We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week-end Christmas Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel Birmingham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne Hotel Birmingham to your Saves list
Copthorne Hotel Birmingham
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paradise Circus, Birmingham B3 3HJ, England (Ladywood)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 136 Hotels in Birmingham
Dunfermline
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Week-end Christmas Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had a very pleasant short break at the Copthorne prior to Christmas in order to visit the Frankfurt Market. Our room was spacious and comfortable and although overlooking a busy road, was relatively quiet. So much so, that we had a great sleep, in a comfortable bed, with importantly, comfortable pillows! Dinner too, was very pleasant in the hotel's Thai Restaurant......and we recommend. A must also to have is, a 'Singapore Sling' (one is enough!). All in all, a successful stay and very central, with pleasant and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Perhaps avoid being close to the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatWilliams_GM, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Maureen M,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback after your stay with us at the hotel.

I am glad that you took advantage of our location on the doorstep of the Frankfurt Markets. It is also pleasing to read that you enjoyed our food in the Bugis Street Brasserie.

I hope that you will return when you are next in Birmingham.

Many thanks

Mat Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    282
    320
    166
    110
See reviews for
52
286
87
382
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

we have used this hotel twice travelling with a group when visiting Jam House in Birmingham (great venue but that's another review). The hotel is a short stroll from New St station but also has on site parking for £12 24 hours. Reception staff are efficient and welcoming. Bar and bar staff excellent. The bar has a vibrant feel - looks onto ring road on one side but that's no bad thing - adds to atmosphere! Other side looks onto new library towards Martineau Square - as central as you can get. Rooms slightly dated but comfortable and clean. It's staff and location that make this hotel really. We had problem with room card not working but young man on reception had a new card delivered to our table at breakfast as promised. We would not hesitate to use this hotel again and would recommend unless you're looking for top end luxury.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatWilliams_GM, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear atticusfan,

Thank you for leaving your feedback after your recent stay.

I am delighted that we looked after you and that you took full advantage of our central location.

We look forward to having you back for a third time.

Many thanks

Mat Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Easy to find as you come into Birmingham off the M6 and very central for the city centre. The outside parking was convenient. Very helpful and friendly staff. A good sized, clean room. All in all, a lovely stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatWilliams_GM, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Shelders81,

I am glad that you had a good time at the hotel during your recent stay.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Many thanks

Mat Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

very good room and excellent customer service.Breakfast was very good . Ask for a voucher the night before you will save couple of pounds.overall it was a good experience with very pleasant staff and hotel being very close to the station.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatWilliams_GM, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Tushan B,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your positive comments after your recent stay with us here at the Copthorne Hotel Birmingham.

I am pleased to read that you had a good time and hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Many thanks

Mat Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We booked into the Copthorne Hotel Birmingham as it was recommended to us by a friend. The hotel had welcoming staff, a decent size clean room and a very good breakfast. Considering the location in the centre of Birmingham I thought the room rate was very reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatWilliams_GM, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear DennismLudlow,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay after a recommendation from your friend.

Thank you for taking the time to leave the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Birmingham.

Many thanks

Mat Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The Copthorne Hotel is an ideal place to stay.wether shopping or leisure,there's always a warm welcome from reception staff. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.breakfast is excellent and Joe &Ollie are always pleasant and helpful nothing is ever too difficult for them to assist you with.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatWilliams_GM, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Tyanab,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback after your recent stay with us at the Copthorne Hotel Birmingham.

I am glad that you received great service from all the staff and in particular Joe and Ollie. I will ensure that your comments are passsed onto everyone at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Many thanks

Mat Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have stayed at the Copthorne many times over the years, in order to attend concerts at Symphony Hall, and can honestly say I have never been met with anything other than the utmost efficiency and helpfulness. All the staff I have dealt with, including reception, bar, breakfast, have been really wonderful. I leave my car in the car park there without any worry at all.

Shirley H, Bridport

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatWilliams_GM, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Snowdrop370,

I am delighted to read that you are a regular visitor to us. It is also pleasing to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your latest stay.

We look forward to seeing you when you next visit Birmingham.

Many Thanks

Mat Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Copthorne Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Birmingham

Address: Paradise Circus, Birmingham B3 3HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glass-sheathed contemporary mid-rise hotel in the center of Birmingham, adjacent to International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Copthorne Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.