We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable night out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basmati Restaurant

Basmati Restaurant
230 Birmingham Road | Great Barr, Birmingham B43 7AG, England
0121 358 8898
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 1,608 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
“Enjoyable night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I have passed this restaurant many times and thought how nice it looked. I can say when I finally got to visit with my husband we were not disappointed. The staff were friendly and efficient and the food was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tajbir, Manager at Basmati Restaurant, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Customer, Thank you for splendid review. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your meal and the service at Basmati. A review like yours will certainly encourage us to be even more efficient in future in producing outstanding quality on our offering and be even more dedicative in service.

We shall look forward to see you again soon.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    30
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“still fantastic value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

this is my local restaurant and visit here alot always excellent service and food ,never been dissapointed looking forward to my next visit already

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tajbir, Manager at Basmati Restaurant, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Customer, Thank you again for beautiful review. we are always happy to keep up the standard high and sustaining a good value for money for our dinner and promised to do that consistently. We shall look forward to see you again soon.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fylde
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best of British (Asian)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This really is amongst the best of the "old school" British Asian restaurants. Service is efficient professional and unobtrusive. I have eaten here many times over a number of years whilst travelling north to south or vice versa. The only variation in the quality is that it gets better.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tajbir, Manager at Basmati Restaurant, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your beautiful review. We are pleased to have a great and candids review from you.. This is certainly encouraging for our staff in producing the authentic, mouth watering, nicely balanced and spiced and yet gain the finest Indian cuisine for our dinner. we shall look forward to welcome you yet again.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull england
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Night out with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

A group of eight of us decided to come here gir a curry, they were happy to seat a party of eight at short notice, the menu was extensive and varied any queries we had were answered well.
The food is beautiful and there was plenty of it and we all came away very satisfied I would recommend trying them

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tajbir, Manager at Basmati Restaurant, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Customer,

Thank you for writing this beautiful review. We are pleased to have your visit here at Basmati and promised to make it even better in future . We shall look forward to welcome you again soon.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hotel at the Premier Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I was staying at the Premier Inn whilst seeing my brother who lives opposite. We decided to have a curry late on and my brother was new to the area and had previously had a takeaway from the Basmati but not a sit down meal. There were only two other people in the restaaurant but it was a Wednesday evening and around 11pm so gave them the benefit of doubt. The food was really good and an interesting menu. I found the taff to be very pleasant and accomodating when they probably wanted to go home. I would recommend this restaurant to anyonme in the area and can see why it had a high rating on tripadvisor.

Regards David

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tajbir, Manager at Basmati Restaurant, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Customer,

Thank you for writing this beautiful review. We are pleased to have your visit here at Basmati and promised to make it even better on your next visit hence we get ***** on your next visit :-) . We shall look forward to welcome you again soon.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basmati Restaurant also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Basmati Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basmati Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.