We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motor bike show 2013 needs more activities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of National Exhibition Centre (NEC)

National Exhibition Centre (NEC)
Bickenhill Parkway, Birmingham B40 1NT, England (Ladywood)
+44 (0) 121 780 4141
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 198 attractions in Birmingham
Type: Convention Centers, Arenas/ Stadiums/ Fields
Attraction Details
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
96 attraction reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Motor bike show 2013 needs more activities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Visited with some mates, car parking was £8 in advance , £10 on the gate, Ticket £17 in advance. Sue the bus driver (free courtesy bus from/to car park to arena) gave an excellent commentary in the style of Jo Brand , very good humour aimed at us fair weather motorcyclists. At the event lots of bikes to sit on and lots and lots of stalls selling every kind of item you might want associated with biking. Some is cheaper some is more expensive. Like any venue the food is over processed and over priced. Just eat somewhere en route before you go in. If you're happy buying things and sitting on bikes then it's a good day out. If you want some entertaining or displays to watch then it could do with a bit more effort.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    166
    94
    38
    27
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad Food at the Good Food Show”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Attended the Good Food Show on 1st December - very good if expensive! A major complaint however was a Ploughmans ciabata sold by the in-house Damn Fine Sandwich Co (Halls 17 & 18). The mature cheese was the thickness of toilet paper, the lettuce was limp, and the chutney scraped on. The whole filling was about 3mm (1/8 of an inch) and very poor value for £5.49. Don't buy from this outlet.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Good venue, poor infrastructure”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Attended the Good Food Show. Good accommodation in halls with plenty of space to walk around and good layout of exhibitors. However the parking and transport arrangements were poor. Little or no signage to direct you to correct car park and poor options for busing to halls.
Considering there were 3 different exhibitions going on I would have thought that the NEC would be geared up for the crowds. Alas not.
We could learn an awful lot from the States and Disney.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Visited after attending Motorcycle Show, very difficult to get around and couldn't purchase anything using card (apart from one stand who had a telephone line). The machines rely on mobile network (poor signal) and apparently the NEC will not allow them to connect to the wifi. Turned away from the bake off afternoon tea rudely because it was 'fully booked', despite there being many empty tables. Won't be returning to this over priced event.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southend
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

My partner is a pilot, flies Cessna 152 and cherokee , he loves anything to do with aviation, so when he heard that there was a flying exhibition on at the n.e.c he decided he would like to go, we had to travel from southend ,it's about a 2 and half hour journey , we got there by lunchtime and straight away you have to pay £10 for the parking , when we got into the centre we had to pay £25 to get in , well I have to say not the most impressive exhibition I have ever been to, it was extremely small , a few light aircraft to see and a few stalls to buy tools and a few aviation bits, we walked round it within half hour and that was stretching it out! So overall a very expensive day for not much to see, I don't see how they justify that sort of money for very little to see, do not recommend at all .

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Exhibition Centre (NEC) also viewed

 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to National Exhibition Centre (NEC)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Exhibition Centre (NEC), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added National Exhibition Centre (NEC) to your Saves list