We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westmead Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Westmead Hotel to your Saves list
Westmead Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Redditch Rd | Hopwood, Birmingham B48 7AL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
Cornwall
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

A very warm welcome, changed room as I did not wish to be on the ground floor with no problems.
Hotel reception very modern but rest of it a bit dated ie Bar,corridors and worn carpets but the friendly service made up for this.
Bed very comfy, but could do with pillow and matress protectors.
Large clean and modern bathrom with thick fluffy towels. Lovely toiletries.
Wall mounted heating and AC which was very quiet and useful as I stayed in one of the front rooms and could not open window due to traffic noise.
Bar Menu very good and very accommodating for any changes requested, breakfast excellent with good choices.
Would definately be my first choice if I stayed in Birmingham again and recommend this hotel to business travelers, you can be assured of a good meal and comfortable night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    76
    45
    14
    12
See reviews for
88
84
15
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

great staff, good food, comfortable rooms with oversized beds, a charming little pub, and a nice quiet location earns the westmead 4 stars.

i will certainly stay here again and i highly recommend this hotel to business travelers, families, and couples.

thank you, westmead staff, for an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Booked several rooms , ideal Hotel for NEC, Greeting on arrival couldn't be better , smiling happy staff throughout the stay. Good Beer, excellent Food, rooms excellent, simply the best. Certainly wont stay anywhere else if at the NEC or Birmingham. Probably regret making such positive comments as it will be the hotel of choice for all reading them.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I wanted to book something for my first wedding anniversary but had left it to the very last second (which isn’t like me!) I emailed the hotel on the morning of the 26th April – anniversary on the 27th April – and got a call from Ben a couple of hours later offering me a complete package
• Overnight Accommodation
• Petals on bed
• Robes, slippers and Special toiletries
• Chocolate dipped strawberries
• Bottle of bubbly
• Private in room dinning
• Wedding Breakfast recreated specially for yourselves
• Full English Breakfast on the Sunday
The recreation of our wedding breakfast was amazing. The meal alone was worth the price! Everything was perfect.
Thank you very, very much
Lou & Todd

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are probably quieter, away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My niece got married at this hotel. Lovely ceremony, lovely food and the staff were amazing. The rooms were nice and everything was clean. Breakfast the next morning was plentiful and again the service was very good. Can highly recommend this hotel. Well done to the westmead!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Trying to clarify the booking by email led to the receptionist contacting me direct and explaining prices and offers available in a very friendly helpful manner.
Upon arrival the room was spotlessly clean with a very large bed and 2 easy chairs, writing table & good sized spotlessly clean bathroom.
All parts of the hotel seen were very clean and the staff very friendly. Owing to meeting up with friends outside the hotel no meals were taken in hotel so I cannot comment on the restaurant. Upon returning to the hotel late in the evening we found the bar & reception staff to be very pleasant & were informed that drinks were available all night through the hotel porter so no need to rush off to bed.
A hotel I will certainly recommend to anyone visitng south Birmingham or Redditch or Bromsgrove.
I would certaily recomend the hotel

Room Tip: I believe the double rooms are better sized so pay for a double room if a single occupant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed with my partner and our young son for a birthday treat for me and coinciding with our onward trip to Derbyshire for the rest of the weekend. We booked the Chocoholic £139 deal, which included Dinner, B&B for one night and the family tickets (2 adults and 2 children) to Cadbury's World. Our room was extremely comfortable... our bed was huge and the little Z bed for our son... well lets just say he had the best nights sleep ever... better than he does in his toddler bed at home... LOL! The room was perfectly situated for us - as we were away from the main part of the hotel. They had a private function going on and we thought we might be disturbed by the party and disco noise but we didn't hear a thing. The food was superb and the service 1st class - so we will definitely stay here again when we are next on our travels to the Midlands and will definitely ask for the same room too.

Room Tip: Room no.25 - nice and quiet at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westmead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmead Hotel

Address: Redditch Rd | Hopwood, Birmingham B48 7AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#17 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westmead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmead Hotel Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westmead Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.