We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food not good, service even worse” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7 to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chapel Lane | Great Barr, Birmingham B43 7BG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #73 of 136 Hotels in Birmingham
Hull
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food not good, service even worse”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed here recently on an organised trip and was not offered no alternative to the food on offer, when I asked for something different I was informed I had to have what everyone else was having.

After a rather heated debate eventually after requesting the Manager I was offered an alternative.

This then took an an hour to come and when it came the chicken was cold, the brocolli wasn't cooked, cauliflower was hard and the roast potatoes where like rubber.

I finally left the meal and was advised by two members of staff to go to Just Eat....not a good recommendation for this hotel.

Will definitely never stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIM6J7, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Airliebird47,

On behalf of the team at the hotel I read your comments with concern and disappointment. The kind of feedback you have provided is very useful and taken seriously in order for us to find solutions and deliver the best quality of service and hospitality to all our guests.

Your comments will be discussed with immediate affect with my Food and Beverage team. We do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you to the hotel in the future.

Please contact us as we would like to speak to you in person

Kindest regards,
Gehan Eriyagama
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    156
    114
    66
    39
See reviews for
119
81
46
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Very Clean and comfortable ,not particularly easy to find as J7 was closed and my little Garmin friend was a little slow .Large busy car park , friendly helpful staff

Booked on booking .com, cost room only, £46 Gave breakfast a miss at £15 , but had supper in the bar quite good , a tad overpriced but it wasn't a night for sampling the delights of Birmingham
and it had been a long day.

Room Tip: None in particular
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIM6J7, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear 1amnotanumber,

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback following your stay with us.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments are very welcome and useful to other future guests.

I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Gehan Eriyagama
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Thanks to all the staff for making the celebration a night to remember! DJ provided great music and buffet was really good. Despite other (larger) function staff provided excellent service throughout the night. Superb breakfast with plenty of much needed coffee.
Excellent room facilities - top tip: shower needs to be pointed down before turning on to avoid water over the bath side!
Comfortable bed and pillows. Quiet room and good exercise to get to reception.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Pick 200's to avoid stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIM6J7, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear daffin,

Thank your for taking the time to give your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Birmingham M6 J7.

I was pleased that you had a great time and I am grateful for your kind comments which will be helpful to other guests considering our hotel and also for the staff. I will forward this to the team to see as they will also be encouraged.

I hope we are able to welcome you back very soon.

Kindest regards
Gehan Eriyagama
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night on a Newmarket trip thought the hotel was a bit remote from other amenities staff were friendly and rooms clean and airy breakfast was included and was very nice would look for somewhere more central next time

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIM6J7, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Bettyc,

Thank your for taking the time to give your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Birmingham M6 J7.

I was pleased that you had a pleasant time and I am grateful for your kind comments which will be helpful to other guests considering our hotel and also for the staff.

I hope we are able to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest regards
Gehan Eriyagama
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Attended hotel for a family birthday party, rooms lack TLC bed good, bathroom on the small size with a very difficult to use shower, rooms in need for a good refurb, buffet food served at party was of very good quality , drinks silly prices, £3 for a tea bag ??, breakfast excellent food, well presented and nice and hot, difficult to get a hot drink, long wait before server comes to you, coffee not bad tea disgusting, staff in breakfast room seemed to be very disorganised, Sunday morning check out was a joke, only one member of staff working the front desk, very long wait, clients getting very agitated, overall a typical budget hotel, at least they don't charge for car parking.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIM6J7, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Christof247

On behalf of the team at the hotel I read your comments with concern and disappointment. The kind of feedback you have provided is very useful and taken seriously in order for us to find solutions and deliver the best quality of service and hospitality to all our guests.

Your comments will be passed on and discussed in our weekly meetings and where possible changes will be implemented. We do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you to the hotel in the future.

Please contact us as we would like to speak to you in person

Kindest regards,
Gehan Eriyagama
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel previously and as with this visit there were no real issues. The room was fine but starting to look a little tired. It was also what seemed like a 10 minute walk from reception.
Staff were all helpful but on both nights I stayed the bar was hopelessly understaffed with long waits to get served!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIM6J7, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear CraigB,

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Birmingham M6 J7.

I read your comments with interest as the information is taken seriously. Your feedback will be passed on in order for us to find solutions and deliver the best quality of service and hospitality to all our guests.

I hope that we may be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Gehan Eriyagama
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Friendly and very helpful reception staff was the start of our visit.

Good room allocation and the offer of an authentic Indian curry freshly prepared personally by the head chef was the highlight of our stay, highly recommended if delicious spicy food is your thing! A grateful thanks to head chef Madhukar Sharma for excellent food and service.

We stayed again at this hotel because of its reputation for helpful and friendly staff and great value. We experienced fantastic service and food when we accompanied the Kent Schools athletics team attending the English Schools Track & Field Champs at the Alexander Stadium in July. The whole staff team provided excellent service and food quality for hungry athletes, a stay which could not be faulted. Well done and thanks Holiday Inn team!

Room Tip: Upgrade is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIM6J7, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear JohnandLiz77,

Thank you for your feedback following your stay.

I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your comments. I have taken the liberty of displaying a copy for the staff to see, in order that they are aware of your comments, as I am sure they will be greatly encouraged.

Your information is very useful to us and is taken seriously, in order for us to find solutions and remain focused on delivering “Great Hotels Guests Love”.

We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Gehan Eritagama
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7

Address: Chapel Lane | Great Barr, Birmingham B43 7BG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 136 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Birmingham M6 Jct 7 is situated 7 miles north of Birmingham City Centre set in 7 acres of Landscaped grounds on the edge of green belt with ample free parking and easy access to the motorway network, M6 Jct 7, M5 Jct 1, M42, M54 and the M6 Toll Motorway.The National Exhibition Centre (NEC), Birmingham International Airport (BHX) ) are 25 minutes drive away. New Street Station, International Convention Centre (ICC), National Indoor Arena (NIA) and Symphony Hall are a 15 minute drive away The hotel offers High Speed Internet access, Kids Stay Free, Eat Free, Traders Restaurant, Hub Bar and modern Lounge to enhance the food and beverage experience at the Holiday Inn M6 J7. Relax in the Spirit Health and Fitness Club, exercise classes, indoor pool, spa, gym, sauna and steam room. More guests choose Holiday Inn because we offer a Great nights sleep, a Great value breakfast and a rewarding loyalty scheme, Priority Club. Together with our Can-Do friendly service and a global reassurance of quality and standards you can feel at home no matter where in the world you stay. Unique to the hotel, we have our very own Helicopter Landing pad. Please contact the hotel direct if you wish to use this service. Pets are allowed at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Birmingham m6, Jct. 7 Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.