We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really let us down but some stand out staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Birmingham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Birmingham to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Bridge St, Birmingham B1 2JZ, England (Ladywood)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #21 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Really let us down but some stand out staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

I booked the Hyatt even though we live twenty minutes away because myself and my daughters wanted a hotel experience with a pool for New Year's Eve. We booked months ago and there was no warning that the pool would be closed at the time of booking (and because it was New Year there was no alternative available). We had requested a room at the front of the hotel so we could see the celebrations in the city. I also range Christmas week to make this request again. When we arrived we found we had been put at the back of the hotel! I asked if this could be rectified. We returned an hour later and our room wasn't ready. We finally checked in at 3.50! When we went to swim - the main purpose of our visit -we were told that the pool was closed. We might as well have stayed at home or booked another hotel. We had pretty shoddy room service with dreadful pizzas and I had to ring down again for the salad I had been charged for. It was all a bit rubbish really. The only thing that made it OK were the staff, in particular, James at reception, the duty manager on New Year's Eve and the woman at the gym reception who immediately referred our concerns to the duty manager. We were given breakfast, wine and a discount. It was much appreciated but won't bring back our New Year's Eve. If only the whole hotel were as good as some of its best staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    427
    158
    56
    26
See reviews for
129
429
58
391
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed here to celebrate our wedding anniversary 28th December.Check in was easy and we were told we had been upgraded to a suite with complimentary breakfast,a bottle of champagne chilling with compliments from Tim the manager.Reception and bar staff were excellent.The suite was fantasic,everything you would expect and a fresh coffee machine was a nice touch.Perfect location, very handy for bars and shops at the Mailbox .All in all a top class hotel which looked beautiful with christmas decorations.Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in December. The location is fantastic, with great views from one side of the hotel over Birmingham's German Christmas market. The room is well laid out and comfortable and the bathroom clean and a good size.

There were a few negatives. The car park is underneath the nearby Crowne Plaza and isn't particularly convenient (although the hotel will offer to drive you there) and the pillows provided were far too soft, to the point that neither my wife or I slept particularly well either night we were there, and we both had backache on both mornings - something neither of us have ever suffered with before.

Also, we came back to our room to escape the rain on the second day at around 3pm to discover the room still hadn't been serviced. As we just wanted to chill for a while, we just asked the maid in the corridor for replacement towels. To be fair she was hugely friendly and helpful, and offered to do the room immediately, but we declined.

We enjoyed the stay, will probably steal their colour scheme for our Christmas tree next year as it looked stunning!, but we did get a better night's sleep at the Crowne Plaza, where we had stayed previously. For this reason, we'll go back there next time.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

A bit late in posting this but once again we felt we had to write to express our gratitude once again to Mark Power and all his team for another exemplary stay at the hotel. Check in was as stress free as always and due to the hotel being full to bursting we found we had been upgraded to a suite and not just any suite. Even the normal suite's were full so we managed to bag one of the few super suites in the hotel for our weekend stay. We've always been looked after by Mark and the team at the Hyatt but this was something special indeed.

The suite was HUGE and the location was right across the hallway from the Regency Club so it could not have been more convenient for our early evening drinks and morning breakfasts there. As always, the suite was simply wonderful with a great view of Broad Street and the NIA and we cannot praise the hotel highly enough about their standards of decor and cleanliness throughout the room and the hotel in general. The use of the Regency Club is always a real bonus and we were so pleased to see the lovely Malia in there again on this trip who we chatted to for ages.

In summary, from the Concierge and Reception teams that always greet you with a great smile, through the bar staff, Regency Club team, chambermaids and Mark himself, nothing is too much trouble and everything happens seamlessly. We continue to wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Birmingham (as we do to all our friends and colleagues) as its location, style, room sizes and above all staff are a very hard act to follow. If you like a bit of comfort when you stay away from home then you will struggle to find better in Birmingham. Th Hyatt is a real gem and one we keep coming back to, time and again and will be again in Spring 2012. Thank you Mark and team for another fantastic and faultless display of customer service.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

I often say here with work when I'm in Birmingham,

Very friendly staff who give excellent service. The beds and rooms are extremely comfortable.
Restaurant food and service is top notch, if a bit expensive for Birmingham but shows much more imagination than the food in the Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

My very good rating is made up from the great concierge service, 24 hour room service for any meal, which we enjoyed, tired from a gig and the service was faultless - very friendly staff on reception - the overall experiance - very good , the down fall for my friend and I was very unfriendly staff, at breakfast this was served till 10.30, we arrived at 10.15 and before we were greeted we were told breakfast finished at 10.30, and there were so many staff packing away when residents were still eating and arriving, to the point, we were eating and had our pot of tea on the table and we were asked if they could take the milk away, and stripping tables, hard to relax over breakfast, and lets face it on a night away the breakfast is so important!!!

The room was not what we expected, however ,lovely view, burn hole in the curtain - doesn't really matter in the scope of things, the room was clean, and we got a good price, does that refect where we are allocated a room!!

We would go back to the Hyatt, without a doubt, overall we had a great night's stay, great location

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Very impressed with this hotel - the attention, friendliness and help from staff was excellent. Rooms are to an excellent standard, with very comfy bed, very clean, good size, and an excellent panoramic view over Birmingham from the 15th floor.
Bathroom facilities excellent, nice touches like cotton buds and make up pads included.
The parking is about a 250m walk, but on leaving the staff insisted we take the courtesy bus for this small hop, as we were laden with shopping from the Christmas market.
Hotel perfectly situated for a quick walk into the centre. Definitely would come back!!

Room Tip: If you want a cheaper breakfast than the £15 rate in the hotel , then walk ~300m to Weatherspoons at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Birmingham

Address: 2 Bridge St, Birmingham B1 2JZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#11 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#17 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atrium-style hotel located in city center & adjoining the International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Birmingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.