We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sale U3A” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winterbourne House and Garden

Winterbourne House and Garden
58 Edgbaston Park Road | University of Birmingham, Birmingham B15 2RT, England
0121 414 3003
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 306 things to do in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Restored to its Edwardian Arts and Craft splendour, Winterbourne House is a unique heritage attraction – set within seven acres of beautiful botanic gardens. Only minutes from Birmingham city centre, Winterbourne is a hidden gem – home to beautiful antiques and over 6,000 plant species from around the world. Wander along the woodland walk, stroll through the hazelnut tunnel, cross the 1930’s Japanese Bridge or simply soak up the tranquillity of this perfectly English Edwardian home.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sale U3A”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Visited yesterday, 20th May 2013, and was very impressed. The house is well set out with lots of information. The gardens are very beautiful and finding the 'old kitchen' was a lovely surprise. A shame it is not better signed posted as some people in my group missed it. The restaurant, whilst small, was of a high standard and the food was excellent. All this and the most helpful staff made our visit very enjoyable.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    84
    5
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Bluebells galore and much more.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

It would have been worth the £5 entrance fee to have been allowed to walk through the woods covered with bluebells with the sun shining through the trees with their spring green leaves. However, that is only a small part of the story. This is a beautiful garden which has had much time and effort spent on it over the past few years. There is a newly planted lime walk, a nut walk, herb garden, a scree garden and a lot more. I only mention my favourites!

Winterbourne House is an Edwardian property of beautiful proportions. The Edwardian kitchen is open and very well and tastefully presented. It looked clean and cared for unlike a museum I visited in Worcestershire where the linen on display was yellow and dirty.

I was impressed that the plants were for the most part well labeled so that you could go and buy one from a nursery if you wanted to. I also liked the fact that there was a tea room, gift shop and plants for sale.

We did not go in the house but I will go again and see the house and the garden at a different time of year. This is a haven in the middle of the city. For the most part you could shut out the city although at some points in the wood a few ugly tall buildings made their presence felt.

If you live in the area I would urge you to come here and see this beautiful house and garden for yourself. I travelled for half an hour to come here. It is definately worth an hour's travel to visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A definite hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

On yet another dull overcast Saturday we decided to look for something local that had both indoor and outdoor options so that the weather couldn't ruin the trip, and looking at the internet stumbled on this jewel that is so well hidden that I'm sure most people don't know it exists.
The look into Edwardian life is enlightening and the gardens are suberb, I'm sure they are even better on a sunny day.
The tea room was excellent and the Apple Shortcake is highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This has to be one of the best hidden treasures in the midlands...For just £5.00 you get entrance to a wonderful garden that helps refresh the soul and escapethe maddness of city life...But that is not all for there is still the house to explore and it is well worth a visit in itself...All that and a delightful tea room...plants and second hand books for sale...You could well end up staying much longer than intended...but you will not be disappointed...Go visit!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful city escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is an absolute gem in the middle of the city. Beautiful gardens and bluebell carpeted woods lead to a picturesque lake. Great for birdwatching or just relaxing. Lovely shop selling plants and gifts.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winterbourne House and Garden also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Winterbourne House and Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winterbourne House and Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.