We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot go wrong for the price! Best location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Save Saved
You added Britannia Hotel Birmingham to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Birmingham
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   New Street, Birmingham B2 4RX, England (Ladywood)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 137 hotels in Birmingham
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
“Cannot go wrong for the price! Best location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I have stayed here twice as the location is great for everything in Birmingham and there are smoking rooms!
It is a bit tired but also great value and you get tea, toiletries etc and the rooms are always clean. I like the kidney shaped furniture. The lift is sometimes out of order but not really a problem unless you are disabled.
It is near everything, easy to find almost by the bullring by Primark. I usually eat in other places but the restaurant is good value and they have deals. Highly reccomend this place, as I have stayed in posher, dearer places in Brum and been very disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your positive comments which will be shared with the rest of the Staff.

I am so pleased that you took the opportunity to sample first hand the perfect location, exceptional value for money and high level of customer service we at Britannia Hotel Birmingham offer, and were not put off by some of the negative reviews posted here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    194
    287
    238
    446
See reviews for
90
276
166
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
staffordshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

we stayed one night in this hotel it was absolutely filthy
the mattress was a disgrace we went down for breakfast and there were mice running around in the restaraunt, it might be cheap but you can get better give this hotel a wide berth.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies that the hotel did not meet your expectations.

If you had made your dis satisfaction known to the hotel during your stay, we would have gladly assisted you in any way to ensure your stay was a much more comfortable and enjoyable one.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Having only paid £29.00 i can forgive the room i had looking a bit tired
The room was clean enough but the carpet was worn.
The double bed turned out to be two singles pushed together which left a gap in the middle.

What i cant forgive is the fact that i was woken very early by the heating/plumbing system in the room at just before 8am.
It sounded like someone was in the actual room banging the pipes with a hammer. This continued for over 3 minutes. Then just i had got back to sleep it did it again.

I would have complained at the hotel but having waited 15 minutes in reception and found nobody there i had to go to my appointment.

You can accept some noise in a hotel like traffic or doors slamming but to be awoken by such a loud noise from the plumbing is totally not on.

The tv was rather old as well with the wiring streched from the wall? See photo

The location is fantastic for the centre of Birmingham though but there is no vehicle access to the hotel.

Car parking is available nearby and the hotel has a deal with a couple of them to give 24 hours parking for £9.95

I however checked parkopedia and found the multi story one in Pershore Street and paid £3.00 to park for 24 Hours. Be advised that this car park has no lifts so its stairs only.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I have received a copy of your feedback via email and have responded to your directly in this way.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Ideal location; central, few minutes from New Street Station and thereby also from airport, yet reasonably quiet (pedestrian zone). Slightly hard to find though.
Competitive price (but charge for credit card).
Layout of the hotel (lobby - bar - restaurant) is lacking a bit of character and slightly confusing, not helped by mirrors around the staircase.

Room Tip: Fan noise in the backyard - front may be better at night?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am so pleased that you took the opportunity to sample first hand the perfect location, and exceptional value for money we at Britannia Hotel Birmingham offer, and were not put off by some of the negative reviews posted here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

It was advertised as being close to New Street station but i found it difficult to find, no signage at all and i was lucky enough to find a friendly policeman who pointed the way. On first impression the reception area was nice and the reception staff were friendly but when i got to my room i was horrified with it. The bathroom was dirty with a brown tide mark around the bath and soap scum on the sink. The room was very badly set out and i had to move the second bed to get to the window to close it cause it was so noisy outside, i also had to unplug the lamp in order to plug in my phone charger cause the only free plug was so old fashioned the plug would not fit. The breakfast in the morning was ok, very well set out with a slighly limited choice of hot food, cereals and fruits and the staff were very friendly. I would not recomend this hotel to anyone however if they were to renovate the rooms and put in place a better cleaning routine it does have the potential to be a nice hotel as the staff i did meet were friendly and helpful. It advertises wedding packages at the front door but it is definetly not a hotel i would see as being a perfect wedding venue.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

As with most city centres we are unfamiliar with, certain places are hard to find, I assure you that the Hotel is located at the most 2 minutes walk away from New St Station.

Your comments about the Hotel will be passed to the relevant Department Managers for investigation, and improvements will be implemented where deemed necessary.

We thank you for your kind comments with regards to the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Parking for this hotel is impossible, with the nearest NCP car park a good walk away, Check in ok the reception area ok but hiding horrors beyond the lift doors.
The room? what can i say? YUCK, dirty, dark, broken items not working and run down. I did laugh it even had an old corby trouser press but fitting for the room it was broken, one leg broken off. For some reason the corridoor doors have been painted black. For what was once a grand looking hotel, quite dissapponting to see it so run down.
But for the cost what do you expect. the only good point, you couldn't get nearer to a Primark store if you tried

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am sorry that the Hotel failed to meet your standards at this time.

The Hotel does not have car parking and does not advertise that it does, I can assure you that the nearest NCP car park is at the most 5 minutes walk away.

Your comments will be passed to the relevant Department Managers for investigation, and improvements will be implemented where deemed necessary.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Entrance didn't impress - down a short alleyway off the main shopping street. Then heavy revolving door and steps didn't help if had luggage.

As mentioned elsewhere £2 extra charge to pay by card. What a rip off. Who carries that ammount of cash if staying a few days.

Still, unlike other reviews, my room was spotless. Decent size. A little strange thing with lamps. It had quite a few dedicated lamp sockets on the wall with the strange round pinned plugs, but the actual lamps had standard plugs, and so used up the normal sockets. Had to unplug a light to charge my phone!

Worst bit - my room fronted the hotel, on to the main shopping street. Problen here - like most cities, they clean the main shopping areas at night. Still not a problem - they were quiet - but it is pedestrianised with access by automatic bollards that sink and rise. But when they do this they give a LOUD audible warning "bollards rising, bollards rising, beep, beep!" At 3am or 4am in the morning this is not funny any more.

Won't be staying here again - but not because of the hotel, because I got no sleep.

Room Tip: Away from looking over main shopping street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am sorry that certain aspects of the Hotel failed to meet your standards at this time.

Your comments will be passed to the relevant Department Managers for investigation, and improvements will be implemented where deemed necessary.

The noise from the bollards has been passed onto the Council Environmental Health, who have assured me they will be addressing the problem shortly.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Britannia Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Address: New Street, Birmingham B2 4RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 137 hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Britannia Hotel Birmingham 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Britannia Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birmingham Britannia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Hotel Birmingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.