We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Etap Hotel Birmingham Airport

Save Saved
You added Etap Hotel Birmingham Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Etap Hotel Birmingham Airport
Ambassador Rd | Birmingham International Airport, Solihull, Birmingham B26 3QL , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 30% OFF THIS SUMMER
Ranked #54 of 137 hotels in Birmingham
Write a Review

968 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    302
    412
    161
    53
    40
See reviews for
160
326
215
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Terrible service on arriving,lady unhelpful also having mobile conversation whilst trying to book me in,(personal call may i add-not work related)card for door wouldnt work,had to try 3 times before i could get into room,iron burnt shirt(dated iron)plumbing terrible and not correct,no shower/toilet!and breakfast half missing not fresh and was told at check out its budget(what you pay for)all in all a waste of my money!plus no call back from managment after raised complaint,

Room Tip: Please go and see before you part with any money,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Etap Hotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback after your stay.

I was disappointed that your stay did not match your expectations, and for this I would like to offer my sincere apologies. Your experience at our hotel does not reflect the service standards and quality that we aim for, and we are taking your feedback very seriously.

I would be grateful if you can contact me at the hotel direct to discuss your stay in more detail, as I am unaware of a complaint raised during your stay. In the meantime, we are urgently reviewing our procedures and service standards to ensure we offer an excellent and consistent service in future.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Booked this hotel for just one night for an early flight the next day.
The room was clean, with a double bed, tv, wi-fi shower and toilet.
The staff were efficient, polite, quick to respond to requests...
I had a good nights sleep, relieving any stress I felt. Then after breakfast, walked over to my check in...
Good value hotel in right location needed with exceptional staff. What more could you want!!!
Well done Etap Hotel, other hotels could learn from you..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Etap Hotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback- we are delighted by your comments. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I was at a Leonard Cohen concert in the LG Arena and this hotel was by far the best price. For an overnight following a concert, or before/after a flight, this couldn't be better. Room has a double bed and a bunk above it, shower unit, toilet, sink, big flatscreen TV, two easy-access sockets, a chair and a small table and free wi-fi throughout. What more do you need for an overnight stay? For an extra £4.95 you get a breakfast with tea, coffee, juice, cereals, fresh and tinned fruit, bread, toaster, jam, marmalade, cheese, muffins. You can order hot pizza at any time, and there's a discount at the Ibis non-budget next door. It would be quite small for three, but excellent value.
Tip: if arriving by train, turn towards the airport, then take the free shuttle out to the airport, and it's about a three minute walk from there. To the LG Arena (formerly NEC), go back via the airport and walk through the complex towards the Arena. Most of it is covered over, just the last few minutes are outside.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Etap Hotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments, and hope to welcome you back when your travels bring you back to the local area.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed here with my daughter on 13th August 2013. Easy check in/out, Staff very polite and helpful, rooms basic and very clean, had a very good nights sleep before our early flight, the rooms had blackout blinds. So handy for the airport, Departures was only across the road. Booked this hotel when it was on offer, very good value for money! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Etap Hotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Guest feedback is very important to us, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

have stayed here numerous times when I go to trade shows in the NEC. It is always very clean and tidy, very friendly staff. The food is basic, but fresh and good value. I will be back again this year as the value can't be beaten.

Room Tip: all the rooms are the same so I never pre select.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Etap Hotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for returning to our hotel- we are glad that you enjoyed your stay once again. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed Here night before our flight. Double room with bunk bed above it which looked a bit strange but the kids loved it. Only had to walk across the road to the terminal as we dropped our car at the NCP meet and greet. Good price too. Would definitely use again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Etap Hotel Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and want to thank you for your great review of our hotel. We are looking forward in welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Etap Hotel Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etap Hotel Birmingham Airport

Address: Ambassador Rd | Birmingham International Airport, Solihull, Birmingham B26 3QL , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#44 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ETAP Hotel Birmingham Airport (soon ibis budget) is a low-cost hotel located at Birmingham International Airport. Book this hotel for a short walk from the hotel to the Airport, or easy access to the NEC or LG Arena. The hotel has 120 modern guest rooms, each with en-suite shower, air cooling and flat screen TV. Our Fraiche food outlet serves a good value all you can eat breakfast buffet every morning, and snacks and drinks are available 24 hours a day. 100% non-smoking hotel. Free Wi-Fi throughout hotel in guest bedrooms & public areas. Discounted NCP car park available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Etap Hotel Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Etap Hotel Birmingham Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.