We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Barr Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Great Barr Hotel to your Saves list
Great Barr Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pear Tree Drive, Newton Road, Birmingham B43 6HS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Over all my experience was good, I was however a little disappointed by the very limited room service, and once a service charge was added a soda can cost you £4.50, excusing the room service it was good value for money, surprisingly quiet despite the very busy maid road and the cleaning staff are lovely!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    45
    29
    22
    27
See reviews for
22
34
11
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Myself, hubby and two children stayed here as we were visiting family for Christmas. Stayed here before. It's a good hotel but we were disappointed by few things. On check in we were not offered breakfast in morning. It may be that it wasn't available being xmas day but the subject was avoided by staff. We found underwear from previous occupant beside the bed which made us question level of cleaning. The bathroom door is in desperate need of oiling. As always however the staff are very friendly. Unless family rooms can provide single beds for the children we won't be staying again - they're too big and old to share a sofa bed.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHotelBirmingham, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thankyou for your review, the rate booked was a specially discounted family rate on a room only basis, breakfast was available at an additional charge which you were advised of.

We have noted your comments about the housekeeping issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Barr, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Went to the Great Barr hotel today for a Christmas meal with the family. We were in a large group of 27 and the staff coped well with our large group. Food was good and the staff were excellent. Having read some of the previous reviews I was a little dubious about this venue. Just goes to show that you sometimes have to give things a chance and judge them for yourself.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHotelBirmingham, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thankyou for your review, it was a pleasure to have you at the Great Barr Hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

With best wishes from all at the Great Barr Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wednesbury
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a friends wedding in August.We had no running water or lights in our room.We were told to phone the manager Helen as she deals with refunds.4 months later and several phonecalls later we are still being told she is waiting for a response from head office and can't give us their number as it's private.This issue is dragging on.Do not stay here if you require any aftercare.The hotel itself is old and dated and we did not enjoy our stay at all

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I stayed over last night with my friend in a family room for a works party. The room was big plenty if room for a group & or family. It was clean & cosy which is what i look for. The Food & entertainment were brilliant would stay again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHotelBirmingham, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thankyou for your lovely comments it was a pleasure to have you at the Great Barr Hotel and we are pleased to hear you had a great time .We look forward to seeing you again soon.

With best wishes from all at the Great Barr Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Was a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews on here but as most people only review to complain we didn't know what to expect. When we arrived the receptionist was very courteous and helpful and check min was smooth. The room was lovely and warm and very clean. The furnishings and furniture were all a little dated but very serviceable. The bathroom was big and clean with lovely fluffy towels.
We had booked into the hotel as we were seeing a Peter Kay Tribute. The evening meal was excellent as was the service and the entertainment was first class.
If I were to have a little moan about anything it would be the noise from the corridor and the room next door. But they were obviously enjoying themselves! and it didn't last too long. We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHotelBirmingham, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thankyou for your review, it was a pleasure to have you at the Great Barr Hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

With best wishes from all at the Great Barr Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

After staying here for a relative's wedding we will never be returning Poor service. The worse restaurants manager I have ever met and the proudest receptionist. I just feel for my relatives. I even e mailed a complaint which then received no acknowledgment

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHotelBirmingham, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
We have noted the comments in your review. We very much regret that your expectations were not met on this occasion.

From all at the Great Barr Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Barr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Barr Hotel

Address: Pear Tree Drive, Newton Road, Birmingham B43 6HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Barr Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Great Barr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Barr Birmingham
Hotel Great Barr

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Barr Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.