We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“POOR OLD PLACE, plus why pay for parking” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Metro Inns Walsall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Metro Inns Walsall to your Saves list
Metro Inns Walsall
Birmingham Road, Walsall | Walsall, Birmingham WS5 3AB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 136 Hotels in Birmingham
West SussexUK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“POOR OLD PLACE, plus why pay for parking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

It strange when you get a great price for a Monday night and then when you stay you realise why ! Paying for parking is a rip off , we parked car then noticed lots of broken glass on the floor , very reassuring, was my cat going to be safe , why got clean it up. Room sparse with NO spare pillows or towels for two. We asked on leaving for meal out if they could have ready when we returned , yes no problem from the staff. We return , oh have given to somebody else ! Whats room number ? Will drop up in a minute , you can guess whats coming next .................. never arrived . Poor , Great value but just leaves you feeling happier to pay more for less tired and less than special service . Finally loo seat has not even fixed down properly , how could Housekeeping not notice and put on a fix list ? Think I know why , less than bothered to make your stay at least ACCEPTABLE. I could be staying on business for 6 months, not sure I could stay here for another 6 minutes

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Metro Inns Walsall, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear deannewton,

Thank you for your comment.

We are sorry to learn about your disappointing stay.

The points you’ve raised will be used to support any improvements which may be required at this hotel.

Your feedback is important to us, and we would like to investigate the issues. To assist us with this, please can you visit our main Travelodge website and use the new ‘Contact Us’ form, to provide us with full details of your issues and your booking number.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    19
    36
    33
    74
See reviews for
17
48
18
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I have no issue with the Travelodge brand. I've stayed in at least twenty of them this year. It's cheap(ish) and (usually) reliable, but every now and then I get a bad one, and this is a bad one. It's an old, tired building. The rooms are old and tired. The only two plug points were rendered useless (for my laptop charger) by being too close to the table the were situated above for me to plug in. A twin room but towels for one. Heating didn't work, front desk were unhelpful, though that's not surprising at a Travelodge. They're a customer service business but have a cavalier approach to serving their customers beyond offering a very basic service. £3 for parking. It's not much, but most other Travelodges don't charge.

Room 115: Bed was reasonably comfortable, pillow good, bathroom clean, shower hot with good water pressure.

Last weel I stayed in a chain of Dutch hotels and for less than the price of what I paid here, I got something approaching a four star hotel.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel borders a very busy road. Avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Metro Inns Walsall, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear ADInglis,

Thank you for your post.

We are sorry to learn of your disappointment on this occasion.

We would like to fully investigate your concerns. To assist us, please visit our main Travelodge website and use the ‘Contact Us’ form to provide us with full details of your issues and your booking number.

We can then liaise with the Hotel Management team and provide a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leics
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Found the hotel less than inviting curtain in room hanging off the last visitors hair in the bath flat pillows untidy staff generally awful!,, it was a cheap stay won't do it again worth paying more has to be the worst place I have ever stayed

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Metro Inns Walsall, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear weany,

Thank you for your post.

We are sorry to learn of your disappointment on this occasion.

We would like to fully investigate your concerns. To assist us, please visit our main Travelodge website and use the ‘Contact Us’ form to provide us with full details of your issues and your booking number.

We can then liaise with the Hotel Management team and provide a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Tired, scruffy and oudated, this hotel is well in need of a re-fit. The place looks really uncared for. Not actually dirty, but not sparkling either. Reception was unmanned when I got there, and when the Receptionist did appear they were efficient enough, but not exactly welcoming.

The double room had a soft and lumpy bed, only one plastic chair to sit on and an old 14 inch tv. Yes I know it was under £30 for the night, but there are limits. Then being charged £3 to park the car feels an insult.

As others have said, the meals are basic, but actually the Pizza I had was reasonable value and hot. But if you wnat something other than burgers and pizza with bottled or tinned beer, better look elsewhere. I had breakfast at Morrisons just two iles round the ring-road, at least that was good value!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Metro Inns Walsall, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Malcolm N,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry to hear you have cause for complaint, and that your stay did not meet with your expectations on this occasion.

Your valuable comments will be used to support any improvements which may be required at this hotel.

In addition, we would like to fully investigate your concerns. To assist us with this, please can you visit our main Travelodge website and use the new ‘Contact Us’ form to securely provide us with your confirmation number and full details of your complaint.

We will then be able to fully investigate your concerns with the Hotel Management team, and provide a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateshead
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Very poor would not recommened this at all to anyone, rooms are outdated and of poor quality, not very clean. I think that this is ready for a full refurbisment. The car park must be paid for via a meter £3, they have possibly sold the carpark so now you have to pay to stay. The meals are very basic and not enjoyable at all. The bathroom is also outdated and only a bar of soap is provided no shower gel or shampoo.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Metro Inns Walsall, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear GatesheadGeordie

Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry to hear you have cause for complaint, and that your stay did not meet with your expectations on this occasion.

Your valuable comments will be used to support any improvements which may be required at this hotel.

In addition, we would like to fully investigate your concerns. To assist us with this, please can you visit our main Travelodge website and use the new ‘Contact Us’ form to securely provide us with your confirmation number and full details of your complaint.

We will then be able to fully investigate your concerns with the Hotel Management team, and provide a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Typical Travelodge hotel in terms of value staff efficiency and cleanliness. Very noisy pump or motor but it's only on for short periods and didn't cost me any sleep. Watch out for the idiots on bikes who use the car park as a cut through.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Firstly it says there is parking. Well there was a car park, but 80% of it was filled with brand spanking new Travelodge transit vans. So had to drive around for ages for a space. Then you had to pay £3 for the luxury.

1 key for 2 people.

Room (113 or 116, can't remember) was very run down. Wallpaper was coming off the walls and damage to the plasterboard which left a small pile of powder on the bedsheets. 1 pillow per bed which was tracing paper thin. You could feel every single spring in the bed, which was slooping at the sides so you constantly felt like you were going to fall off!

Woken up about 4am by some lady screaming in the hallway, but that's hardly surprising considering everything else! Probably got about 2 hours sleep, mostly down to the mattress.

TV picked up about 3 random channels, no idea which ones.
.
The main thing I look forward to in a hotel is nice deep bath, as you don't need to worry about the hot water. No bath plug, so decided I'd just have a nice shower. Water was only settable to freezing or scolding, and no soap in the hotel. Towel was so tiny and rock hard.

Massive crack in the sink which is very unhygienic.

Breakfast was horrendous. If you're a fan of scrambled eggs that bounce off the wall that you don't mind paying £8, this is the place for you. 1 toaster like you'd find at home for all the guests meant you were queuing to make toast.

Will never use a Travelodge again. Maybe they'd be better off spending money on their hotels, instead of fancy new vans!!

Would very much like to hear back from Travelodge and hear what they have to say about this!

Room Tip: Stay in a Premier Inn!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Travelodge Customer Services at Metro Inns Walsall, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry to hear you have cause for complaint, and that your stay did not meet with your expectations on this occasion.

Your valuable comments will be used to support any improvements which may be required at this hotel.

In addition, we would like to fully investigate your concerns. To assist us with this, please can you visit our main Travelodge website and use the new ‘Contact Us’ form to securely provide us with your confirmation number and full details of your complaint.

We will then be able to fully investigate your concerns with the Hotel Management team, and provide a resolution
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Metro Inns Walsall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Inns Walsall

Address: Birmingham Road, Walsall | Walsall, Birmingham WS5 3AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 136 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget hotel, offering 96 ensuite bedrooms, close links to Walsall, Birmingham, West Bromwich and Wolverhampton. We have a 24 hour check manned check in desk. Check in from 2 pm (12 midday for a £10 surcharge) check out 10 am (12 midday for a £10 surcharge) We also have a brand new spacious underground bar area known as Basement Jacks and a restaurant on the ground floor known as Mumbai Kitchen/ Basement Jacks Bar & Grill. Serving an outstanding Indian Menu alongside our equally delicious classic menu, Steaks, Pies, Burgers and Tikka, Bhuna, Passanda nothing is too much. We look forward to welcoming you to Metro Inns Walsall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Metro Inns Walsall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Birmingham Walsall Hotel Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metro Inns Walsall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.