We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, just okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Birmingham Central Backpackers

Save Saved
You added Birmingham Central Backpackers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Birmingham Central Backpackers
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   58 Coventry Street | Digbeth, Birmingham B5 5NH , England   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Okay, just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

The good side:
Free breakfast (basics - toast
, juice, fruit)
Nice, considerate reception staff
Have big lockable lockers

However,
-The room we are in smells a bit.
-Windows cannot be opened as it is stick by tape to prevent it from falling off.
-The mattress is NOT comfortable at all! Really uncomfortable really...
-The free wireless is very unstable, keeps on getting disconnected in rooms, better connectivity at the ground floor of reception, practically not connect-able in rooms

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    27
    23
    9
    11
See reviews for
1
6
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I stayed in Central Backpackers for three long weeks with my classmates because of an internship. This hostel is being chosen by our school for a long period of time so I wasnt afraid. We all stayed in one room .It was usually steamed in a minute even though the window was open and because we had big luggages the room became really tiny. 5 from 6 beds were really old and first days it was nearly impossible to fall asleep. But you get used to it.
On the other hand - the staff was excellent, very friendly and always ready to help. The common room was just awesome, cosy decorated and dont forget every Monday is pizza night and everyone gets few slices of pizza. I was looking forward to try every xbox and playstation game but i was told, that weeks ago somebody had stolen all of the games, which is really sad. The common room closes at 12 oclock at night so groups of people may continue to "party" in front of your windows. The hostel is few minutes of walk from Bullring.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cooma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

The location was near to the main shopping area and central square. a bit shabby but decent for the cheap price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

good parts:
We got upgraded to a private room
it was clean, showers we hot and there was enough for everyone.
Free wifi
Good hostel atmosphere

Bad parts:
Its in an industrial estate and there were also strange people around on the streets made us feel unsafe outside
There was someone where playing load music near by, its made our windows vibrate, this was playing until about 4am.
For help at the recpetion desk we often had to wait several minutes to get someone's attention

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My wife and I booked in for a weekend in Birmingham to see a performance of Cirque du Soleil at the NIA arena. Having read the reviews we had an idea what to expect, but in the event the hostel exceeded our expectations considerably. Our mattress was OK, the room was fine, the staff were friendly and helpful.(I was even forgiven when I spilled a whole cuppa over the tablecloth.) Breakfast was free, tea or coffee was available 24/7 (and each room had a kettle). The only downside was somewhat unreliable plumbing. As over 60s we were pleased to find a wide cross-section of ages, nationalities and types staying there, and all getting on fine. Basic maybe, but a lot more enjoyable than some pricey hotels we've stayed at. Location ideal for people travelling by National Express, just 5 minutes from Birmingham Coach Station. Highly recommended for anyone on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Tis is a good hostel - you shouldn't expect four star hotel, but when you don't mind sharing a room with few other people and sharing a bathroom with even more, you can get a fine, tidy accommodation at a very reasonable price. Even the self/served breakfast was good. There are also some free time facilities - Wii, DVDs and VHSs, board games, free Wi-Fi... I appreciated warm and tidy bathrooms and toilets.
The only flaw was the breakfast time. If you want to start your trip early in the morning, I recommend you to buy the breakfast on the way or in advance as the kitchen opens at 8:00am.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I stayed here was I was travelling on a budget as a student. The room was very cheap and you get what you pay for. The mattress was a bit uncomfortable but for the price I cannot complain. The staff are great and offered me advice on what to visit in the city, where to eat etc. I'd definitely stay again because of this.

Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Birmingham Central Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birmingham Central Backpackers

Address: 58 Coventry Street | Digbeth, Birmingham B5 5NH , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Specialty lodging in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Birmingham Central Backpackers 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpackers hostel located in the centre of Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Birmingham Central Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birmingham Central Backpackers Hotel Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birmingham Central Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.