We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super value for money - complaint handled brilliantly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Green Man

The Green Man
2 High Street, Harborne,, Birmingham B17 9NE, England
0121 427 0961
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,010 of 1,688 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Super value for money - complaint handled brilliantly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Great value for money two for the price of one fish and chips with excellent beer.
A very watery lasagne was sent back and replaced with another meal and refunded in full, so well handled by the staff.
Mixed bunch of guests but seems no chidren as we saw a family with youngsters turned away.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    16
    13
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top drawer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Had a special January promotion for 2 main courses a pudding platter & a bottle of wine and it was great, not only value for money but the steak was delicious too

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great value and very popular.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

This place is always busy, popular with students as well as older people, and does really good value Pub Grub. Have never had a bad meal or bad service here, and it's always a pleasure to visit.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkeston, Derbyshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very long wait for food which was average in quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We visited today after taking my daughter back to uni. It is quite a pleasant pub, nice atmosphere and had a lovely log fire. The pub was packed but no-one was eating at all. We ordered our food (there was no chilli so my daughter had to choose something else). We had to wait 40 minutes for our food even though no-one else was eating. The food was just put in front of us and then the waiter just walked off without a word. The quality of the food was average as were the portions. When our plates were removed once again not a word was spoken. We were not asked if everything had been ok.
We eat pubs meals regularly and we are used to much better service and better food.
Next time we visit we will be looking round for somewhere else to eat.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, UK
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Super food!!! Amazing location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Been here a few times now and I cannot complain!!! It's super!!! Last time a had the gammon and chips the prices may be a fat bit but you go so much!! Lovely staff amazing location and the inside of the pub so relaxing and carm!! Recommend this place I everyone!!!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Man also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to The Green Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Green Man, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.