We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent but book ahead!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Banca

La Banca
1896 Pershore Road | Cotteridge, Birmingham B30 3AS, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 1,688 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $33 - $41
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Italian Restaurant opened in 2009. Stylish converted High St Bank
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Excellent but book ahead!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This place is deservedly popular. We arrived early and got the last table. Excellent food, superb wine and great service. Would I return? Most certainly if I'm in the area again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    37
    13
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Lovely Italian restaurant run by three brothers. From the moment you walk through the door the service is excellent, very welcoming and professional. Nice decor, clean and modern, pleasant atmosphere even when busy. We have been twice on a Saturday evening and the place was full but still remained intimate. The food is excellent, fresh and well cooked and presented. Reasonably priced, expect to pay £25.00 - £40.00 per head for 3 courses for food with drinks extra. Great for special occasions or a romantic meal for two. We will definitely be visiting again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Surprisingly great evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

First visit to this restaurant which we have passed by for the past couple of years. Beautifully cooked and presented food, good wine, Peroni on tap and very genial staff who are knowledgable about the menu. This was the first of what we hope will be many visits.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Possibly the best Italian in birmingham!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

In business just get the basis right and the money will flow.Peroni on tap, how good is that!
Food cooked to perfection, brave to open in what was I think Barclays Bank, previous occupants in a working class backwater of Birmingham, if located in Brindley Place it would be ranked top, far better than San Carlo or Cielo.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grahamsville, New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Impeccable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had one of the best meals while staying in the area. The restaurant was recommended by our host and we were celebrating the end of a stressful week. Even though we arrived late in the evening, they were friendly and accommodating. The food and service were top notch. It is a very lively, friendly restaurant and very obvious that the patrons were locals and frequent diners. The chef made a point of visiting every table at the end of the evening. I highly recommend La Banca Italian Family Restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Banca also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to La Banca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Banca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.