We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birmingham Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Birmingham Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 8SJ, England (Edgbaston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #28 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
newcastle
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed here on business in March. The staff were helpful and the room was great. The car park is a bit on the small side, but I managed to find a space on both nights that I stayed.
I didn't use the restaurant as I had some work to do so I used the Room Service option and i must say that I found it prompt and very good quality.
I can't really add much more as i didn't use any of the other facilities at this hotel.
In short..
Room - very good
Staff - Excellent
Food - Very Good
Car Park - small, but does seem to meet the needs of the guests.
Would I stay here again...oh yes!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    177
    53
    25
    11
See reviews for
45
133
27
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a Christmas market trip, sadly we only stayed one of the two nights due to unforeseen circumstances. I emailed the hotel to ask if there was any chance we could still make use of the 2 nd night some time after. We had used tesco vouchers so I didn't hold out much hope, but the hotel agreed to let us use the 2nd night. When we arrived on a snowy sat afternoon we were met with complimentary hot chocolate, when we checked in the lady at reception asked how we were after our distressing time, then Desmond the security guy/ car park attendant/ porter also asked how we were, the fact that he remembered us was very touching. The staff clearly enjoy working at this hotel and it shows. Nothing was too much trouble, our room was lovely and warm and comfortable, the bath was steaming hot. The weather was horrid so we chose to eat in the hotel, we were not disappointed, breakfast was scrummy too. All in all a very pleasant stay at a warm and friendly hotel, unusual with such a large chain.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn Stoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed here as part of a hen weekend, although I had single occupancy in a double room. We didn't eat at the hotel at all or use the pool (I did have a sneaky look), but only because we weren't staying long enough and had plans in the city.

The time I did spend in the room to shower, get ready for the night out and sleep was very pleasant, comfortable and met all requirements. Check-in was easy, the room was clean and spacious and I would not hesitate to stay here again for easy access to bars / restaurants and a passing visit in to Birmingham.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

That's what you get at the Marriott - consistency. We needed a good hotel in Birmingham for a night, following a meal out with relatives. Our requirements were a hotel that was located centrally, quiet, clean, comfortable with polite and efficient staff. The Marriott met these requirements fully. Despite it being a very busy Saturday night, with both a wedding and a 50th wedding anniversary party to deal with, the staff were unruffled and as efficient as ever. The heavy snowfall had, however, caused havoc in the car park with the concierge overloaded with having to deal with dippy drivers, who abandoned their cars in the most inconsiderate of places and requests for Taxis (as no one wanted to walk anywhere).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I have stayed here several times and it is a good Marriott city hotel. As with all Marriott hotels the beds are extremely comfortable and have very good quality bed linen and pillows which guarantee a good nights sleep.

Staff are usually very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is of a good standard and hotel well maintained.

Couple of negatives during my last stay is paying for wi-fi which everyone complains about and in all honesty hotels should include it now as standard as it can only cost them very little and I had 'Do not disturb' on my door and the cleaner came in my room at 9 am whilst i was in the bathroom which I think is unacceptable and it also happened to my friend who was also staying there by the same cleaner!.

Would not put me off staying here and are there again next week!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is the second time we've stopped here on an overnight journey home. It is a lovely hotel, rooms comfortable and clean. The staff are 5star, of course I must admitt I have come to expect that from Marriott. I would only say that we were late down for breakfast, we were so comfortable that we overslept, and the food was only moderately warm. Of course we could have asked for fresh but we were very late. The service from the maitre d' was not good at all. However I must stress that this did not match all the other good service we received. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Parking is at an extra cost if you take a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverha
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very good when arrived the service was excellent till the time I left the food very good value for money the room could not fault it thank u Marriott hotel for a lovely weekend can't wait to come again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Birmingham Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birmingham Marriott Hotel

Address: 12 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 8SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#22 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#33 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Birmingham Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Birmingham Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Birmingham
Birmingham Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birmingham Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.