We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better as a bar than restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Merchants Warwick

Merchants Warwick
Swan St. | Radio House, Warwick CV34 4BJ, England
01926 403833
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Merchants Warwick is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 105 restaurants in Warwick
Price range: $9 - $104
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Better as a bar than restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

It's a lovely looking venue, but the food is just ok. Service is a bit mixed, and when it is busy they struggle.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    134
    56
    14
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
warwickshire, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Lovely restaurant, good selection of wines and friendly staff. The service is good. This is a great place to bring friends, family, also a romantic meal, or just a quick bite to eat after work. good all rounder.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerchantsJGC, Owner at Merchants Warwick, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Merchants, sorry it has taken so long to respond to your kind words. We're very glad that you liked joining us. All recognition of the effort that we put into making our Brasseriea relaxed and enjoyable place to come is always very much appreciated and we hope to see you again in the future. Merry Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place for a party!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We had our 40th birthday party in the function room @ Merchants and it was fab. We felt that the team there really understood our requirements and it was exactly the night we wanted - a 'grown up' evening with great food & drinks and a relaxing atmosphere so everyone could enjoy themselves. I would definitely recommend Merchants (I've eaten there too previously and thought the food was great).

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerchantsJGC, Owner at Merchants Warwick, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
So glad that you enjoyed your 40th Birthdays with us! Sorry it has taken so long to respond to your kind review, but please know that we really do appreciate all recognition for our hard work and we hope to see you in the near future. Merry Christams to you both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Such Good Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a lovely friendly and very good value place to eat and spend an evening. Try the lunchtime special for £5, great value.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, great wine, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Absolutely delighted with this place, had the Sea Bass and a glass of house white, both of which were lovely. Service was friendly, helpful and attentive. Would definitely come back. Went with a friend, but I can imagine Merchants would also be well suited to couples, business trips or solo as it has a nice relaxed atmosphere and a wine bar.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merchants Warwick also viewed

Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
 

Been to Merchants Warwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merchants Warwick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.