the service was attentive but not overpowering. Will definitely recommend it to friends and family.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    0
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A truely superior Indian restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The welcome received, and the waitress service were, as usual, exemplary.
The starters selected were paneer tikka and fish mahi machli, both were superb.
The main courses chosen were saag and keema and peas curries along with tandori roti's. The meals were of a superior quality when compared to most "Indian" restaurants.
The only criticism I could make was that saag curry normally contains pieces of fried or raw paneer, but it's absence did not deter from the quality of the dish.
The portions offered are generous but not excessive.
I have eaten here on several occasions; the meat is always infused with flavours of the spicy sauce i.e. cooked in the traditional way.
As a family we have eaten Chinese, Italian, and other influenced fusion foods at this restaurant; all have been good or better.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We arrived for a late Sunday lunch (2pm) and were rather concerned to find the place almost empty. It soon became apparent that this place is busy from 3pm onwards on a Sunday and our fears were ill founded. The waitress was very polite and attentive but not overbearing.

We went for the Sunday lunch menu, I had 2 courses and my partner had 3 courses. The main course was excellent with lots of tender meat and vegetables. Our only complaints which let it down, were the plates were not warmed and we were not offered sauces until we were half way through the main course.

We will be back for Sunday lunch againand we also plan to try out the Indian menu one evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Brilliant dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Although this restaurnat is a bit expensive you can either dine on the indian or european menu and both are great. Well worth a visit if you need somewhere with a lovely atmosphere and great food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were celebrating a 60th Birthday party in the private function room and the evening was perfect. The service of the staff was very polite, helpful & accommodating to all our needs. The quality of the food was superb. All our specific dietary needs were catered for without any issues.
The price was very reasonable and this is also reflected within the quality of the service and food.
The venue was very warm and comfortable and all the guests were happy with the venue, food & service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chilli and Spice also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Chilli and Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chilli and Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.