We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel, comfortable rooms, but minimal service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Birmingham City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added ibis Birmingham City Centre to your Saves list
ibis Birmingham City Centre
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ladywell Walk, Birmingham B5 4ST, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Clean hotel, comfortable rooms, but minimal service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

This Ibis hotel is a very clean hotel, and the rooms, although small, are very comfortable. The location is also very good. However, the service is minimal; for instance, room service is not offered, so the guests need to come down to get any food or drinks.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_TAHILIANI, Manager at ibis Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comments. Room service something currently offered however, it is indeed something to look into.
Kind regards,
Stefanie Stovold
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    320
    208
    84
    72
See reviews for
56
247
109
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Not sure if it is every night but last Friday the base from the night club next door boom boomed until 3 am. I was due at a conference on Saturday and did not feel at all rested. The bed was comfortable but the noise from the club - despite the triple glazing - even interfered with the TV viewing. I would not stay again.

Room Tip: If you can get a room away from the side that is next to the club it may be OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_TAHILIANI, Manager at ibis Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate all feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the comments regarding the bed. We have installed new beds within our ibis brand, our Sweet beds by ibis and welcome all feedback. With regards to the noise level from outside; we are working with the local authorities to try to minimise the noise pollution that can occur.
In the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back to the ibis Birmingham city centre.
Kind regards,
Stefanie Stovold
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I had a 3 nights stay at the hotel. Room was tidy and clean. Bed is a little too hard for me but was bearable.
I love the location is easy access to city centre and lots of restaurants in this area.
The only downside of this hotel is too close to the night clubs and can be noisy at night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_TAHILIANI, Manager at ibis Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate all feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay. I’ll look into the points your raised personally, and in the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back to the ibis Birmingham City Centre very soon.
Kind regards,
Stefanie Stovold
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Lovely staff, location great. clean rooms. everyone very friendly.
comfy beds, nice sized bathroom too.
Would recommend! Rooms must be sound proof as it was so quiet, even when we knew the traffic was beeping and reving outside!

Room Tip: all rooms look nice. Quiet even tho you are in the city centre!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_TAHILIANI, Manager at ibis Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
So glad you had an enjoyable time at ibis Birmingham City Centre. We very much appreciate the feedback. With regards to the soundproofing the rooms: this is something we are looking into. we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Stefanie Stovold
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home Counties
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stay in central Birmingham once a week, usually at the Bullring Travelodge. Despite the Ibis being quite a lot more, £55 compared to £33 I needed to work and the unlimited internet access for £4.99 was the key factor as there is no internet access from the Travelodge bedrooms. A word of caution here: The internet access in this offer is for wired broadband only, not Wi-Fi. No good at all if you are working from an i-pad, actually totally useless and a waste of money as the free movies they offer as part of the deal appear to be only available via the wired broadband. There is Wi-Fi in the room via Orange but there is a charge for this. Unfortunately the signal was so weak I couldn’t even get the page with the costs to load! On checking in the wired broadband was explained to me as I had pre-booked it on the web site. When I complained I was told all the information is on the web site. I’ve just had a look and it’s still very misleading and mentions nothing of it being hard wired only and also shows the Wi-Fi sign. When I was complaining to the receptionist I got the feeling this was not the first conversation she had on the subject. They also wouldn’t give me a refund.

There were a few other problems also. The room was extremely hot and despite the air conditioning unit appearing to blow out cold air it wasn’t sufficiently powerful to cool the room which remained very hot all night despite opening the window.

One of the pillows had a horrible mildew type stain as shown on the photo although the rest of the room did appear to look clean.

There were 6 hangers but these were the type you see in M&S with trousers hanging from them. No good at all for hanging a jacket on.

The TV was a flat screen but pretty old and the choice of channels was very limited, not even all the freeview ones you now get in all the standard hotel rooms.

On the plus side, my room faced the back of the building so was quiet compared to those which overlook the main road. Also the bed, despite appearances, was very comfortable.

The room was smaller than the Travelodge as was the bathroom by a considerable amount. Also the decorations and furnishings are very dark and lead to a drab appearance. Not the super white bed linen as shown on the Ibis web site. I’m just about to book next week’s stay but it won’t be at the Ibis!

Room Tip: If you really must stay here, ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_TAHILIANI, Manager at ibis Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I can assure you the matter is being looked into. Feel free to email me on h1459-gm@accor.com to discuss this further.

Kind regards
Kishor Tahiliani
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clare
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 3 days. The hotel is basic but extremely clean. Couldnt fault it - the staff were very friendly, the bedroom was bigger than i thought and very clean. Location wise it is ideal. Not even ten minutes walk from the train station and pretty much across the road for the Bullring shopping centre. We got a taxi to the Mailbox for dinner - £3.50 in a taxi. Would definitely return to this hotel if I was going back to Birmingham. The price was also very reasonable for such a central hotel. Also, Leo on reception was so helpful throughout our stay - thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_TAHILIANI, Manager at ibis Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at ibis Birmingham City Centre.
Kind regards,
Stefanie Stovold
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ibis Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Birmingham City Centre

Address: Ladywell Walk, Birmingham B5 4ST, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Birmingham City Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Birmingham Centre New Street offers 159 contemporary bedrooms with air cooling in the heart of the lively Chinese quarter and adjacent to the Arcadian Centre with its various bars and nightclubs. The Chill Bar at the hotel serves snacks 24 hours per day. 3 min walk from the Birmingham central train station(New Street) and Bullring Shopping Centre. Close to the NIA, ICC and easily accessible by train from NEC. 5 conference rooms for up to 200 delegates. The hotel is easily accessible from the M1, M6 and M42 motorways. Limited Car parking spaces at Hotel and also nearby Public car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your ibis Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham City Centre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis Birmingham City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.