We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Farm Hotel

The Old Farm Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Old Farm Hotel to your Saves list
The Old Farm Hotel
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   108 Linden Road | Bournville, Birmingham B30 1LA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 50 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Tywyn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great find.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

What a delightful discovery this small family run hotel was for a trip to Bourneville over the weekend. A lovely homely atmosphere to this place and we were made to feel very welcome, suited our needs perfectly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    9
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
16
12
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed for one Saturday night to celebrate a 25th Wedding Anniversary. The Old Farm Hotel Reception is a little tired - but do not let that put you off. Our room was nicely appointed with a view over the garden. The Hotel hosted the luncheon for the happy couple (approx 30 souls) which was very good indeed. Especially with the opportunity, if the weather is fine, to sit in the garden. Can recommend the lamb roast. All in all a lovely weekend in a smoothly quietly run bed and breakfast hotel.

Room Tip: No 6 was good. White crisp linen, a fresh flower in the room. This together with the warm welcome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Nice little B&B with dated decor (suited to the house).
Front of house were very busy when we arrived and we were quickly given keys and forgotten about.

Rooms are a little cramped and beds are ok, although it was April they felt very cold and we turned the heating up to full.
Very clean throughout the room and bathrooms.

Breakfast saw a nice althoguh small selection (fruit ran out very quickly, regardless of the fact we went at the start of the breakfast service). We both had the veg breakfast as we don't eat pork and this was very small indeed.

Would have liked to give this review a good rating although I am not sure it really warrants a very good!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I booked this for my Mothers 90th birthday party. Jane was really helpful in the build up, and several guests stayed in the rooms for a discounted price. The day of the party was wonderful. The staff were brilliant. Very helpful and unobtrusive. The food was to die for. Wonderfully cooked, hot and very tasty. We had lamb which can be overlooked often, but it was perfect. Would highly recommend anyone to book.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I was expecting the rooms pictured on the website, so my heart sank as we were shown our room. Brown, 70s decor, padded wallpaper, melamine worktop with turned pine edging. A strip of space around the bed, not even enough room for a bedside table on the side of the bed that wasn't shoved into the corner - (I think this should perhaps be a single room). Carpet in the bathroom is always a worry. The bedside lights (not actually to the side as there was no room) became burning hot. A very tired establishment. Bedrooms not as described or photographed on the website. Hence this rating. Many dried ropey 'arrangements' around which didn't really disguise the fundamental flaws. There were only 2 people staying, the website showed 3 nice rooms, so why were we put in this? The bedding is sheets and blankets, with an uncovered duvet sandwiched between the blankets - all rather cumbersome. There was a duvet under the bottom sheet, presumably to disguise a lumpy old mattress, it did make it comfy (once I had pulled the sheet down so that it reached the end of the mattress) but really, it is the sort of thing your granny does, and you don't expect it where you are paying!
It wasn't all bad, it was very clean and the sheets were pure cotton, white ironed, nice (shame though that there was no duvet cover) - and the table cloths were cotton too. The breakfast waitress was sunny and chatty, the bacon was good, the breakfast was adequate and well cooked, what you would expect - and there were fresh blueberries, an unexpected delight. It was warm and had plenty of hot water. There was a sachet of shampoo (and other products), and was was grateful for them as I had forgotten mine. The location in beautiful Bournville was excellent, 10 minutes to the station on foot past the wonderful Cadbury factory buildings and a short ride into Birmingham New Street, so very handy. A stone's throw from Cadbury World, so great if you are bringing the kids (though I don't think I would bring mine to stay here). Sorry, I don't like saying all of this, and I have avoided writing it because the breakfast girl was so sweet, and I would hate to put her job on the line, but I just feel so cheated, we hardly ever go away, and it was supposed to be a treat, but it was just so disappointing. If you really don't care about decor, or space, or aesthetics or newness you will probably think it is fine and I'm just an old trout!

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you decide to stay, and peek under the sheets too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have just returned home from 2 nights spent at this hotel. I booked a family room for myself and my 2 children. The room was lovely with a double and a single bed. Very clean with a small but perfectly formed bathroom with a spacious shower. The boys loved having a TV in the bedroom. We overlooked the gorgeous garden. The staff were extremely friendly. The bar was not always staffed and we were informed by another guest (a regular) that they operate on a honesty basis, so if it is not staffed you can serve yourself ( a price list is provided). The staff are only a room away in the kitchen off the dining room so are there if needed. The evening meals were very plentiful and beautifully cooked. The breakfasts were delicious with both a breakfast buffet and cooked breakfast on offer. The hotel is directly opposite Cadbury World (the reason for our visit) and less than 10 minutes walk from the train station. We will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Had a wedding just down the road , stayed here, very friendly had a good sized car park,rooms were big enough with good shower facilities,rooms were clean on arrival. Standard prices on drinks ,breakfast in the morning was cooked nicely but i thought could have been a little bigger in my opinion .
All in all great place to stay
would stay there again in the future
thanks

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Farm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Farm Hotel

Address: 108 Linden Road | Bournville, Birmingham B30 1LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Hotel Class:2 star — The Old Farm Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Farm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Farm Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.