We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place & Twin Double Buggy Approved!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Sea Life Centre

National Sea Life Centre
The Waters Edge | Brindleyplace, Birmingham B1 2HL, England
+44 871 423 2110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 306 things to do in Birmingham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dive and be wowed by the many strange, beautiful and fascinating creatures of the deep as you journey through the amazing underwater world of The National SEA LIFE Centre Brimingham. Prepare for astonishing close views of everything from humble starfish to tropical sharks. To get any closer you'll have to get wet!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Warwickshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Place & Twin Double Buggy Approved!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We visited today with our 16 month old twin girls. We used tesco vouchers which meant it cost us £8 for all 4 of us, bargain! The girls really enjoyed the place and lots of tanks were at their height, the staff were friendly and the place was clean. Make sure you are there for 10am opening as the queues get long uber quickly. It took us 1 1/2 hours to go round. The first section is a bit of a scrum but then we negoatied the rest fine, even with two on reins and the buggy! The soft play area is great as well. We will be going back when they are perhaps around 3 years old and should get even more out of it. All it needed was somewhere to lock up the buggy.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC_Birmingham, Manager at National Sea Life Centre, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hi lilmunka,

We’re glad you enjoyed your recent visit. We apologise that the centre was busy during your visit, unfortunately during peak holiday times and weekends this is a possibility and so we recommend, as you suggest, arriving for 10am opening or at a later off-peak time of 3pm.

We have a buggy park by the play area opposite the toilets where guests can leave buggies and prams whilst in the attraction which you may find useful on your next visit.

We hope to see you soon for another FIN-tastic time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    407
    276
    103
    57
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tychy, Poland
1 review
“Very nice time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Me and my wife, daughter, brother and his girlfreind we were there yesterday. Was great fun and the daughter was really a lot of fun. It is a pity that the underwater tunnel is so short

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC_Birmingham, Manager at National Sea Life Centre, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hi MooSePL,

Thank you for your review, we’re pleased you enjoyed your visit.

Unfortunately the Ocean Tunnel is of a restricted size due to space and for health and safety restrictions. We do however offer a variety of viewing areas around the tunnel to allow maximum viewer access to the creatures inside the tank.

We hope to see you again soon for another Turtle-y brilliant visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“way too expensive”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

way too expensive for the size of it, its over in no time, most disapointing place i ever been, if your money comes easy then ok, look for a 2 for 1 or internet deal if you going

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Expensive and average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

The que to get in is always long, the centre itself is clean and there are activities to do, the ticket price is very high and not worth the money, the cinema is good, overall would never pay that price, the whole thing only lasts 45 mins

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC_Birmingham, Manager at National Sea Life Centre, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hi sukhandraj,

We apologise that you encountered some queues during your visit. Unfortunately during peak holiday times and weekends the centre can become busy and so we recommend visiting during off-peak times if possible.

We’re sorry that you felt our prices were high; we recommend booking online for the best price guaranteed with tickets starting from just £10.

The recommended duration to go around the whole centre depends on the amount of time taken at each exhibit. The average duration is around 2 hours.

We’re sorry you were disappointed and we hope your next visit is more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Expensive!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The place feels cramped and as it was v busy when we went it was difficult for my children to see everything. It's also very expensive sadly. Won't return unless the tickets are on offer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC_Birmingham, Manager at National Sea Life Centre, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hi Muirie,

We’re sorry you felt our attraction was expensive. We have recently changed our ticket prices to provide better value for families of 2 or more people. Advance tickets booked online start from just £10.

We apologise that you faced some queues within the centre, unfortunately during peak holiday times and weekends the centre can be busy. We recommend visiting during off-peak times to avoid this.

We’re sorry you were disappointed with your visit and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Sea Life Centre also viewed

 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to National Sea Life Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Sea Life Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.