We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Base” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Birmingham South - Hall Green

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Birmingham South - Hall Green to your Saves list
Premier Inn Birmingham South - Hall Green
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stratford Road | Hall Green, Birmingham B28 9ES, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 136 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
zommerzet
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Budget Base”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Good, clean, accomodation at sensible price.
If faced with their 'regular' (full) nightly tariff I'd probably check-out ordinary hotels or B@B's but this accomodation, on edge of city, was perfect for what we needed.
Neighbouring restaurant (Toby Inn) not upto same standard.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking car park.... can make sure nobody up to mischief. (probably just my own vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert E, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham South - Hall Green, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, regarding your recent stay here at Hall Green Premier Inn.
Great to here you enjoyed the accommodation & accommodation.
I will pass on your comments to the Toby Inn manageress.
Hope to see you again in any future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    84
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
95
65
13
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is the third Premier Inn I have stayed in and again it did not dissapoint, giving a high rate of service and comfort for a reasonable price. Most staff we came into contact were pleasant and polite,I did not have the pleasure of tasteing their food but I was told their breakfasts especialy their £8.50 all you can eat meal was highly recomended. You can only get breakfasts, if you want any other meal you need to go to the Toby Inn next door.

Room Tip: Try to get a second floor room as the ceilings must be paper thin and you can here nearly every move...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert E, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham South - Hall Green, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback about your stay with us here at the Hall Green Premier Inn. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. It is important to us at Premier Inn to make all our guests feel welcome and our team are glad they were able to make this happen.
Hope to see you again in any future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We always stay at this hotel when visiting Birmingham LG Arena, NEC and the NIA. So last week when we went to see Michael McIntyre at the NIA we booked to stay here again.
The breakfasts are great, so is the location, and the rooms are good value for money.
We always visit the Chinese across the road for a meal.
A taxi was between £10 and £12 to get to the NIA which was so much easier than trying to drive there, park and then drive back again, and reception were very helpful phoned them for us and gave us their number so we could get a taxi back again.
Will stay here again for our next visit to any of the Birmingham arenas.

Room Tip: They have a designated smoking area now, but it's still at the front of the hotel so try and boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert E, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham South - Hall Green, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, regarding the great breakfast offering, the location and the new refurbed rooms,here at Hall Green Premier Inn
Hope to see you again in any future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I didnt expect much of this very under priced what i though 'cheap n cheerful' hotel but was very pleasantly surprised. The staff were very nice, helpful and enjoyed the crack, the rooms were very clean, comfortable, well appointed and quiet and the breakfast was superb. All this and it came nowhere near to breaking the bank. Great find, i'll definately try them first next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert E, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham South - Hall Green, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you  for your kind feedback about your stay with us here at the Hall Green Premier Inn. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. It is important to us at Premier Inn to make all our guests feel welcome and our team are glad they were able to make this happen.
Hope to see you again in any future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kootenays, BC, Canada
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We had just left the "hotel from hell" (Travelodge) and pointed our GPS to somewhere/anywhere else. We were - thankfully - pointed to this Premier Inn. We didn't have a reservation, and the hotel was quite busy, but the lovely lady at the front desk was extremely sympathetic to our late arrival & desperate need for 2 rooms. She found us 2 rooms as close together as possible. We were very pleased with the accommodations - clean, comfortable, quiet. I admit, I don't expect large, spacious rooms when I'm travelling in the UK (that seems to be a North American thing!), but both rooms were a good size with large comfortable beds & couches. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat! Thanks, Marie! ;-)

PS - The only reason I didn't give this hotel 5 stars is because the restaurant was out of commission that night & we were starving!

Room Tip: Keep in mind there isn't an elevator (or lift, as they say in the UK!). If there are any mobili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert E, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham South - Hall Green, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, regarding your stay & the staff here at Hall Green Premier Inn
I will pass on your thanks to Marie.
Hope to see you again in any future visits.

The Toby carvery opposite us,did experience problems that night & were out of commission.
Sorry they were unable to feed you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed before travelling from Birmingham Airport. We had a room with our 2 boys aged 14 and 11 and it was very cramped and hot and one of the kids beds was so uncomfortable that my Son had to sleep on his quilt from extra padding which meant they had to share the other quilt diagonally over the two beds.
It is not the closest hotel to the airport but we knew this before booking and chose it as it was best value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert E, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham South - Hall Green, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I really appreciate your feedback as this enables helps us to improve standards and  provide guests with the best possible service and a comfortable stay. After reading your comments please accept my apologises for hot, cramped room and lumpy bed. Please feel free to phone me if you would like to discuss the matter further.
Please be assured that I take all feedback seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Attended a wedding inSouth B'ham recently and stayed in the Premier Inn - Hall Green as a family of four (2 kids under 12). Good location with easy access to M42, Stratford Road etc. Room 'cramped' with double bed, two single bed and four suitcases. Huge, modern flatscreen television which was great for watching olympics and easy to operate. Air con available in room, (preset) and we didnt need to alter it. Just wish the room had been a larger sized 'family' room as we stayed a number of nights. We would have had more space. We def would return for convenience and location as all our relations live within 5 mins of the hotel! The room was great value for what we paid. There is no real open seating area in the foyer and so you are confined to your room or the breakfast tables.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert E, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham South - Hall Green, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you  for your kind feedback about your stay with us here at the Hall Green Premier Inn. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. It is important to us at Premier Inn to make all our guests feel welcome, sorry you felt the room was cramped.
Hope to see you again in any future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham South - Hall Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham South - Hall Green

Address: Stratford Road | Hall Green, Birmingham B28 9ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#21 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham South - Hall Green 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn - Birmingham South (Hall Green) is ideally located just off the M42 Junction 4/5, 6 miles from the city centre and 8 miles from the NEC and Birmingham Airport. We have 52 recently refurbished en-suite bedrooms with shower units only. Complimentary tea and coffee making facilities in all rooms. Flat screen TVs with freeview in all rooms. We offer either an "all you can eat" premier breakfast or a continental for the lighter option. We are situated adjacent to a Toby Carvery offering our guests evening meals.The reception is manned 24 hours,so check in after 2pm at your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Premier Inn and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham South - Hall Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Birmingham South - Hall Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.