We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great Christmas Break at this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Britannia Hotel Birmingham to your Saves list
Britannia Hotel Birmingham
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   New Street, Birmingham B2 4RX, England (Ladywood)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Another great Christmas Break at this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Just got back from another great Christmas Break at Britannia Birmingham - and we're off for our New Year stay in a few days too. They are actually promoting a last minute offer of 3 nights DBB with entertainment for just £99 per person.

Let me explain a few things for those thinking of using this hotel.....

The TVs are old but the picture is fine for the 10 or so channels available. If you can't manage without 50+ channels for a few days then you should probably stay at home.

The decor in the rooms and corridors is a bit old fashioned and the carpet on some of the stairs is a little worn BUT our room was clean and the towels/linen were sparkly clean.

The food was served Buffet Style - if you are scared that you can't control the serving spoon and might over-indulge then you should of course blame the hotel and complain about the quality blah blah blah. IF you like the option to leave things off your plate which you don't like but pile your plate full of your prefered items then again it gets a huge tick.

We were sat on long tables for our meals and made some great new friends whilst there. Some complained about this seating arrangement but didn't bother to ask if they could have one of the smaller tables available.

The restaurant staff will go out of their way to help you IF YOU ASK THEM. They are not mind-readers and they won't bite just because they may come from a different Country to you.

This hotel is located on New Street; right in the middle of Birminghams shopping centre and 2 minutes (mostly covered) walk from New Street Railway Station - please don't complain that car parking is difficult; just use your brain cells before you plan your journey.

Those who complained over Christmas probably chose not to thank the hotel for the unexpected free bottles (plural not singular) of wine they received at Christmas - maybe their principles stopped them from accepting these free gifts (??). They probably didn't appreciate the free boxes of chocolates they received on Christmas Day either.

Ash and his team in the restaurant worked flat out all over Christmas to ensure everyone had an enjoyable stay. A HUGE thank you to them all.

If you want 5* luxury then please go and pay £150/night to receive it and let those of us wanting a great value break enjoy our time without your moaning and whinging in the background.

Well Done Britannia Birmingham.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am so pleased that you took the opportunity to sample first hand the perfect location and exceptional value for money we at Britannia Hotel Birmingham offer and not put off by some off the negative reviews posted here.

Your comments will be shared with the rest of the Staff, who will be equally delighted as it is always nice to feel appreciated, especially those of us who were working over the Christmas period.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    197
    320
    267
    542
See reviews for
110
308
180
359
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011 via mobile

Was booked for a Xmas break at this hotel and all I can say is I am still in shock this hotel although central needs staff with hospitality skills and a refurb the Britannia is dirty tired and resembles more of a half way house than hotel it's no good management stating apols at the end of each negative comment they seriously should knock it down for the following reason: rooms were unkept and the beds are old tv is at least 30-20 years old bathroom had damp and there was a big hole in the door front of desk staff Asian lad needs further education on hospitality and communicating effectively as he is lacking crucial basic skills of customer service so glad I did not consume the food as spoke to lady who had food poisoning the previous night. I could go but seriously go to the hyatt, copthorne, or holiday in as this place is SHOCKING !!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am sorry that the Hotel failed to meet your standards at this time and wish that you had brought this to our attention during your stay as it would have given us the opportunity to address your concerns first hand.

All Staff at Britannia Birmingham are trained to a very high level of customer service, so I disagree with your comments regarding them, and the member of staff you point out in a bad light, is personally mentioned several times in a favourable way on this site.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

yet another great stay in britannia at a bargain price of under £20 for two, the staff as always very friendly and helpful, check in easy and quick room was ready on arrival comfortable clean and warm . The german christmas market was magical and added a great christmas atmosphere to our stay . Thanks again Britannia will see you again next year.

Room Tip: request a quiet room always at the back of the hotel not much view but a great nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am pleased to see that you were able to take advantage of one of our many great offers which are certainly exceptional value for money for a perfectly located city centre hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011 via mobile

Travel inn is 5* in comparison. I cannot believe some people can pay up to £89 per night?!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am sorry that the Hotel failed to meet your standards at this time and wish that you had brought this to our attention during your stay as it would have given us the opportunity to address your concerns first hand, and allowed you to leave the Hotel with a more favourable opinion.

You make no mention of why you itched all night, so I am unable to comment on this, also as with all Hotels, room rates do fluctuate depending on availability.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

We saw the christmas market advertised so looked for a hotel and as we have stayed with the Britannia group before we did not take any notice of some reviews and booked. As with all these hotels they are clean and tidy but a little tired. We had a little trouble in fi car park and after asking at check in was directed stright to it. The room looked out over the town and the market so it was ideled placed for us , there is no double glazing but the noise was not too loud. The wall were a little thin so you could hear people shouting in the next room. The only thing we did not like was the evening meal . The food was not to the standard of other hotels in the groupe very limited choice. I had fish and chips there was only sprouts and carrots i did not want them with my fish. The staff did not come to check if all was ok or if we wanted a drink, i had to leave my meal go down to the bar to get drinks.
This did not spoil my stay but on the second day we went out for dinner.
Overall this hotle is good value for money and we would go again.

Room Tip: They do smoking and non smoking if you want a non smoking call booking team they will try to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am so pleased that you took the opportunity to sample first hand the perfect location and exceptional value for money we at Britannia Hotel Birmingham offer and did not let some of the negative reviews posted here put you off.

Your comments will be passed on to the Kitchen and Restaurant, and improvements will be implemented immediately, I shall also look into the negative comments you have pointed out as this is not our normal practice.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Booked a room despite reading some negative reviews and glad we did-we stayed for a night to visit christmas market and were very pleased with the service. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable and the price was excellent. Will definately use this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am so pleased that you took the opportunity to sample first hand the perfect location and exceptional value for money we at Britannia Hotel Birmingham offer and did not let some of the negative reviews posted here put you off.

Your comments will be passed on to the rest of the Staff, who will be equally delighted.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Me and my two daughters stayed for one night on a very busy Saturday....we were early so asked to leave our bags there until we could check in..the staff were really friendly and although the room was full where bags were kept they put them in another place....When we did check in it was again friendly and efficient. Our room was on the third floor with three single beds..it was clean and comfortable..a little old fashioned but that suits the character of the hotel. The breakfast was really lovely and plenty to choose from. The location is ideal as it is central and close to new street station..we would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am so pleased that you took the opportunity to sample first hand the perfect location and exceptional value for money we at Britannia Hotel Birmingham offer.

Your comments will be shared with the rest of the Staff, who will be equally delighted.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Britannia Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Address: New Street, Birmingham B2 4RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Britannia Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birmingham Britannia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Hotel Birmingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.