We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average service but good food!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Celebrity Indian Restaurant

Celebrity Indian Restaurant
44 Broad Street, Birmingham B1 2HP, England
0121 643 8969
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #126 of 1,591 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $18 - $38
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Average service but good food!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

First impressions of this were not good - staff had very poor phone etiquette and they didnt seem to know what customer service was. Its the same old story, they want your money but do not want to show your politeness! Anyway, rant over....the food...

Well that was surprising - it was delicious, absolutely delicious. We had the samon curry which was nicely spicy and really left us both happy afterwards.

I think these guys need to remember like a lot of places I review, your customers keep your business alive, so look after them from the moment they call, and dont show so much attitude please.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    89
    27
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Great place....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We ate here with some friends before going to see Julian Clary at the Birmingham Alexander Theatre last weekend we were NOT let down!

This is a great place serving excellent food in a cracking location - right in the heart of Birmingham's nightlife on Broad Street.

The staff are lovely, very attentive and are an absolute credit to the restaurant owners. The restaurant decor is very trendy and modern (unlike some Indian restaurants!) and everything is spotlessly clean...
...BUT we didn't see any celebrities! - He he... only kidding! ...The name of this restaurant cracks me up!

Prices are very reasonable for Birmingham City Centre and in addition, we also benefited from a further 25% off by using 'voucher-cloud' discount voucher! Overall - Brilliant!!

I just wish we could have stayed here longer, rather than having to force our food down at a rate of knots in order to get to the theatre on time!!!

Thanks to the other reviewers of this restaurant too as we not only found a great place to eat but they also introduced us to voucher-cloud so we got the additional discount (I think I've been living n a cave for all these years :)

PS - Broad Street on a Saturday night is totally bonkers and a great people watching opportunity, even if it is like watching an episode of "Booze Britain" on the telly!!!

Cheers, Ellie x

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Had a great meal on Weds night. Food was excellent and super value particularly as we got there at 7pm and chose from the happy hour menu which was 12.95 for threee courses. If eating later would probably choose Pushkar over the road. Much better value than Pizza Express were we ate on the Thursday night. Service was always very friendly and relaxed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Glamerous grown up restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Visited here at 19.30 on a friday night and to our relief found there were sufficient other customers to ensure we didn't feel isolated in what is dining early, especially in an Indian restaurant.
Lovely old building, with the restaurant occupying the upper floor. Portions not huge, just right and nicely spiced. Excellent attentive service and a well priced wine list.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“South Indian Garlic Chilli Lamb...yum yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Went there last night. Fantastic food, nice surroundings. Paid exactly what we would have expected to for a Resteraunt of this standard. Would definitely go back. One major complaint, it is 350 miles from my house....ha ha.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Celebrity Indian Restaurant also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Celebrity Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celebrity Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.