We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average for Marriott standard hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Birmingham Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Birmingham Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 8SJ, England (Edgbaston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #24 of 136 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Average for Marriott standard hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My partner and I stayed here on a weekend in early June when watching a Bon Jovi concert at Villa Park. 1st of all I have to say that the building and the décor isn’t like most other Marriotts we have enjoyed in regards that this one is far more oldy worldy style which was quite charming. The foyer was spotless and the reception team were very professional as you would expect. The lifts were very small and slightly cramped but really I can’t pick at that. The room we had was smaller than other Marriotts but not unpleasantly so. Our view was of a Morrisons car park but being in Birmingham town centre the view was never going to be amazing. The room was standard with all the usual furnishings, TV, tea, coffee etc and the bathroom was small but clean and bright.
Breakfast was a buffet style full English with a small selection of continental pastries and cold meats, again all pretty standard for a Marriott. There was a chef making omlettes and eggs to order but I had to wait in a queue for approx 5 mins for and bacon and eggs to be replenished which was slightly annoying as the restaurant wasn’t anywhere near full. Again all pretty usual and nothing spectacular for Marriott standard.
What disappointed us was that whilst we stayed there two nights we didn’t get our room cleaned once, our beds were made but on night one my partner spilt a coffee sachet and its content was still on the floor when we left on the Monday lunchtime!!!That is pretty poor for Marriott standard. Also during the (non) clean the toiletries were never replenished and we had to dig into our own shampoos to wash rather than have hotel provided. Not a massive issue but when you pay for Marriott standard (which isn’t cheap) you would expect little things like that to be done without question.
The bar was a very quiet area but relaxing with Sky Sports and Sky News on TV so all good there.
We used the spa and gym whilst there and again it was all pretty usual. Very clean and well kept, the gym only had machines and dumbbells to approx 20kg – Good enough for a short session to keep the breakfasts at bay and the pool area was clean with a few sun beds dotted around. There was a Jacuzzi which was lovely and a steam room which was a great temp with lovely stone bench’s inside (the highlight of the spa area). The spa staff were again very nice and professional without being intrusive, well done to them.
All in all it is what you would expect from a Marriott but the bare minimum of what you would expect for the price with a couple of grumbles thrown in.
I would stay there again because of the great location but I would be sure to complain if the room wasn’t cleaned, toiletries replenished etc (which we didn’t do this time around as we were only there for a couple of nights).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    201
    63
    25
    12
See reviews for
54
149
30
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My wife and I arrived at 1300 28 June. We went to the bar, purchased a drink and sat in the very nice lounge area. We were very much taken by the ambience and very pleasant atmosphere in the bar.

We checked in 15 minutes earlier than expected and went to our room. A very pleasant area with all of the things on hand that we would need. As we had previously booked a massage each for 1700 we settled in our room and went for a swim in the hotel's pool. Very good again.

The massage was very good and that went fine. So, as this was a birthday treat we had decided to spend a couple of hours or so in the evening at the hotel's bar and try a couple of their cocktails. Now this is where things went pear shaped!

Within the bar area were approximately 40 persons of mixed sex and in their twenties. They were intent on "taking over" the whole of the bar area without any thought or consideration for hotel guests. Their obnoxious lack of any respect for others are a typical trait of spoilt, selfish and pathetic youth of today who shout at the top of their voices, persist in standing in others way, ignore anybody else (save for their own ilk), and make out that they are the only ones in this world and woe betide all else! After paying good (and earned) money for the massages, cocktails plus food it was a reluctant decision to have to leave the bar due to the gross amount of unwelcome noise. We could not hear ourselves speak to each other that was the final straw.

On our way to our room we went to front of hotel to formally complain and to ask why no member of staff had the fortitude to address these loud mouthed cretons and maintain some resemblance to acceptable behaviour. We were informed that these "loudies" were NOT hotel guests but that the hotel is open to non-residents. Even more reason we thought that matters were taken in hand. We hope to contact the General Manager for this hotel to pursue the matter further.

So, a nice and pleasant hotel in general, a comfortable bed etc. BUT one heck of a disappointment and headache thanks to load mouth louts. Stay away at the weekends is our advice.

Room Tip: Top floor you could hear the lift in operation despite being 100 yards or more way from room 507.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Marriot is situated right at the end of Broad Street. This means that you are pretty much within walking distance of most of the city centre, which is very handy.
I found the hotel to be generally in a good state of repair. My room was large and comfortable, with an excellent breakfast
All in all a convenient location for a business trip overnight choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The location on five ways roundabout is ok - the building - staff and public area were all fine. But our room was tatty with a stained and grubby sofa and armchair. Much in need of a complete makeover.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We recently visited Birmingham and stayed at the Marriott.

This is a very neat and clean hotel. Standard in the rooms is high as you would expect from a Marriott. Rooms were very clean, bath room was also very bright and well equipped.

Our breakfast was included in the price. Breakfast Buffett was extensive with an omelette station making normal and egg white omelettes. Service in the restaurant was also very good.

The hotel is situated quite close to the Broad Street, which has an extensive range of night clubs and restaurants.

The only negative point is that the hotel charges guests for the use of their car park at £12 per day.

Overall, a very good stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Very recently, we stayed a few nights here in a suite. The lobby area was small but warmly inviting. There didn’t seem to be a porter so the front desk clerk assisted me with my bags. The suite itself was very nice with views onto central Birmingham. The bed was cozy and comfortable and fitted with luxury linens.

We ate breakfast here every morning and it was excellent and fresh. The indoor pool water was slightly cool but the room itself is quite warm.

If you are driving yourself, take care of the one-way streets that may confuse you to the location.

The service throughout our stay here was absolutely wonderful.

The location, room and services provided a very comfortable stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Marriott for two days.
Receptionists and bar & restaurant staff very good.
Room spacious and comfortable with massive bed.
Easy reach for ICC and shops. The only problem was Midlands rain so I got soaked every time I left the hotel - but that's not the hotels fault. Really nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Birmingham Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birmingham Marriott Hotel

Address: 12 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 8SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#29 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#33 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Birmingham Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Otel, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Birmingham Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Birmingham
Birmingham Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birmingham Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.