We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the pops” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Chillies

Sweet Chillies
836 Yardley Wood Road, Birmingham B13 0JE, England
0121 443 2737
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #147 of 1,444 restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
worcs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top of the pops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Sweet chillies has everything you could possibly want from a restaurant. Excellent food, excellent service by friendly staff together with a great atmosphere in a very clean and cosy setting. You are immediately made welcome by the Manager which sets you up for a superb night. I have been dining here for years and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    45
    15
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent quality food with obviously freshly prepared ingredients, really extensive menu at reasonable prices, friendly staff w”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Came across this restauarant whilst staying with family who no longer live nearby but so good we just have to keep going back. The manager and staff are lovely, attentive and provide a great service. The menu is so extensive I would recommend viewing on line beforehand. The quality and presentation of the food is second to none and rivals any of the top rated city centre Asian restaurants. The only thing that differs to fine dining restaurants I have eaten in is the reasonable prices. I am always suprised that they manage to maintain low costs without compromising the high quality. Saturdays the restaurant is usually busy, so we usually dine later in the evening when its a bit quieter. However if you find yourself having to waiting for a table chill out at the bar as anything good is always worth waiting for and you will not be disasppointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“And Half Time Refreshments....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This was a return visit to Sweet Chillies and I had forgotten how good the food and service is at this Bengali restaurant. We had been invited by friends to celebrate a working 'bonus', so rare in these days of recession. The usual warm welcome from the manager and a nice alcove table for four was an excellent start to the evening. Poppadoms and drinks were promptly served while we studied the extensive menu, with the 'strength' of the dishes clearly marked from one chilli for mild to six chillies for burning hot!

The place was buzzing and every table in this quite small restaurant, that was a former Lloyds Bank, was taken with regular curry eaters. Waiters knew guests by Mr This and Mrs That and the manager wandered offering friendly banter to his clients. Our food arrived by trolley with two efficient waiters serving the piping hot food - a range of starters, followed by medium heat curries all round. The starters are particularly generous in size so guests should be sure they are hungry enough to manage all courses. My onion bhaji was very good with extra fried onions to support two deep fried balls and a side salad. My wife's lamb kebabs were also exceptionally tasty alongside an excellent mint and yoghurt sauce.

Mains followed a similar pattern - fresh and succulent chicken and minced lamb in my curry had the right mix of herbs and spices and at '2 chilies' was hot enough for me to give me a warm glow inside. My fellow guests also found their mains very good, though they were more ambitious in the 'heat range'.

Plates cleared and drinks topped up, 'Half Time Refreshments' arrived. It reminded my wife of netball games, when she was a school girl at the nearby secondary modern - a Jaffa orange conveniently divide into segments for players, sorry I mean, customers to suck at. Thirst quenching and refreshing after a hot game, sorry I mean a hot curry!

We were all too full for desserts and so with the taste of fresh orange on our lips, our hosts paid the bill of £100 and we left Sweet Chillies promising to return sooner rather than later.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was our first visit to this restaurant. We were recommended by several people but were also lucky enough to win some vouchers in a raffle. When we first tried to book for a Saturday evening we were told that the vouchers were only valid Sunday to Thursdays although it did not state this on them, this is maybe something they should print on the vouchers. Anyway they said if we could go early at 6pm we could use them and as we like to eat quite early it suited us. First impression was great, the décor is lovely and we were greeted very warmly. From then on it just got better, the menu was huge, totally spoilt for choice. When the starters arrived we were impressed by the presentation and it tasted great! The main courses and the sweets were just as good, could not fault it in anyway. The staff were very friendly and attentive constantly asking us if everything was okay. This is not your basic curry house but quite reasonably priced. I have already recommended this place to several people and we will certainly be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“hooray”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have been here now many times with family and also friends and it never disappoints. A little gem in a cultural oasis. The food is just fabulous especially the Butter Murgh. Service very attentive and nothing is too much trouble. The decor is also spotless and fresh flowers adorn the tables not the usual fake plastic stuff here. A first rate dining experience, to be highly recommended..

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Chillies also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Sweet Chillies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Chillies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.