We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Barr Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Great Barr Hotel to your Saves list
Great Barr Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pear Tree Drive, Newton Road, Birmingham B43 6HS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 136 Hotels in Birmingham
Paphos
1 review
“Family Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This was our second stay at the Great Barr Hotel and we chose it because it is in close proximity to family that we wished to visit and represents very good value for money. The room we stayed in actually exceded the one we stayed in during our first visit and was more than adequate for our four day stay. We ate breakfasts which were very appetising with something to suit all tastes. All the staff were efficient and friendly and all in all the hotel makes a good base when you want somewhere to stay when in North Birmingham.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments, it was a pleasure to have you at The Great Barr Hotel.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

With best wishes from all at The Great Barr Hotel


Helen Wilson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    46
    31
    22
    29
See reviews for
23
34
11
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We reserved 2 rooms on a Friday night a few weeks ago. Both rooms smelled musty and in a shabby, dirty state. As soon as we entered the room, 2 spiders on the ceiling caught our eyes. As we walked towards the window (clearly left open to air the musty smell of the room), we saw 2 more spiders fixed to the curtain, they weren't moving and looked as though they had taken root! When we went to the other room reserved for a relative, we found they had trapped 1 spider under a teacup to prevent it travelling further on the bed!

We were made to pay the full amount of both rooms on arrival, before we had even seen the rooms. The porter must have known what was in store for us! Dirty hotel, customer service non-existent! Don't go there! Saw a lady the next day who had spent the same night there as us, much to our surprise, she had the same experience!

No surprises to hear that we won't be returning to this dirty, musty smelling hotel!

Room Tip: The 100 rooms ar down a smelly corridor near the exit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
As previously advised when you contacted us, rooms cannot be protected from spiders or any insects as the bedroom wing overlooks the garden. All our bedrooms are checked daily by the Head Housekeeper.
You had failed to mention that once you had made a complaint, we accommodated you with another bedroom which you accepted. We have also offered you a refund which you have failed to reply to. I believe the reason you were asked to pay for the rooms on check-in was due to the fact that you did not have a credit card for pre-authorisation and this is a standard procedure in the industry. In view of the above, your comments are misleading and grossly unfair.

Helen Wilson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed here whilst on a two day conference and was very pleased we had picked this hotel.All facilities excelent.The rooms tidy and adequate and the staff were brilliant.We had a great conference and i will recommend this hotel to my friends.The breakfast was delicious and they kept us in tea and biscuits all day.Brilliant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed here when visiting the NEC which was 20mins or so away.
Location was nice, tucked away with a Harvester resturant 10mins down the road.

Good bits!
Room was clean, nicely presented.
Reception was lovely.
Plenty of free parking.
Quiet location.

Bad bits..
When heating came on at 5AM!! - VERY VERY noisy!! Constant tapping, we stayed in 318
Told breakfast was at 7am, BF likes cooked none of this cereal rubbish so to be told the chef didnt start till 8am was abit strange... double check and yes 8am cooked breaky would be served. wasnt a major issue but if we were stuck for time BF would have kicked off!
Also toilet made strange banging noises every now and again!

Other than that... it was ok. i paid £51 through Olohotels B&B per night. I wouldnt have paid much more.

Room Tip: Go completely opposite to room 318!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex uk
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for two nights whilst taking in a football match. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the bathroom had a bath and shower which pleased my partner as he enjoys a good soak.The young girl on reception could not have been more helpful, she really went out of her way for us. The staff in the bar were also very friendly and helpful as was the lady who served breakfast. The food was very good and also reasonably priced. The bar is very cosy with some leather couches and an open fire. We only paid £18.50 each per night to include a full english breakfast, what fantastic value. We would not hesitate to stay here again and would certainly reccommend it.
There is a very nice carvery pub/restaurant just around the corner which is also excellent value, it is called The Malt Shovel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Some of the rooms are attractive boutique style, very nicely furnished, beds are extremely comfortable. Breakfast is very good, other food moderately so, mostly owing to the fact it was very cool by the time it reached table, however, desserts are delicious.The hotel is set back from the road so there is no close traffic noise. Staff are very friendly and helpful.
We needed to change our room owing to the fact that for some reason we were allocated a room in the middle of a corridor where other rooms were being used by people getting ready to attend a Tribute Night. We considered it best to change before they came back to their rooms following the event in the early hours.

Room Tip: Make sure that there are no guests in rooms close-by attending a "Tribute Night" and that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I attended a 2 day conference at the Great Barr Hotel. Good selection of food at both breakfast, lunch and dinner. Coffee and biscuits served throughout the day. The reception areas and conferene rooms were of a good standard but the rooms were not. They were small and of a 'student' quality!! Very basic, single beds, small bathroom which had a sliding door and wasn't overly clean. It had a load extractor fan so that when you turned the light on it sounded as if the whole room was going to explode!

Room Tip: I think the family rooms were of a better standard than the single rooms. It would be worth paying m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Barr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Barr Hotel

Address: Pear Tree Drive, Newton Road, Birmingham B43 6HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 136 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Barr Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Great Barr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Barr Birmingham
Hotel Great Barr

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Barr Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.