We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence and annoyance” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Banca

La Banca
1896 Pershore Road | Cotteridge, Birmingham B30 3AS, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #96 of 1,608 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $33 - $41
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Italian Restaurant opened in 2009. Stylish converted High St Bank
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellence and annoyance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Food excellent and Staff helpful. Sadly the insistence of the Chef and Management in playing You Tube Comedy excerpts on full volume to adjoining table guests, without regard to other diners spoiled the latter part of the evening. Not acceptable and hope will not be repeated EVER.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    33
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“lovely food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We went for a quite lunch and loved the restaurant. Delicious food, great service and a nice environment. Would recommend after a trip to Cadbury world.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Special 70th birthday party, superb food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We had a surprise 70th birthday party for my wife's mother on Mothers Day,; we were the party referred to in another review. Things could not have gone better and 25 people left full, contented and raving about La Banca. The service was outstanding from the front of house team led by Cam, Vincente and Becky and the food was as always under the direction of Mal excellent, the sea bass and chicken particularly went down a storm. Considering we started planning this a year ago with Cam and Mal, the whole occasion couldn't have gone better. Thank you all for making it such a memorable day.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

What a fantastic restaurant. This was our first visit here but it had been recommended to us so we were looking forward to a lovely meal and we weren't disappointed. From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly and attentive and considering it was mothers day and they had a large party in the service was very good. The food was excellent and the cooked fresh I can highly recommend the seabass. (They even went to the trouble of making my little boy a fresh tomato sauce for his chicken )Some people have commented on the price but we felt it was worth every penny. Definitely worth a visit. We will be returning soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful italian food and great friendly service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Been to La Banca a few times now as it is local for us - it is easily (one of) my favourite restaurants. Yes it's not a cheap night out, but I'm a firm believer in "you get what you pay for". And the food is worth every penny. Champagne bellinis are quite reasonable too and delicious! Service is always fantastic. The food is absolutely beautiful. If you could pick this restaurant up and move it into Birmingham so more people knew about it, I am confident it would stand good chance of being one of the best italians in the city. Well worth your time and money I absolutely love this little restaurant can't wait to go again in April!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Banca also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to La Banca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Banca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.