We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Beeches

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Beeches to your Saves list
The Beeches
76 Selly Oak Road | Bournville, Birmingham B30 1LS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

GENUINE REVIEW -
After looking at the pictures of the Beeches venue online, I was amazed that such a lovely looking hotel was advertised at such a reasonable rate - upon arrival, I understood why...
From outside part of the hotel looks 'ok' and other parts (reception entrance) reminded me of a 1980's working mans club. In fairness the staff that I met were lovely, even the bloke that I think was the manager who spent every moment learing over the hotel reception desk 'chatting' to the check in girl (who was chewing gum and filing finger nails) !! - It was a bit surreal and reminded me somewaht of a cross between Faulty towers, shamless and 'The Hotel' on TV at the moment. I think all good intentions are there but it obviously lacks management and investment in bucketloads. The Beachees is very tired and worn and is ok for a few quid. I work for a large international company nearby and thought I would give it a go in the spirit of British enterprise with a view to telling my collegues to use it, but it is not for me (or I would imagine my business colleagues). Bad points were,
Hotel - General decor was in need of updating, No lift, Evening meal menu was bar food only with Burger and chips topping the menu - **

Room, Hot as you like, poop floating in toilet when i got there, Pubic hairs in shower, bed sheets smelt like my dog had been roling around in them, no iron in room and only 2 plug sockets in whole room, kettle full of manky water (big no-no), No complimentary items, toilet fixtures all loose......and room probably had not been decorated since 1970 - I have not slept here yet so will update with any stories if bed bugs or other vistors (or may sleep in car) !!!

I have spent many many nights in all sorts of hotels across the uk, europe and further and would rate the beeches as a 2.5 star at best.... you get what you pay for......

I paid £59 for one night ............enjoy

Room Tip: Go to another hotel if you have the option or want something noce - THIS IS NOT A FAMILY HOLIDAY HOT...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    26
    24
    14
    11
See reviews for
9
16
4
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

There are good and bad features of The Beeches - especially when using it as an hotel rather than having to attend there for conferences etc. It is in a nice quiet area, my bedroom was large and well appointed and the staff were friendly and helpful. It was also quite inexpensive on the deal I was able to negotiate.

The less laudable features are that all bedrooms are on the second and third floors - with no lift (there appeared to be one Disabled lift from ground floor to conference rooms on the first floor). The bed was extremely hard - really quite uncomfortable. Wardrobe and drawer space is at a premium.

I was very disappointed with the food. The dinners are surprisingly expensive - especially when everything seems to come out of the freezer and straight into the deep fat fryer. Frozen chips, frozen scampi and very tired looking peas. They do, however, attempt to compensate the poor quality with the large quantity of food on the plate. At breakfast the fried egg was rubbery, the apple juice was fizzy (fermenting) and you make your own toast in one of two dilapidated, domestic toasters.

They have some strange procedures; you can't buy a drink in the bar and pay in cash. You have to either charge it to your room or go and pay in cash at Reception before you get your drink. Like I said, this is not an hotel!

It's a pity; with a few alterations and some professional hotel management the Beeches could easily go from "average" to "good". I would certainly not advise people to avoid the Beeches - just don't expect too much - apart from the many stairs!)

Room Tip: Ask for a room without thin walls. Many people comment on being able to hear their neighbours clear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
152 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

I stayed here for a night plus a day's work in one of the conference rooms. I think the reviews here so far are a little negative. Yes, it is a bit old in parts, and yes, some things could be done better. However, the conference facility we used was light and bright and the staff could not have been more helpful (in contrast to some places I have been). I would say it was a good place for a Birmingham meeting if the price is right, although a way out. I took a taxi from New Street, as it was pouring and it is a brisk way from Bournville Station! The rooms are small. Mine was certainly clean. It was cold when I arrived and I think the heating could have gone on earlier, but by the time I got back later it was fine. The bed was comfy, and the bathroom small but well situated. The bar staff and restaurant staff seemed very capable. I had to send back a pudding and it was done without fuss. Special thanks to the breakfast staff who were cheery, filled up tea and coffee speedily and sorted out gritting the path almost immediately when they learnt that I had fallen over. I would stop there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Stayed for one night. Room was smelly. Bed was pushed up against radiator with a potential to burn body parts.
Bathroom was large and clean.
Stayed in a building away from hotel and given no instruction on how to get back to reception next day - wandered around for half an hour.
The grounds look like an old hospital and there was something vaguely spooky about the whole place. We were kept away until the wee small hours by a TV downstairs as there was no insulation and sound carried very easily.
Breakfast staff were lovely but eggs were not cooked properly so potential for food poisoning.
Receptionist was not interested and very insincere.

Room Tip: are there any?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, Berkshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

I stayed here for a conference for two nights. My room was very spacy and had a new bathroom with a large shower and tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel is spread out around a large garden with apple trees and benches to sit during brakes. The conference rooms were super, with lots of daylight and comfortable chairs and in the breaks you could eat home baked cookies or help yourself to sweets, a selction of different teas and coffees all of great quality.. The dinner in the evening was off a god choice menue and was nice enough, especially the puddings. Lunch was a buffet with hot and clod food choices and breakfast was really lovely-I had smoked salomon withs crambled eggs, yum!
There was a bad smell in my room at one point but I reported it and it was sorted out promptly. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is not in Birmingham centre but a bit out of the way in Bourneville but the connection is good via a train that runs every 10 minutes or so.

Room Tip: Ask for room that is not towards the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel 2 days.room is very not nice.very bad smelly, staffs are not friendly.breakfast was fine.just not really clean hotel very everything is very old.think they need to change furniture.don't stay in top level coz no wireless in your room

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights on Business trip. Location good, staff friendly and rooms reasonable. Bar food is low quality and overpriced. Gym has 1 machine of each type but was quiet when I stayed.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beeches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beeches

Address: 76 Selly Oak Road | Bournville, Birmingham B30 1LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built by the Cadbury family in the 1900s, The Beeches is a unique and characterful property set in the heart of the beautiful village of Bournville. Easy to reach from the M42, M5 and M6, and with ample free parking on site, The Beeches’ grounds and peaceful location offers a restful stop at the end of your journey.Whether you are visiting for business or pleasure, The Beeches provides a very warm welcome and a comfortable stay in one of its cosy rooms. All the rooms offer tea and coffee making facilities, a safe and hair dryer as well as free WiFi for all guests. In the evenings guests can relax in the bar and lounge where bar snacks and evening meals are served. The friendly staff and home-cooked food make The Beeches a great choice for regular guests visiting the University of Birmingham, Royal Orthopaedic Hospital, Birmingham International Airport and new Queen Elizabeth Hospital.With the popular Cadbury’s World and the attraction and history of Bournville just minutes from its door, The Beeches is the perfect location from which to explore the delights of the local area. The city of Birmingham is just a short train ride away, and highlights such as The Bullring Shopping Centre, the National Exhibition Centre and National Indoor Arena mean it is a fantastic location for a short break or extended visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Beeches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beeches Conference Centre Hotel Bournville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beeches, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.