We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) to your Saves list
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 - 6 Waterloo St, Birmingham B2 5PG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book at premierinn.com
Ranked #6 of 136 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Clean and good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here recently for a night to attend a wedding in the city centre. It's well placed and very clean. Rooms are large and despite being in the city centre it is good value for money. Staff were helpful and attentive. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street), responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hi Planet_Paul,

Thanks soo much for your review we really welcome some wonderful feedback.
We are glad you had such a great time and enjoyed staying in our rooms.
Hope to see you back very soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    366
    71
    20
    16
See reviews for
236
357
81
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Lakes, Cumbria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed in Room 216, disabled room. Very large room, facing the Cathedral. Three sets of windows, very light and airy. Close to the lift.
Breakfast and dinner very well organised and enjoyable.

Staff are very helpful and welcoming. Sheila and Ebony were very attentive. Made you feel very welcome.
Close to train station and Bullring.

Will stay again. Thanks for a great stay. :-)

Room Tip: Room 216 disabled room, with an adjoining room if required. Close to lifts. Front facing onto Cathed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street), responded to this review, June 23, 2013
hi SueW1965

We are pleased you took your time to write such a great review.
We agree with you that the rooms facing the cathedral are beautiful and we are glad you noticed.
I shall also make sure that both Sheila and Ebony see your comments they are both wonderful members of the team and care about our guests,

Keep an eye open for some saver rates so you can return asap
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Fantastic weekend stay for a night at Nightingales (6quid in a taxi) arranged by the hotel.

Located very centrally, 5 min walk (if that!) to Birmingham New Street station.
Swift check - in, special requests were given. Room spotless as expected from all Premier Inn's.

Could not fault the hotel and its staff - will be returning again next time I plan a trip to Birmingham!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street), responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Wow, what a great review .. Thank-you for taking the time to write this.
Every persons stay that bit special by wonderful contact with guests... I will make sure they see your comments.
As you noted we are a stones throw away from the Bull Ring Shopping Center where you can shop till you drop and clearly you made great use of this.

Hope to see you again soon , Keep an eye on premier inn.com for our saver rates.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poulton-Le-Fylde, UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Premier Inn in Birmingham lived up to all expectations after reading all of the good reviews on Trip Advisor. Rooms clean, reception very helpful, breakfast excellent and hotel location excellent for centre of Birmingham. The price for a family of 3 for a 1 night stay on a Friday night was less than £60 including all you can eat breakfast. Would deffinately recommend and return again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street), responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hi PoultonBarry,

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Premier Inn Waterloo Street.
Please come and visit us again in the future and look out for our great value £19 rooms at premierinn.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed for one night - Arrived late Friday 14th June. A short walk from New Street station, used the automated check in on arrival which is really easy and was greeted by one of the staff (Sheila) who gave us all the relevant info re breakfast, bar, etc, very friendly and a credit to the team. Used a couple of bars nearby before returning for a nightcap, the bar area was quite busy and had a good feel to it. Room on the 7th floor had a good view of the Cathedral & grounds. The room itself was a typical all you need Premier Inn - £40 for a double room - Bargain!
The only negative was that we needed to leave the luggage the following day as we had an early start and long day ahead at the NEC, the left luggage area is in reception which is not manned 24/7 so felt uneasy leaving the case so paid £7 back at New Street station.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street), responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hi ,

Thanks for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Premier Inn Waterloo Street.
We are pleased the team worked so hard to make your stay extra special and you enjoyed our All you can eat premier inn breakfast , maybe next time you can make use of our £22.99 meal deal which includes 3 courses a drink and your breakfast the following morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough,Berks
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This review is long overdue,but hav now eventually got round to doing it!!!My Mum,young son & myself stayed here for 3 nites over the half term break last October 2012.We got a bargain of paying £19 per room,per nite with a sale that PI's were offering,so fantastic value at £57 for all of us for our little holiday.We also booked the breakfast's on line at £8.25 per adult which isn't cheap,but my son got his free,so all balanced out really.
June is a credit to the company & helped us use the self service check in on our arrival & she couldn't have been more helpful.She's a luvly lady & always had a hello to say to us or went out of her way to speak to my son & spend time with him.Sum top hotels in London havn't bent over backwards to customers like this lady does.All credit to her and TBH all the other staff we came across during our stay,whether if be the bar staff,reception,cleaners and the staff in the Colimore Grill where we dined on our 1st nite & had breakfast there.
The room was nice with a double bed that my mum & me shared and my son slept on the pull out sofa bed.Everything you need for a small break.....TV,tea & coffee facilities,wardrobes and a good bathroom.Didn't hear any noise at nite and our bed was very comfy.We had a room overlooking the back of the hotel which wasn't a problem to us at all,but if ur lucky & get a room overlooking the square & church out front,then that';s a nice view to have.
The food in the restaurant was very good & good value.Not cheap but not to dear either & the breakfasts were great.It's buffet style and you cud eat as much or as little as you wanted.There was a big choice inc juices,cereal,toast,pastries.yoghurts,crumpets,fruit and of course a fry up with all the usual items,eggs,bacon,toms,sausages,mushrooms,hash browns,beans etc.,If you wanted porridge,omlettes,scrambled eggs,that cud be made to order.Really set you up for the day.
The bar was a nice relaxing place and we wud hav a drink b4 we went out for the eve,then hav another one on our return b4 going to bed.It had a luvly atmosphere & was visited by hotel customers, business peeps as well as locals.Very nice place.Not to busy when we visited as it was mid week,but got told it gets busy at the weekends.
The hotel itself is in a fab location,near to all attractions,shops,the Bull ring,Sea Life Centre,canals and the main train stations.Cudn't hav asked to be better placed.We got a taxi from the Coach station in Digby,there & back,but that didn't take to long TBH.
Did hav one issue which was totally my fault and the hotel sorted it out as quick as possible.The day we were leaving,we left our lugguage in reception (which not many hotels do) as we had a few hrs spare b4 our coach left,so decided to hav a quick mooch around the shops.On our return,we called a cab for the coach station,collected our lugguage,but when we returned home,I realised I had left a bag behind at the hotel.I rang the hotel & explained the prob,& 2 days later the bag was safely returned by post to me.Very efficient indeed.
I wud defo visit this hotel again as we really liked everything about it,location,staff,restaurant,bar etc.,& if u can get it at a cheap price,even better.£73.50 for a 3 nite stay and breakfast for 3 peeps is such good value.I wud like to say thanx to everyone at the hotel for making our 1st visit to Birmingham such an enjoyable time and look forward to a return trip in the near future.........

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for two nights midweek, payed £60 for two nights for a double room which had a double bed and single.
Hotel is in brilliant loaction. Easy walking distance to lots Birmingham has to offer!
The hotel is clean and modern with all the stuff you would expect.
Stayed on 5th floor lovely view, the room was spotless not even a speck of dust. Beds comfy, didn't eat at the restaurant as was expensive, breakfast £8.99! But there's a brilliant weatherspoons a few doors down that does a lovely cheap full English.
Would defo stay again!

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street)

Address: 3 - 6 Waterloo St, Birmingham B2 5PG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#3 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#3 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo St) Hotel Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.