We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7 to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chapel Lane | Great Barr, Birmingham B43 7BG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #73 of 136 Hotels in Birmingham
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

stated here at the last minute. Git up too early fir breakfast but still got it (cheers Dave) saw a group turned away too. Had a problem with the shower in my room that needed walls ripping out but used the shower on the pool/gym that I was going to anyway. I was given 20% off my bill fir this inconvenience. The staff were great would definitely return

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIM6J7, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear DarrenTravelonw,

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Birmingham M6 J7.

I was pleased that the staff were able to help you with your comments, which are very helpful to us. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future

Kindest regards

Gehan Eriyagama
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    155
    114
    66
    39
See reviews for
118
81
46
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

just left today after 3 night stay with family. Booked early and got great price.
3 different menus available, only had the bar one- delicious! To top it off- kids ate free. Ate there 3 times.
pool and health club were nice too.
Staff were extremely friendly and hard working. They had a massive church group for breakfast on 2 days, managed to feed all 300 worshippers! Well done.
Thank u again to all the staff.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIM6J7, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear majd1,

Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your comments. I will ensure that the staff see your comments, as I am sure they will be greatly encouraged.

Your information is very useful to us and is taken seriously, in order for us to find solutions and remain focused on delivering “Great Hotels Guests Love”.

We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Gehan Eriyagama
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

the staff and managment are first class and very friendly and warm to their customers and guests. Thats the good points, however the hotel clearly needs investment. Although its clean the bedroom furniture is tired and dated. The breakfast was great but again the restaurant needs some money spending in it as the chairs, blinds and pictures are very dated. Come on Holiday Inn break your piggy bank.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIM6J7, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear gouldfather,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Birmingham M6 J7.

I was pleased to hear your comments regarding the staff and I am sure they will be encouraged by your feedback. With regards to the decor issues, please be assured that I will pass these on the our owners for their information.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest regards,

Gehan Eriyagama
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last week for the very first time,I couldn't really complain for the room rate.The only negatives were that the chair and coffee table in the bedroom had seen better days but other than that it was more than acceptable.The massive plus side was that the bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in,I really didn't want to get up in the morning.The bar was impressive too

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIM6J7, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Pot6y,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to comment following your recent stay with us.

Your feedback is very helpful to us and taken seriously, therefore, I have passed on your information regarding the furniture of the bedroom to our owners.

Thank you again and I hope we may welcome you back.

Kindest regards,

Gehan Eriyagama
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Booked for 1 night with friends. Check-in was swift but was sent to a room that smelt really badly of smoke. Even though there was a no smoking sign on the door the previous occupant had obviously ignored this and smoked heavily - yes this isn't the hotels fault but surely this would be picked up upon cleaning the room and measures would be taken to remove the smell? Not at all. It was that bad you could smell it in the corridor passing that particular room. Very disgusting. So after the trek back to reception we were eventually moved without an apology or anything to a new room. Try going to the toilet in these rooms. You have to site sideways! Never before have I seen such a small space between toilet and bath! You would laugh about it if it wasn't your hard earned money being paid for this terrible place. We had dinner included and this was disgusting too. The waitress was coughing into her hand then delivering the food and we had to wait around 15-20 minutes for dessert to come out and ask several times for it. The fish was cold on my partners plate and all the staff looked disinterested and surly when approached. In the bar there was only 1 useful member of staff who knew how to work the tills ETC and when he left the other staff seemed like headless chickens getting the orders wrong and taking an age to serve. Didn't bother with Breakfast in the morning for the reasons above.

All in all an unforgettable stay for all the wrong reasons. Will not stay again. Shame on the Holiday Inn name!

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking. They all are but make sure you get what you ask for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIM6J7, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear RingOandCrystaL,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback following your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Birmingham M6 J7.

On behalf of the team at the hotel, I read your comments with concern and disappointment. Please be assured that your information will be discussed with the relevant Managers without delay.

Despite your comments we do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you to the hotel in the future.

Kindest regards,

Gehan Eriyagama
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We have stayed here twice now,both for one night.The first time was in March and had about a foot of snow but the room was lovely and warm.Breakfast was great.Staff were good.Second visit was in April.Was a weekday and much busier....staff still ok but not as attentive as our previous weekend stay.The pool was nice but changing areas need more frequent cleaning.We requested an iron and board as well as extra milk for coffees in our room but we hadn't had any of these when we left! Ok,could be much better as in a convenient spot with huge grassed grounds.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIM6J7, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Downurway,

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback following your stay with us.

I was sorry to hear of your disappointment after returning to the hotel. I would like to assure you that I am aware of certain issues that need to be addressed. These are currently being looked at.

In view of this, I hope that we may be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest regards,

Gehan Eriyagama
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel twice on business. Both times i have had a great stay. A little difficult to find off the motorway but sat nav will get you there. Lovely pool and nice quiet rooms. Masses of parking. A good all round stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIM6J7, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear VoyagersLondon,

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Birmingham M6 J7.

I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope that we may welcome you back in the future.

Kindest regards

Gehan Eriyagama
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7

Address: Chapel Lane | Great Barr, Birmingham B43 7BG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 136 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Birmingham M6 Jct 7 is situated 7 miles north of Birmingham City Centre set in 7 acres of Landscaped grounds on the edge of green belt with ample free parking and easy access to the motorway network, M6 Jct 7, M5 Jct 1, M42, M54 and the M6 Toll Motorway.The National Exhibition Centre (NEC), Birmingham International Airport (BHX) ) are 25 minutes drive away. New Street Station, International Convention Centre (ICC), National Indoor Arena (NIA) and Symphony Hall are a 15 minute drive away The hotel offers High Speed Internet access, Kids Stay Free, Eat Free, Traders Restaurant, Hub Bar and modern Lounge to enhance the food and beverage experience at the Holiday Inn M6 J7. Relax in the Spirit Health and Fitness Club, exercise classes, indoor pool, spa, gym, sauna and steam room. More guests choose Holiday Inn because we offer a Great nights sleep, a Great value breakfast and a rewarding loyalty scheme, Priority Club. Together with our Can-Do friendly service and a global reassurance of quality and standards you can feel at home no matter where in the world you stay. Unique to the hotel, we have our very own Helicopter Landing pad. Please contact the hotel direct if you wish to use this service. Pets are allowed at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Birmingham m6, Jct. 7 Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.