We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal city centre base” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Birmingham Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Birmingham Centre to your Saves list
Novotel Birmingham Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Broad Street, Birmingham B1 2HT, England (Ladywood)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
caerphilly
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Ideal city centre base”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed in this hotel only for one night.The check-in was smooth enough with friendly staff.
The room was clean and well appointed.
The beds were comfortable with crisp white bedding.
I had breakfast included in the price I paid and there is a varied choice.
The hotel is slap bang in the middle of Broad street where there are a lot of pubs/clubs/restaurants and we encountered some noise from police sirens but nothing too major.
The hotel is just a 10 min walk from New street station.
To sum this hotel up it offers good value for money as long as it is booked at a fair price as I have stayed in other Novotel hotels and this hotel does not quite come up to their standard but I did pay £60.00 per night less to stay in this hotel but I would definately stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel if you are a light sleeper!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
So glad you had an enjoyable time in Birmingham, whilst staying at the Novotel! We very much appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards, Richard Marsh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    359
    140
    36
    24
See reviews for
111
262
62
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Having stayed here so many times thought it was time to write a review. The location is second to none for theNIA and broad street. Parking is limited but never had a time we couldn't use the hotels underground car park. Rooms are average put for £49 a night (always available on late rooms) it's a bargain . Breakfast is really nice but an expensive add on. It really does depend what staff are on as had really nice yet very rude staff.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Novotel Birmingham Centre. Please feel free to let us know immediately if you have any concerns during your stay in the future. For your information, the best rates available (and yes that includes our £49 promotional rate) are available if booked, in advance, direct with the hotel. Always subject to availabiity of course. We look forward to seeing you again soon..........
Kind regards, Richard Marsh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed just for one overnight and found it perfectly adequate.
Reasonable price, clean, centrally located.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
We had a 'superior' room but it wasn't particularly grand so i'm not sure what the ordinary rooms are like!
Good breakfast.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Birmingham Centre and I have made note of your comments. We look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards, Richard Marsh, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

we stayed at the novotel for one night as we had a concert to go too and it was my partners fiftyth birthday. The hotel and room was lovely and clean and very weloming, the staff were very friendly and helpful and went out of there way to try and fix the coffee machine that wouldn't work! we had sachet coffee brought to us instead and the car parking fee was free as a good will gesture because of this. We will definatly stay again.

Room Tip: We up-graded our room and glad we did
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit. It is really pleasing to hear that we responded to your needs in a positive way! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel Birmingham Centre, in the future.
Kind regards, Richard Marsh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Enjoyed our stay very much when we went to see John Bishop on at the NIA. The hotel is very convenient for the NIA and central Brum, and the restaurants and bars at Brindley Place. Only downside was one side of the bed was very close to the wall, about a foot, so not easy to access. It wasn't a small room, just needed reorganising.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We at the Novotel Birmingham Centre very much appreciate all your thoughts. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and have noted all your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards, Richard Marsh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is an attractive modern hotel right in the centre of Birmingham. If first impressions are important then receptionists are key; no specific complaint here but a smile would have been good and I do find it very irritating, especially as I am a gold card customer, to have to fill in my name and address on the registration form. There was only one receptionist on duty and I was conscious of a queue that formed whilst I went through the process.

It is an attractive downstairs foyer with an open plan bar, restaurant and seating area.

The rooms are laid out in the traditional rectangle but mine was very clean and bright and felt almost new but I suspect it had benefited from a refurbishment. There was very little noise from the neighbouring rooms and I got three good nights sleep.

It is irritating when Wi-Fi is not available for free. I don't know why some hotels expect us to pay for Wi-Fi and they always choose a series of plans that are almost precisely what you don't want; too short or 24-hour continuous which you will never make full use of or something that you can call down as you need but here at the Novotel for 15 hours I would have had to pay more than I do at home for a month. In the end I linked my iPad to my iPhone for free; the hotel got nothing but I was irritated! Why do it?

Breakfast in the dining room was fine (and included in the room rate) but for a French hotel I would have preferred to have French bread rather than rather stodgy British baguettes. I had dinner in the restaurant a couple of times from a pretty short menu and surprisingly on both occasions items were not available but what was served was attractively prepared and pretty good value for a town centre location.

I came in and out several times during a three-day stay and noted that the main entrance to the hotel was through some automatic doors that seemed cramped and narrow and definitely not welcoming with a sense of being some form of security feature. If I owned the hotel it would be one of the first things I would change to make the whole place more open and friendly.

For a mid-range hotel I was well satisfied and subject to the comments that I've made would recommend it to anybody who has business in Birmingham.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay. Please rest assured that I have taken note of your comments and the issues you have mentioned, will be addressed with my team and our product development department. I hope we can welcome you back to the Novotel Birmingham Centre very soon?
Kind regards, Richard Marsh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Me and my wife stayed there for are 5th wedding anniversary and my birthday. We found the stay at the hotel fantastic the staff were very friendly and polite, the breakfast was good but not as much choice as i thought there would be. The room we stayed in was clean and a good size. all in all a hotel i would recommend every time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBirminghamGM, General Manager at Novotel Birmingham Centre, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, here at the Novotel and we’ve taken note of your comments. I hope we will see you again soon?
Kind regards, Richard Marsh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Birmingham Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Birmingham Centre

Address: 70 Broad Street, Birmingham B1 2HT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#22 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#38 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Birmingham Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Birmingham Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel right in the centre of Birmingham. We are the first choice for a business trip or a holiday. For meetings, conferences and banquets, Meeting@Novotel offers a professional service to ensure your event runs smoothly and successfully. Our new Elements approach to dining and our Elements restaurant and bar offer the ultimate in choice. A short walk for the international Convention Centre, National indoor Arena and Brindley Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Birmingham Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Birmingham Centre Hotel Birmingham
Accor Birmingham Centre
Birmingham Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Birmingham Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.