We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pentahotel First time.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pentahotel Birmingham

Save Saved
You added Pentahotel Birmingham to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pentahotel Birmingham
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ernest Street Holloway Head, Birmingham B1 1NS, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Birmingham City) (Ladywood)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 137 hotels in Birmingham
2 reviews
“Pentahotel First time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

great Value for money. Classy, modern place. Friendly Staff. Relaxed environment but the kettle and dryer were unpleasant and didn't work. Great location for the city Centre. We stayed for two nights and were able to watch multiple films with their variety of latest films on the lovely television.
definitely come here again. Plus the complimentary pool was fabulous.

Room Tip: Highest floor possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    57
    20
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
69
4
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Absolutely wonderful and cool hotel. Staff are friendly and helpful. Really cool decor etc. Rooms comfy and clean. Will definately return and bring my mates. The pool tables are really colourful too and the bar as your check in is awesome. Excellent value for money, highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Penta whilst celebrating a friends birthday party in Birmingham, when we arrived I was put off by the lack of proper reception area, however, the warm welcome made up for that, the rooms were clean, smart and neat. The only thing I would change is the wooden door on the shower/wet room, not sure who thought that was a good idea... The restaurant/lounge on the first floor is a great space, with informal area's quiet area and a good space to to eat. The candles added a lot of atmosphere a really nice touch. breakfast was lovely, an excellent choice, well presented and ours was very fresh. Great value for money and excellent service. The drinks in the bar were very expensive.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We visited a week ago and we were both left really pleased!!

The room is very nice it also has fantastic bathrooms and great choice of TV channels

In a really central location bullring is 5 ,minutes away and the station the same

A very cool bar and rester-aunt would recommend for any young couple on a budget but not wanting to end up in a premier inn

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Beautifully decorated, welcoming bar and spacious rooms. Rooms are minimalist but feel rather grand! Breakfast was incredible! ! Best hotel breakfast I've had in a long time. .. prosecco, smoked salmon, pancakes, pastries.... mmm! !

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

After taking over the Ramada Encore, I was keen to stay and see what Penta was all about. I booked a surprise stay for my partners birthday as a treat - and that's exactly what our stay was!

Less than a few minutes walk away from the Mailbox, Bullring, and other City attractions, location wise I couldn't have asked for anything more. A stones throw away from everything (or a tipsy stumble back to the hotel in my case!).

We stayed on the 6th floor and our room overlooked the City. Very clean, quiet, a huge TV, well maintained and loved the complimentary bath & shower goodies. Finally - a hotel that doesn't offer cheap tat!

A HUGE bonus for those of you staying on a Sunday - checkout is at 3pm. So for those of you who wish to enjoy a tipple or two, perfect for sore heads the next day. A nice lie in!

We didn't have chance to dine at the restaurant but did visit the downstairs bar and the Penta Lounge on the second floor. Drinks were competitively priced and the decor, atmosphere and staff made us feel so welcome. In fact, we had dinner in the City and returned to the hotel for drinks as it wasn't loud, overpriced and impersonal like a lot of bars in the City.

Overall, it's a perfect hotel for a City stay. We will certainly be back again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the City, higher floors would be best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Everything about the hotel is trending and clearly designed to be a hip and cool place to be. If you don't have a young bone in your body then this is not the place for you.
There is no formal reception ,it's the corner of the great bar that together with the pool table takes up thr ground floor. A quieter area ,with another pool table is up a flight of stairs from the bar area
I reckon this is a good place to meet up with mates, other couples and friends for a night out or a weekend away
Rooms were good . Staff excellent and very friendly.
If you're worried about parking in the immediate area which does look a bit suspect, then cross over towards the residential area by the side of the Mailbox where the spaces are clearly marked and if you feed the meter at night the paid time starts from the following morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pentahotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pentahotel Birmingham

Address: Ernest Street Holloway Head, Birmingham B1 1NS, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Birmingham City)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#10 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#27 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pentahotel Birmingham 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Better because it’s BirminghamWe're less than a mile from the city centre, but a million miles away from the usual. Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, welcome to the pentahotel Birmingham. Just the tonic for the weary traveller, or the visitor who's rearing to go. Perfectly positioned to jump-start your visit to England's Second City. In fact pentahotel is much like Birmingham itself: relaxed, confident in its unique personality and right in the middle of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Pentahotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Birmingham City Hotel Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pentahotel Birmingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.