We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Edwardian Excellence!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winterbourne House and Garden

Winterbourne House and Garden
58 Edgbaston Park Road | University of Birmingham, Birmingham B15 2RT, England
0121 414 3003
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 161 Attractions in Birmingham
Type: Historic Sites, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Restored to its Edwardian Arts and Craft splendour, Winterbourne House is a unique heritage attraction – set within seven acres of beautiful botanic gardens. Only minutes from Birmingham city centre, Winterbourne is a hidden gem – home to beautiful antiques and over 6,000 plant species from around the world. Wander along the woodland walk, stroll through the hazelnut tunnel, cross the 1930’s Japanese Bridge or simply soak up the tranquillity of this perfectly English Edwardian home.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Edwardian Excellence!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We were greeted by the young lady in the shop in a lovely friendly manner. We bought our tickets and went for a wander round the grounds, checking out the map (50p) from the shop. It was a joy to take our eight year old daughter into the greenhouses, alpine house, cacti house, and other garden areas unrestricted! She delighted in being shown the plants in all these places and we could see the care taken. Everywhere we walked was well maintained, and plants meticulously labelled. Into the tearoom to warm up, where we had toasted teacake, tiffin, tea, coffee and a ham and cheese sandwich. Everything was clean, and the food nicely presented. All the staff were very welcoming and helpful. Then we wandered round the house and it was truly lovely. Being a photographer I enjoyed seeing all the old family pictures around the walls. You could really imagine living there with the Nettlefold's because the rooms were set out as though they just left the room! Everywhere was very well maintained, clean and warm (welcoming since it was minus something degrees outside!) and staff were dotted about to help with any questions, without being overbearing. Having been National Trust members before, Winterbourne did not feel as 'stuffy' or controlled. Even the old kitchen area was lovely, and there were two places for children to dress up and walk about. Our daughter enjoyed the recordings that played in various places in the house, this brought it alive for her. We were so impressed that we have purchased a season ticket and will definitely be back. A marvelous place to go on a warmer day, and really enjoy the gardens. This is going to be a great place for a day to spend homeschooling, and we can't wait to go back!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winterbourn, Manager at Winterbourne House and Garden, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Visitor

I can't thank you enough for such a positive, warm and enthusiastic review of your experience here with us. As we have only been open again for a few weeks since our break for winter refurbishment, it has been a difficult period of time, especially with the adjusments that have been made around the house and regarding our entrance procedure. It's fantastic to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed the interactive elements around the rooms and that you found our facilities to be clean and welcoming, and staff helpful yet unobtrusive. I'm happy to say that is what we aim to provide and I know our small team will be thrilled to receive this feedback.

Thank you for the support and we're so pleased you've joined as members too.
See you at Winterbourne again soon.

Anna Williams
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    67
    5
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good all round, as usual, even in winter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Following many visits over the past few years, I returned again in December to the usual relaxed vibe of the Winterborne Gardens. Though there isn't really anything for kids in the garden, I expect there would be scope for them to enjoy it in a different way. But without children it is ideal for a relaxed wander, and a bite to eat from the freshly prepared and good value, albeit limited, menu in the cafe. Small admission cost, but with concessions available. Then, the house itself is ideal for adults and children with occasional seasonal and non-seasonal events (can be seen on the website and twitter), documentation on the history of the house and the University of Birmingham and little features for kids.

Positives: Well kept gardens and house, good variety of plants slowly changed each year, nice area, close to shops of Selly Oak, nice staff, excellent food in the cafe, access to part of lovely Edgbaston reservoir toward the rear.

Negatives: Looks a little bare in winter but they are temperate gardens after all!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

At the edge of the University campus, this is for most still an undiscovered gem. A little more compact than the local Botanical Gardens but what is packed in its space is wondrous; and changing throughout the seasons to reveal new treasures as a good garden should. The relatively new tea room / restaurant is an added bonus and well worth a visit in itself.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent overall experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

An interesting place to visit. The eating area is pleasantly decorated and the food, though simple, is delicious. Added to that there is Winterbourne House to explore with many interactive features to enjoy; then the absolutely splendid gardens are a joy to wander round. Take your vistors - they'll love it. Then cross the road and add a visit to The Barber Institute - Britain's' best, small Art Gallery. Fabulous day out.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

If you're visiting close to Edgbaston you will be delighted if you visit the failry small but gorgeous Winterbourne Gardens - the University's botanical gardens. Lovely collection of plants and trees, streams, woods and it even backs onto Edgbaston Reservoir where you can watch the swans floating by. The woods are covered in bluebells in the Spring. Recently a lovely cafe has opened in the house too. A delightful quiet oasis in the city of Birmingham.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winterbourne House and Garden also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Winterbourne House and Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winterbourne House and Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.