We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good night out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Highlight Birmingham Comedy Club

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Highlight Birmingham Comedy Club
259-262 Broad Street, Birmingham, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #186 of 306 things to do in Birmingham
Attraction details
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Good night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We visited with friends . The venue needed a bit of a revamp and the tables were really close together but that did not stop us having a brilliant night. The drinks were a fair price. We had a choice of being served at our table or we could go to the bar to fetch our drinks. If you chose too, the designated driver could have a free soft drink when you purchased so many alcoholic drinks. There were three comedians on during the night . One of the comedians was ok but the other two were excellent . We did not stop laughing. Afterwards the venue was a nightclub and there was a disco.it seemed suitable for all ages. Unfortunately We were not able to stay very long at the disco.
We came out of the venue with a real good factor.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    14
    10
    6
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I got a deal on Travelzoo for the show which was extremely reasonable. To be honest though, it is still good value for money even without the travelzoo vouchers. I got a little better than half price off which included a meal. Me and my girlfriend shared a surprisingly tasty thai green curry and a grilled chicken salad. The portions were decent sized as well. Discounting the comedy show, the food cost the equivalent of a Weatherspoons but was better quality.
They make most of their money on the drinks but they are still not overly expensive.
The host was very funny and she involved the audience a lot. There was one guy who was side splittingly funny that me and my girlfriend both were cracking up over. There were three other comedian other than this one. Two were funny but the third who did a shorter set (I think he was new to comedy) bombed.
The only downer on the evening was a bottle of wine that we had to ask for twice and came late but other than that decent food, great comedy, and good value.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very fun christmas do.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Me and my work mates went here for our christmas do. We paid for the v.i.p pack.
We have a turkey dinner which was lovelly and so was the cheese cake.

3/4 acts were so funny and I was in tears.
After party was very lively and everyone wa just so happy.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Always a great night out...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We have been to this club a number of times, we have had a number of KGB deals and enjoy a burger and a pint, we add a bucket of chips each which costs an extra £2:50 but my goodness they are a bucket! You get a huge portion of chips that are always hot, fresh and so tasty. As a Vegetarian it is nice to have the option of a Veggie burger and it is always so tasty.
The staff are always kind, attentive and polite and always ready to help THANK YOU... my only grumble is that we have visited and ended up seeing the same comedian who also used the same material that we had heard a few weeks earlier, I thought this was a shame and a little odd as surely a comedian would keep his material fresh??? The other thing to note is that there is an awful amount of swearing which is sadly the norm now, I can cope with swearing, but when it is repetitive it becomes grating and is it just me or is the use of the C*** word taking things a little too far? Maybe it is just me but surely you can make people laugh without the constant use of the F word and the vulgar C*** word endlessly, otherwise a good night out...

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“comedy night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

we managed to get cheap tickets for the Highlight comedy club on Broad Street. The club itself is well laid out if a little crampted. The staff welcome you in and are generally very efficient. We had pre ordered food which was what you would expect in such a club. thought the buckets of chicken drumsticks looked good and the bucket of chips and onion rings were excellent, it was the main meals that were lacking. The place gets very full, lots of hen parties and the music is very loud with screens playing music vidios ( loudly!) There were 3 comedy acts and an MC so from that point of view it was very good value. That night the comedy was of a very good standard and the audience were funny too. To smoke you have to go onto Broad St which is very exciting on a Saturday night and that was a show in its self. While we enjoyed the comedy we found the music inbetween to be too loud but that could be our ages! While the food was plentyful it was not great so next time we would do the bucket food as that looked more attractive. Alcoholic drinks were reasonably priced for a city centre club. Toilets are clean and plentyful for the girls. The screens playing the music vidios then allowed you to see the stage when the acts were on though we had a good view anyway.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highlight Birmingham Comedy Club also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Highlight Birmingham Comedy Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highlight Birmingham Comedy Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.