We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and economical” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Awentsbury Hotel Birmingham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Awentsbury Hotel Birmingham to your Saves list
Awentsbury Hotel Birmingham
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Serpentine Road, Selly Park, Birmingham B29 7HU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 136 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Convenient and economical”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is the third time I have stayed at the Awentsbury. I'm the kind of person who needs a bed, a shower, somewhere to make a hot drink and close proximity to the University. The Awentsbury is perfect in this respect, although there is only one communal shower for the standard rooms (but I tend to get in early-so not a problem!), and I can be in the heart of the university within 15 minutes.

This place is great.

Never had a breakfast there, there are loads are places in the local area to grab a breakfast, so cant recommend either way.

But i have never had a bad nights sleep, and will continue to use this hotel into the future!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    9
    13
    24
See reviews for
4
8
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I do not agree with previous reviews. The place is old bur very charming and quiet. Easy to get to town by bus and only a few minutes from the University (Edgbaston Campus). Very convenient for me, since I attended a conference there. Breakfast is very good, included in price, and the owner very kind. Room and bathroom are of old style, but clean. It is worth a visit for a couple of days or so. Simple standard but good balance quality/price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The centre of Birmingham is a building site as of Autumn 2012. A 15-minute bus ride (£1.90) and I was in a room overlooking greenery and a Victorian church. When I settled in with a cup of tea there was birdsong outside.

Flat screen TV with multi-channel freeview; I spent an hour in the morning on good quality wifi.

University easy walking distance- including the Barber Institute, one of Britain's "unknown" art galleries- and free. Recommend the Coffee bar first floor students union.

The price of the Awentsbury reflects the fact that it is not massively replumbed for ensuite etc (which often means a tiny shower and weird-shaped room.)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Spain
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Awentsbury hotel is a good choice for a short stay in Birmingham. Its personal will attend you, no problem. Breakfast is very good and the surroundings are quiet and pleasant.
Its location is also very good: very close to the university (Edgbaston Campus) and to
bus stops and train stations.
Its parking area is more than sufficient.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-tees
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Just arrived back from a stay at this hotel. Which I can only describe as the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.The bedding was stained previous users. There was pubic hair in the bathroom sink and the SHARED bathroom facilities were so poor we were left with no alternative to drive straight home the next morning without showering.
We paid an extra 5 pound each for a "full English breakfast" which reflected the hotels quality and standard.
We will never return to this hotel, as it was the worst place imaginable, "hell on earth"!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Grove, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Well, this was our second stay at Awentsbury which itself tells you something. It's certainly not great but we don't find it nearly as awful as some reviews describe. The main advantage is it's pleasant residential location close to Uni and our son's place in Selly Oak. Yes, the room fittings and furnishings are on the old side and it can be noisy with slamming door springs and creaking floors but we've found it comfortable and the breakfasts fine.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

The house is quaint, the rooms - well my room - spartan but perfectly adequate. Breakfast is traditional but very good and consistently so. The Wifi service is iffy at best, practically non existent in individual rooms. The location is good if you're at the university; otherwise, a car is a must. About 25-30 pounds to airport in taxi. On first evening, when I couldn't get the wifi to work and the person who was there (not easily available, but it is a B&B) was of no help. So I asked if I couldn't place a call to the US, just a couple minutes, to reassure my husband that I'd arrived safely. The person was quite unsure about this, how would she know how to charge me... In the end, she let me make the call, stood over me during the 2 minutes I was on the phone, and when I received my credit card statement a couple weeks later, I saw she'd charged me the equivalent of $25 US for that 2-minute phone call. (By the way, the wifi problem was a simple one; another guest helped me with the following morning.)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Awentsbury Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awentsbury Hotel Birmingham

Address: 21 Serpentine Road, Selly Park, Birmingham B29 7HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 136 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Awentsbury Hotel Birmingham 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Awentsbury Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birmingham Awentsbury Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Awentsbury Hotel Birmingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.