We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theatre trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel Birmingham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne Hotel Birmingham to your Saves list
Copthorne Hotel Birmingham
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paradise Circus, Birmingham B3 3HJ, England (Ladywood)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Theatre trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed at the Copthorne overnight for a theatre trip.
We were really surprised at the comfort of the room, the staff were really efficient, I had a slight mishap with a glass of coke, staff were ate the table within seconds to mop up and replace the drink. Most impressed.
Food really good, loads of choice, hot, cold or continental. Nice bustly atmosphere, enjoyed our stay immensely and would recommend. We had a good non refundable deal, considering hotel prices in Brum, it was really value.
Will stay again on our next theatre visit.
Everything catered for in the room.
Room 339 was a good location, no noise.

Room Tip: We were in 339, quite a step from the lift, but good location, no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatWilliams_GM, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear silversurfer019,

I am delighted to read your positive comments following your recent stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to post them for us.

We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel whenever you next have a break in Birmingham.

Many thanks

Mat Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    251
    286
    148
    95
See reviews for
45
256
85
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Just spent 2 nights here. Staff are very friendly and helpful ,bed was comfortable and shower was ok but room are ready for a update as look tired and only had 1 plug socket that I could find in the room and when you have a laptop , phones and there kettle to power it all has to wait its turn. There is also a ventilation or heating pump that cuts in at about 6.30 am and rumbles away waking you up. I stayed on the 5th Floor but I see on other people reviews other floor hear it.

Location was good in the heart of Birmingham and if you want to get something to eat you only have to walk 2 mins and you are in a mini shopping area with Nandos , Mac D and other food places and shops.

Parking was ok but you have to get there asap as not many spaces and if you have a big car can be tricky to fit into small bays if you park under the hotel and the £12 did felt step but then again I never stayed in the heart of the city and that could be the norm.

Price and location was the key for why it was book but it was booked by my work but I don't think I would stay again until its had a make over

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatWilliams_GM, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Lee G,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments after your recent stay with us here at the Copthorne Birmingham.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed our central aspect and the variety of outlets that are on our doorstep.

I noted your negative comments regarding the bedroom. We are in the process of redecorating all of our bedroom stock.

In terms of the car park charge we have researched and priced ourselves to be one of the cheapest parking options for hotels in the city. Of course there is a nearby NCP for those occasions that our spaces are full.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Many thanks

Mat Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights while attending a training course in February.
The facilities were adequate, but I felt it was expensive for what you got and you had to pay extra for wireless access too. The bed was comfortable and the shower powerful however, which was its saving grace.
The buffet style breakfast offered reasonable choice, with good pastries and cold meats/cheese, but the hot food was bland and was clearly cheap produce, served in bulk.
An evening beer at the hotel bar was nearly £5, but a bar meal for about £10 was reasonably priced and tasty.
Overall, the hotel is good for business travel, but I wouldn't spend my own money at current prices.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatWilliams_GM, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Oxnath,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback after your recent business trip with us at the hotel.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed several aspects of your stay but were left disappointed with others which I apologise for.

I do hope that you return in the near future so that we can give you a completely satisfactory stay.

Kind regards

Mat Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londres
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Was a bit noisy overlooking the paradise forum and the jazz club. Rooms were comfortable and clean, staff were helpfull. The gym was bollocks but being positive, there is capacity for running, rowing and doing some push ups. I would be happy to stay again. Overall a very good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatWilliams_GM, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Millipods,

Thank you for poting your feedback following your recent stay.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit and awarded us a 5 star rating.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Many thanks

Mat Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Had one night here as I had a meeting first thing in Birmingham centre.

The hotel is in an excellent location, service and staff were all excellent. Rooms are tired but comfortable, could do with updating though.

Would I stay again? For the same money I'd probably get a premier inn.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatWilliams_GM, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Yorkshirefoodies,

Thank you for the comments that you have posted for us after your recent visit.

I was delighted to read that you had a great stay stay in terms of location and the service that the staff provided for you.

We are in the process of redecorating our bedroom stock.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Mat Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just spent 2 nights here. Staff were friendly and bed was comfortable. Room 120 had a threadbare carpet,bedside lights not working , cold tap control falls off,ventilation in the bathroom not working.
The bathroom smells damp.
There is also a ventilation or heating pump that cuts in at about 6.30 am and rumbles away waking you up.
The room was generally tatty and poor quality.

There is plenty of choice in Birmingham so go elsewhere until there is some investment back into this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid room 120
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatWilliams_GM, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear UKTonyz,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay at the Copthorne Hotel Birmingham.

I am glad to read that you found the staff helpful. I am however sorry to read that you encountered some maintenance issues with your room. Whilst it should not have happened in the first place if you had reported any issues then a member of the maintenance team could have rectified the problems during your visit. Please accept our apologies for the problems that you had.

We do hope that when you return to Birmingham that you give us a second chance. We would relish the opportunity to right the wrongs that you faced for your first visit.

Kind regards

Mat Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Arrived in a tired reception but thought i'd reserve judgement until in room. Opened the door to the room to be met by a very stale smell, like the smell in a pub before the smoking ban when the pub has been empty for a while. Decor very 1980s and the bathroom in need of renovation. Marks/stains on the furniture and a huge backed television taking me back to the 1990s.

For less money book into the premier lodge nearby - no smell, newer decor and new bathrooms!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatWilliams_GM, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Familyof4Endinburgh,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay.

I am sorry that you felt the rooms were not up to a 4 star standard. We are in the process of redecorting all of our bedrooms and public areas.

We do hope that you return and give us another try should you visit Birmingham again.

Kind regards

Mat Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copthorne Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Birmingham

Address: Paradise Circus, Birmingham B3 3HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glass-sheathed contemporary mid-rise hotel in the center of Birmingham, adjacent to International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Copthorne Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.