We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hatters Hostel -Birmingham

Save Saved
You added Hatters Hostel -Birmingham to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hatters Hostel -Birmingham
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   92/95 Livery Street | Jewellery Quarter, Birmingham B3 1RJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

For a Hostel personally this was welcoming from the onset. the staff we saw were al friendly. the rooms were clean and linen fresh. The only downside was the shower floor was a little slippery and the bunk bed a little cosey for the taller person. Handy being able to have coffee and toast 24 7

Room Tip: Parking was a bit off an issue though there is a car park which charges £3 for the whole day about 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    42
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
2
15
37
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, NSW
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed here for a week over new years eve 2011, and it just does everything right. The wifi was quite possibly the fastest and most reliable I'd had in any UK hostel, the TV room was perfect (a HUGE projection screen with cable TV, and how many hostels offer a computer with around 500 movies?), and it's only a few minutes' walk away from a train station direct to London. The industrial area is a bit barren but who cares when everything's a short walk or train ride away? It was an easy walk into the city centre. I stayed in several London hostels for many weeks while I was looking for work and attending job interviews, and it makes me wonder why I wasted all that time when I could've spent it here instead. The breakfast was simple yet what I needed and was available later on if I slept in (coffee and hot chocolate was lovely), the staff were as helpful as they could be, there's a bottle shop up the road and alcohol is more than welcome (especially on new years eve before I went out!), yet the rooms are far away from any noise. I'm back home in Australia now, but this place is definitely on my mind if I ever return to the UK.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed at the Hatters for 1 night as i was meeting up with my son who was staying at the same place. The guy on reception was very friendly and helpful.
For the money its great value with breakfast included .
The only problem I had were the people above me who were very noisy , sounded like they were jumping off the bunk beds , this went on till 4.30 in the morning so I didnt get much sleep

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Compiegne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Considering the price and location Hatters is the hostel where to go if you are travelling on a budget. Rooms are beds are clean. Staff very helpful and friendly. There is a great atmosphere thanks to them. For breakfast you have more than just tea. The checkout is 11 which allows you sleep the morning you are leaving!

Room Tip: I haven't tryed enough rooms to give advice on that point
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Me and my fiance are moving to Birmingham and stayed at this hostel for 2 nights while viewing properties to move in to this weekend. There were no problems here at all. It was very laid back and relaxed and the rooms were clean. 24 hour entry and 24 hour free toast and tea and coffee.

I paid £15 a night on Trivago... can't possibly go wrong!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room for 12 people and it was still very good :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed here for one night (a Sunday).

Friendly and helpful reception staff with Birmingham info and maps. Left luggage - no charge - in a locked room, so I could leave my suitcase when not checked in yet. There was a common area; which was quite a decent size, a 'cinema' den, kitchen, chill-out room and internet room. Free wifi only available in this common area and was a little slow. Toast on tap!

Other guests seemed to be in their 20s and lively but not noisy, just backpackers chatting and getting to know one another and chatting in their groups.

I paid £13.00 for the 'deluxe' dorm. This was very quiet and other people seemed quite respectful, I didn't feel unsafe or annoyed by noise at any point. The dorm had a passcode lock. The dorm was then split in to small compartments, with 4 beds (two bunks) to a compartment. Very clean, comfy. Shared female toilets and showers also nice and clean.

The location is heading toward the jewellery quarter. The closest station is Snow Hill. It took me 15 mins ish to walk from the hostel to the Bullring. The area is fairly quiet, seemed to be mainly closed down factories.

I would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I spent one night here on my way north. I was a bit nervous walking to he hostel from the train station as the area looked a bit dodgy. I had to pass through a subway where a homeless person was staying and passed an industrial workshop. I thought - where am I?! Once I got to the hostel, I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. My bed in a six bed female dorm was comfortable but there were no lockers which meant the other five ladies in the room had spread their belongings all over the floor. In the morning there was a free breakfast which was much appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hatters Hostel -Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatters Hostel -Birmingham

Address: 92/95 Livery Street | Jewellery Quarter, Birmingham B3 1RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Specialty lodging in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hatters Hostel -Birmingham 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Birmingham's historic Jewellery Quarter & just minutes from the NIA and city centre, we've kept in tone with our surroundings by ensuring that our accommodation is the blingest in town!Hatters Birmingham Voted No.1 in England 2012 by Hostelworld customers!!Hatters Birmingham awarded No. 1 by Enjoy England 2011!!Hatters Hostels voted Best Hostel Chain in the UK & 2nd Best worldwide for 2008 by Hostelworld customers!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hatters Hostel -Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatters Hostel -Birmingham Hotel Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hatters Hostel -Birmingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.