We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic night!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Barr Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Great Barr Hotel to your Saves list
Great Barr Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pear Tree Drive, Newton Road, Birmingham B43 6HS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A fantastic night!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

A group of 16 of us stayed here for my 'sten' do and we had a fantastic night. It was an Abba tribute evening and was organised by my 'best woman'. The rooms were modern, very clean and the bathrooms really spacious and new. We all received a bottle of champagne in our rooms to set the evening off :-)). We were allowed to dress our table up to reflect the evening and all the staff were really helpful and friendly. The food was really decent and choice was great.
We all dressed in 'abba/70s' outfits which went own brilliantly and I cannot stress enough how good the tribute band were!!!
Next morning we had a very acceptable breakfast to send us on our way.
All in all in was just a fantastic nights entertainment and for £64.50 each the value was exceptional.
I have stayed in some very expensive and luxurious hotels in my time and not enjoyed myself as much so would I stay here again?? Definitely. Well done Great Barr Hotel on providing a good priced evening of entertainment

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHotelBirmingham, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thankyou for your lovely comments it was a pleasure to have you at the Great Barr Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

With best wishes from all at the Great Barr Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    45
    29
    22
    27
See reviews for
22
34
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My story starts at the booking stage. We were attending a wedding & accidentally booked this hotel, instead of the GB Holiday Inn. The hotel refused to allow us to cancel, even though we phoned 2 minutes after making the booking, which I thought was grossly desperate of them! Anyway, we tried to speak to the Manager, who refused to come on the phone so we ended up going so as no to loose our money! On Arrival we were greeted with: "You are the people that complained!", to which I said yes! The hotel seemed deserted, apart from the various bucket dotted around the reception, collecting water from the leaky roof. Apparently we one of 5 guests of their capacity of 80 & we were intentionally put in the smallest double room, in the entire hotel - we were told this by the night porter, who showed us some other rooms, which had not been made up!
,

Room Tip: Think twice about booking here! There are double rooms that feel like double, & there are single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHotelBirmingham, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
The rate booked was a discounted pre pay rate, terms and conditions are clearly stated that it is a non refundable non transferable price plan. If a mistake was made whilst booking it is not up to the hotel to amend its policy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed here on business recently and was charged £75/night. The website makes it look much nicer than it is.
The single room was disappointing, extremely basic and old; reminded myself of days at university in some grotty halls. The shower hardly worked also.
Room service, the burger was extremely cheap & nasty and to be charged over £10 was ridiculous especially for a hotel 25mins outside of the centre.
Im not sure how you can justify £75 night, there are much better b&b`s around for that price range. The breakfast was also disappointing, with not much fruit choice even though the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHotelBirmingham, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thankyou for your comments, we are dissapointed that you found your stay with us not enjoyable the room that you had booked was our standard single room. However, we have higher grades of room available such as Club Rooms but during the peak exhibition periods our room rates do vary as dictated by the demand. Your comments about the beefburger have been noted and we have also made our supplier aware of this.

Assuring you of our best attention
Kind Regards
Great Barr Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Myself, husband and two children (10 and 7) stayed here on a return to our home town for a family visit. We booked on a late deal basis so it was good value for money. Close to the M6 and in a very pretty part of West Brom/Great Barr. Husband had been a night porter here several years ago and my brother-in-law also worked here years before that. The reception staff were friendly (tho a little unprofessional later in the evening when wedding/70th bday party guests were milling around waiting for taxis). The bar area was very welcoming and cosy. The bedroom was large and accommodated our family of 4 easily. The bathroom was large. A few hooks on doors would be useful to hang up coats. We didn't eat at the hotel and this is where the disappointment comes in. Upon checking in we were advised of the cost of breakfast - £12.95! This is far too expensive ... especially when pub next door offers full English for £4! We would have liked to have had a bar snack on Sunday early evening but we were advised there were no kitchen staff so instead we spent our money in shop round the corner. Think the hotel could perhaps charge less for brekky or offer "kids eat free" incentives and, if the kitchen is unstaffed, let guests know this in advance please! As we were only 1 of 2 guests in the whole hotel, with only 1 guest expected on bank holiday Monday, I can see why the kitchen staff were having a break but communication is the key. We will return and stay again!

Room Tip: Family room may be 2x double beds which may not be suitable for older children unwilling to sleep t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHotelBirmingham, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thankyou for your lovely comments it was a pleasure to have you at the Great Barr Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

With best wishes from all at the Great Barr Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed here on our Hen Weekend as they had an Abba tribute band on, with a 3 course meal. I've seen other reviews saying to avoid the hen parties, but we are well behaved hens, so weren't running around the hotel at all hours! Our room was very nicely decorated, with plenty of room although they all seem to be double beds- with our group of 17 some shared the beds, some used the sofa beds (not as comfy!). The bathroom was very modern. The evening entertainment was good- we threw ourselves into it by all dressing up, which made us enjoy it more I feel. The food was good, and the staff served you the veg as well as the main, but I think it'd be better to leave that on the table for you to serve yourself, plus it would save them time! Oddly enough, you went and got your own dessert from a table on the dance floor, which was ok if you were first up, but not if you were last and some of the stuff had gone! I don't have a big breakfast but there seemed enough to choose from, and what I had was nice. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHotelBirmingham, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thankyou for your lovely comments it was a pleasure to have you at the Great Barr Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

With best wishes from all at the Great Barr Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Room 1
There was no heating on in the room. The light did not work in the bathroom. When a maintenance representative turned on the radiator on it sprung a slow leak. The radiator had not been cleaned for some years the dust was exceptionally thick between the blades of the radiator. The carpet had not been vacuumed for some, possibly months.

Room 2
There was no heating on in the room. Again, the radiator had not been cleaned for some years the dust was exceptionally thick between the blades of the radiator. The carpet had not been vacuumed for some, possibly months.

Room 3
This room was heated, the carpet was a little cleaner, but the radiator was still as dirty as the others. I have to add that there was an unpleasant smell of stale cigarette smoke in the corridors which may be an issue for non-smokers.

While I do not expect 5 star luxury, I don’t think it unreasonable to ask for CLEAN and WARM. I am disappointed with the description ‘92 Elegant Bedrooms’ along with wonderful photographs, which does not reflect the reality. This is not a hotel I would visit again.

Room Tip: Check the radiators for dust
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a couple of days and found it to be a bit shabby but comfortable and clean. The bistro menu is varied and the food is good. A downside is guests smoking in rooms which permeates the corridors and into rooms during the evening and early morning. An upside is the staff who are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBHotelBirmingham, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thankyou for your comments it was a pleasure to have you at the Great Barr Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

With best wishes from all at the Great Barr Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Barr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Barr Hotel

Address: Pear Tree Drive, Newton Road, Birmingham B43 6HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Barr Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Great Barr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Barr Birmingham
Hotel Great Barr

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Barr Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.