We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why did I bother” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Old House At Home

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Old House At Home
193 Lordswood Road | Harborne, Birmingham B17 8QP, England
01216 674 736
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,011 of 1,445 restaurants in Birmingham
Restaurant details
Swansea
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Why did I bother”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Firstly the photo you are showing is not for the old house at home in lordswood road!
Went there for food and a pint of London Pride, but as it was quite full with families eating didn't bother with the food so I was looking forward to my pint of London Pride as it wasn't on 2 days ago. Well it wasn't on again!! Didn't fancy anything else so went elsewhere were my hunger and thirst was well satisfied.
Won't be back for a very very long time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Old House At Home, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear John A,

Many thanks for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Your feedback was a concern to hear and I would like to investigate these comments further with the Management Team of the pub. I have sent you a private message and look forward to hearing from you soon.

Many Thanks

Fayre & Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

25% Recommend
    3
    2
    1
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The place is awful! The wacky warehouse was worse ...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Was draw to the place because a group of dads needed somewhere to hangout whilst a baby shower was going on. Thought it would be perfect because it would mix pub, food and something for the kids. It was far from perfect. The wacky warehouse is in a separate building, it was dirty, with glasses on the floor by the ball pens, the staff were super rude - hardly kid friendly. Kids were also coming and going through on mass, which was more than a little unsafe. All in the warehouse was not worth going to - avoid! The pub was more of the same - dirty, scummy and not worth going to. Staff are rude, food was bad, and all in a horrible experience not to repeat!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Old House At Home, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear ozhassan

Many thanks for your recent review on Trip Advisor. I would like to investigate these comments further with the Management Team of the pub and have sent you a private message so that we can discuss these comments further.

Many Thanks

Fayre & Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gone down hill.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Poor on all levels. X
Food awful. Service terrible. Waky warehouse dirty.awful chavs. Only go because its local. Food cold.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I booked a table for 11 family and friends to dine at the Old house at home, for my husband and son's birthday. From the start the staff couldn't do enough to make sure we were happy with our orders etc. The staff were very polite and the food was lovely. We all had a lovely time. The food was value for money, some of the dishes were 2 for 10 which you don't get in a lot of restaurants. If you want a family orientated, value for money place to dine then this is the place. We will be definitely returning to the Old house at home again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“yuk”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

dirty and the staff don't know what they are doing. took a long time for the food to come out and the tables were dirty.the food was raw on the mix grill the sausage was pink and the steak was black and hard i ask for peas and got beans.the rest of the group were also unhappy with the food for the same sort of reason the food i had was took back and i had the fish bucket to replace it and the fish was still swimming in the oil give it a miss.it was also like a conveyor belt lots of people rushed staff and let the establishment down as the quality was effected.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Old House At Home, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear JAX n,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are dissapointed to hear of your recent experience and have passed your comments onto our management team to complete a full investigation.

We have also sent you a direct message to discuss your feedback further.

Regards
Fayre & Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old House At Home also viewed

 

Been to Old House At Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old House At Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.