We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy enough, but not a quiet night's sleep!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Inkford Hotel

Save Saved
You added Inkford Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inkford Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Alcester Road, Birmingham B47 6DJ, England (Moseley and Kings Heath)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 45 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Comfy enough, but not a quiet night's sleep!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

We were staying after a wedding reception, which was very handy - just 5 mins drive away from King's Norton Golf Club. The room was basic, but clean, with a decent shower.

However, when we got to the hotel at 11.45pm, we walked past the bar where there was a party in full swing - cheesy music blaring.. From inside our room we could still hear the music very clearly for at least another hour, and had to resort to putting the TV on to drown it out!

I wouldn't have minded so much, if the hotel staff had had the courtesy to let us know that this woudl be happening when we booked - or even at check-in, but as it was I was a bit outraged!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    6
    8
    13
See reviews for
6
12
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
B47
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

This is my second visit and I would recommend this Hotel to any of my friends. This is a friendly family run business. Staff are friendly and accomodating. The hotel is rural and in a country village setting. The decor and ambiance reflects this.
The food is of a high standard and there is a good selction. This is a nice place to stay or just visit for a drink in the bar or to sit and have a meal.
The hotel caters for large parties, nothing is too much bother and the owners will accomodate most request to make your stay welcoming.
Only 1/4 mile from J3 of M42.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

Rooms - as big/wee as the Raddison Blu/ Village Solihull but even less furniture and less view.

Furntiure - pine - the fourposter was a surprise nil other furntiure to speak of

Matress - Thin and weak

iron - 1 per hotel

TV - CRT 14" wall mounted so can only be viewed from the bed and a remember the paraphanalia of a 4 poster bed to watch around

5 channels - so better than the Westmead at Hopwood

Selection of toiletries - nil

Breakfast service excellent
>> Coffee as bad as the other s (Bell in Tanworth excluded)
>> Range serial / pan bread or brown bread toasted / englishs stuff anyway you want - i.e. poached eggs very fast

This si not abusienss hotel, it is not modern it is just 80's. But it is handy for NEC/ Mway, cheap and has rooms. Some good pubs within 2 km

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

We arrived to check in mid afternoon and as a last minute booking were not looking for the ritz. Staff were fine and quite friendly. We were a little surprised when we went to room to leave our bags as whilst the main building of the hotel was warm, as soon as we went through the fire doors which led to our room in what I believe was an annex it turned quite chilly. Before we left I turned all the radiators on anticipating that on return later the room would be warm.

We returned late only to find the room very cold even though it was only early Oct. and having woken a couple of times with cold feet it was still the same when we arose at just after 8am to have a hot bath to warm up (yes plenty of hot water).

Quite surprised when we left through the main building to find all the radiators warm the reception cosy!!

Definitely in need of some radical updating, furniture old and well used, TV outdated with 5 channels and snowy reception, bathroom decor in need of refit.

Looking at other review sites we may have missed the best part as we did not have breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inkford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkford Hotel

Address: Alcester Road, Birmingham B47 6DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Moseley and Kings Heath
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Hotel Class:2 star — Inkford Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Inkford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inkford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.