We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chinese buffet in nice surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buffet Island

Buffet Island
475 Tyburn Road | Erdington, Birmingham B24 8DX, England
+44 121 382 8382
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #478 of 1,593 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Cantonese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Whichever Buffet Island restaurant you may chose, be sure to experience memorable, all-inclusive dining. Our extensive menu is regularly reviewed to offer you a wide selection of exciting dishes. Come along, relax, sip a drink and pick from a variety of lovingly prepared specialties. You can also explore our rich drinks menu featuring excellent refreshments to further add to your enjoyment.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Chinese buffet in nice surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Decor is nice and staff are friendly. Food is your average buffet style chinese food, not the cheapest but a nice resteraunt to celebrate with family or eat out with friends

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    49
    17
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, Staffs,England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What a delicious bargain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Our party of 5 has just returned from Buffet Island, Erdington, after a lunch meal there. Beautiful food, big choice, superb and efficient service - and all for £6.90 a head. You simply cannot get all that food for such a low price elsewhere. So what if the coke is £2.50? (Others have commented on the price of drinks - they have to make money somewhere cos they cannot be making a profit on the food)
It was an absolute bargain. Every time i return there it seems to be even nicer than the last time we went. Worth travelling from Tamworth for. Highly recommended. Well done Buffet Island - you deserve recognition for top quality food at a very cheap price.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Beyond Helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I have eaten here many times over the years and always been happy, my friend and his wife were visiting and they suggested we visit as they had enjoyed it before as well.

We visited on a Sunday evening so it was reasonably empty, we noticed since our last visit that they have had a refit, the serving area has been upgraded and is much better plus the rest of the interior has had a cosmetic makeover and seems much brighter.

The selection of food on offer is vast and varied and will be enough for 98% of diners, me being vegetarian wanted mushrooms but they were all in sauces I cannot have, on the off chance I asked the waiter could the chef not add oyster sauce to the next batch of mushrooms until he had put some separate for me, much to my surprise the lady that seems to be in charge came over pad in hand and asked what she could do to help, I explained what I wanted and she said no problem and suggested mushrooms and black bean sauce but added as there is only a small choice for vegetarians so how about a curry sauce and vegetable dish as well, these arrived quickly and were both served in large dishes, as this is a buffet I consider this to be above and beyond what they had to do.

We all left full and happy, its rare to find such helpful staff in this type of establishment and I imagine they contribute more to the success of this restaurant than they get credit for, we will certainly be returning again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and plenty of it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

We've been to this place several times. It always seems busy but u can always get a table. There is always plenty of food which is top quality. It's a big place and has a big buffet to match. Would recommend this to anyone. Not too badly priced providing your feeling hungry!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nether Whitacre, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
396 reviews 396 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
“All you can eat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This place is an all you can eat Chinese buffet.

It's a bit hit and miss, but if you're just after a lot of food and variety, and not expecting good quality restaurant food then this is a good place to get your fill.

It does get very busy depending on the day of the week, and obviously busy on weekend.

You might encounter problems when going to get your food, that some items are empty, and it takes the staff a while to refill it, so sometime you can be left with not much of an option of what to eat.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffet Island also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Buffet Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffet Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.