We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and lovely staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tin Tin Restaurant

Tin Tin Restaurant
Broad Street | 9F Waters Edge, Brindley Place, Birmingham B1 2HL, England
0121 633 0888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #429 of 1,606 Restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Reading, Berkshire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very good and lovely staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This was lovely, the food is very tasty, well prepared and good. The staff are lovely, they looked after my daughter who was there for her birthday and and we had a very good time. If I go to Birmingham again I will use this restaurant again.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    69
    25
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Welcoming/ would certainly recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great choice of food, great flavours and good sized portions. If we had this close to us, we would be regulars. Unusual setting, and could be a bit faceless were it not for excellent staff and service.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good quality food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

upstairs setting d'état he's you from the full hustle and bustle of the restaurant area. the food is of good quality and a good range. It was quite when I visited. But that was early in the evening. I would think this would be good fora party of people as tables could be arranged to fit most party sizes

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Authentic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Birmingham surprises me with the authenticity of the Chinese food on offer. Clearly the chefs are either natives, or have been handed over the recipes from their immigrant parents.
Tin Tin is nicely located in Brindley Place and we popped in on a whim wondering whether it would match our other Chinese favourite "Red and Hot" near the Arcadian (before you get ideas, Red and Hot specialises in Sichuan and serves the most authentic Hot Fish - fish boiled in oil and chillis).
Wife and I share a Thai Chicken Tom Yum - very flavourful and spicy! She then had prawns cooked "Chongqing" style - read very spicy, but that's what she likes. I had a steamed sea bass in black bean sauce - excellent preparation. Quantity was filling - we shared a bowl of rice and a portion of fried sprouts on the side. Meal for 2 without booze and including tips £41.80

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fast service bland food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Despite the many pictures of celebs who had allegedly dined here, I found the food disappointing and very bland. Also expensive for what you got. Not really at all authentic taste.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tin Tin Restaurant also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Tin Tin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tin Tin Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.