We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A useful base to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) to your Saves list
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road)
176 - 184 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 9NY, England (Edgbaston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deals online.
Ranked #15 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A useful base to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel twice, once this year and the same time last year. Enjoyed it as it's convenient for NIA (10mins by car). However, the service this year at breakfast was not up to the usual standard. Was kept waiting before the waiter came over and took order, then mumbled his words. Food sat on counter for a few minuteds before being brought to the table. Even though it sounds as if I didn't like the Hotel, I did, it was only the breakfast issue that let it down.

Room Tip: Don't have a room on ground floor, you can hear the late night returnees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager176, reception team leader at Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road), responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Neal M
Thank you very much for chosing to come and have your stay here with us and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed you stay here again, however we are sorry that the breakfast service wasnt upto our normal excellent customer service and the Beefeater has been made aware of your comments and this is something that is now being dealt with.
We hope you chose to stay here with us again and look forward to reasurring you that we have taken your comments on board to resolve the matters fully?
Many thanks
Stacey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    102
    33
    6
    8
See reviews for
115
83
23
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We recently stayed at the hotel for a family break and were made very welcome as soon as we arrived by the very competent and friendly staff. The room was very hot and made sleeping quite difficult. Room was very clean but a little cramped for a family of four,however this is what we expect for the price we paid. The Beefeater adjoining the hotel is not suitable for children. Breakfast was hectic as there was a shortage of staff and things ran out very quickly and weren't replenished quickly enough. A good place to stay for local attractions at a cheap price with friendly and welcoming staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager176, reception team leader at Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road), responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Good Morning Stuart s

Thank you very much for recent review regarding you stay here withus. I am very sorry to hear that breakfast wasnt upto our normal regular service as we do work along the Beefeater to ensure that our guest have a exceptional time during their stay. We will pass your comment son them to ensure this is something that doesnt happen again as we are a family friendly hotel and this includes your breakfast experiance.
The room aloocation is subject to availiblity as we do have two larger family of 4 rooms which are located on the 3rd floor, these can be requested by calling the hotel directly once you have made your booking as we will always try to allocate these rooms 1st to our families. We also have air con available if this would help you on your next stay with us.

We hope we can have your customer again to show how the level of service is within our hotel and the Beefeater.

Many thanks
Stacey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Me & my mother stayed in the twin room. Great value for money. Found the bed a bit hard, but it all depends where sort of mattress you prefer. Reception staff were very helpful and friendly. They were able to direct us to the nearest supermarket. Very close to where we wanted to go. Great having the Beefeater on the side of the hotel - didn't have to leave the building as there was a connecting door. Convenient for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager176, reception team leader at Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road), responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Good Morning Stephie_wood
Thank you very much for your recent review of you stay here with us. we are happy that you enjoyed you short time here with and hope the Interview was successful. If all went well we looking forward to having you stay back here with upon your returning visit for university purposes.
If it helsp you to have a more comfortable night sleep we will gladly supply you with an extra duvet to help soften our bed for you.
All the best for the results of the interview and we hope to see you again soon
Many Thanks
Stacey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was an overnight stay only. Our room was quiet on the third floor at the back. The television was huge and the whole room and bathroom top quality.
The Staff were very helpful especially Stacey who booked us in. Would definitely recommend this Premier Inn.

Room Tip: I imagine those on the higher floors and at the back are the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager176, reception team leader at Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road), responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Good Morning WalkingSue

Thank very much for you kind words in regards to your recent stay here with us. Our hotel has under-gone a recent refurbishment and the new large screen tv was part of that and im glad you enjoyed the benifit of the new upgraded tv's.
I have passed you comments onto Stacey who is exceptional in regards to her customer service skills and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back here at Hagley Road in the near furture.
Many thanks
Reception Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

A good standard of hotel. Well informed staff. Clean and well prepared rooms. Road signage could be clearer, we drove straight past it on our first attempt! Paid £19 and I thought this was exceptional value for money. Good comfy beds and pillows although the room was a little cool for my personal preference.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager176, reception team leader at Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road), responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Good Morning Jackie1961_13

Thank you very much for your recent review in regards to your stay here with and we are pleased that you had a great stay and enjoyed the benifit of one of our excellent saver room rates which are subject to availablility 21 days in advance.
We are aware of the issue regarding signage for the hotel & please be assured this matter is in hand and we are awaiting the delivery of our new sign to go back on the front of where the Beefeater is.
We do supply extra heaters if this is something that you would require upon your next stay with us here.
We looking forward to seeing you again
Many thanks
Stacey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

For a company that prides itself on child friendliness, the beds you expect children to sleep on are a disgrace. We would have complained when we checked out only there were no staff to be found!
We also had to change rooms as the first we were put in was clearly an adjoining room as there was a door separating ourselves from the room next door. Through this door you could hear everything that was being said in the next room.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager176, reception team leader at Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road), responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear AMTLiverpool

I am very sorry to hear you found your stay here with us at Hagley road "Disppointing"
We at Premeir Inn do pride our selves on being a fmaily friendly hotel and i am sorry you found the sofa beds that we provided for your children to be unsatisfactory to your requirements. These beds can be found throughout the rest of the Premier Inn Hotels. So can i suggest for any future bookings you may make with us for you to request extra duvets to places on top of the beds if this will help to add extra comfort to the beds.
Please feel free to contact me at the hotel directly on 0871 527 802 and i will be more than happy to discuss the issues further with you.
Unfortunatley upon your departure the receptionist was assisting another guest but there is a buzzer on the reception to press to get the attention of the receptionist on duty.
Again please accept our sincere apologies that your stay was affected due to the sofa bed we provide for our twin & family rooms.
Many thanks
Stacey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEEDS
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

It was our first stay at a Premier Inn and weren't too sure what to expect especially with such a low price (£19). We stayed in a family room for one night. Lovely staff on reception who were very welcoming. The whole Hotel including the room was spotless. The room itself was very spacious good size comfy beds, a choice of pillows, TV, plenty of space to hang clothes and shelves for personal belongings and a good size bathroom. We ate at the Beefeater for our evening meal which was very family friendly and again nice staff and a good atmosphere. If you are looking to go somewhere else there is a TGI's next door and an ASK opposite. Would definitely not think twice about staying here or at another Premier Inn again such good value for money!

Room Tip: We had a room around the back and didn't hear a thing. Not too sure if it might be a little nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager176, reception team leader at Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road), responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Good Afternoon Beetle29

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of your stay here with us at Hagley Road.
I am pleased that you got to experiance of our amazing rooms for just £19, fantastic special offers that are only available online and more than 21days in advance. If you are not already joined up, please visit the Premier Inn.com website and sign up as you will receive our news letter that will let you know when all of our discounts and special offers become available.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Thanks very much
Stacey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road)

Address: 176 - 184 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 9NY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#15 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#15 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located in the affluent area of Edgbaston. We have our own Beefeater restaurant on site but are also within walking distance of at least 4 other popular restaurants. Our location is also convenient for Cadbury World, the QE Hospital and Birmingham University. We pride ourselves on giving the best possible service and have a lot of returning guests based on the personal touch that our team here offers. We cater for both business people and families and our restaurant now boasts free wifi. For further details and queries why don't you give us a call, we are always more than happy to help. The Team at Hagley Road ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham Central Hagley Road Hotel Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.